We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days at the Princess Anne. It had easy access from I-240, to downtown, to Biltmore Village, and to "the strip" along Tunnel Road. The suites were huge, and it was nice having the small fridge in the room. Breakfasts were wonderful, and the wine and appetizers at 4:30 were the best we have ever had at a B&B or small hotel. Sitting and talking with other guests before the fire in the large lounge was an added plus.

My only "complaint" was the thin foam pillows, and the cotton blanket did not meet the bedding expectations for a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelerK-ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and also appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope to see you at the Princess Anne again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed2 nights after Christmas.. We were very glad we opted for the Princess Anne after encountering massive crowds at the Grove Park. We walked up there and we're shocked at the crowd and unimpressed with the condition of the facility.

Room Tip: The street side rooms were minimally noisy as late night and early morning travelers passed by.. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with you choice to stay at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking time to write a great review, we look forward to seeing you in the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Asheville for the first time and couldn't have had a better first experience thanks to our stay at the fantastic Princess Anne Hotel. Needless to say, it truly lived up to all of the terrific reviews I read. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel itself has a great feel of both classic and modern...you feel like you're in someone's beautiful, historic home, but with very modern updates.
And, not to be missed is the complimentary breakfast. Normally we wouldn't go out of our way to get up early for a free breakfast, but I'm certainly glad we made the exception at the Princess Anne. It was really worth getting up for.
While the location is a bit of a walk to downtown, it was a nice way to get to see some of the quaint neighborhoods of Asheville.
We will certainly be back to the Princess Anne!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We really appreciate all your kind comments about the hotel! It was great to hear that the staff was so helpful and the breakfast was so delicous. We look forward to seeing you soon at the Princess Anne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We loved our stay! The breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were amazing, and the staff were ready to attend to our every need. We loved our spacious suite and it was an easy fifteen minute walk into downtown from the hotel. This is the best hotel in Asheville!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind thoughts about the Princess Anne! We hope to see you in the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

5$ cab ride into town yet located in a quaint beautiful neighborhood and the feeling of community poured into the hotel as well. Anna at the front desk was delightful, helpful and accomidating. The other guests of the hotel treated us like family as soon as we steped in the door. The wine and cheese hour was a divine start to our stay! ( we arrived just in time to get settled and head down) . The room matched the elegant exterior and lobby. My husband had mentioned via email that we were on our honeymoon and we were upgraded to a suite! The suite had a nice sitting room - a functional kitchen, hallway, private bath and the bedroom in the back. This set up was PERFECT for us. If you are visiting Asheville be sure to walk around downtown! (its very safe!!) and if you're coming from the smokeys you HAVE to take the Blue Ridge Parkway . Its a MUST do. Also EAT & DRINK. everything's fantastic. Thank you for the memories Asheville and the Princess Anne!

Room Tip: we loved the view from the top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKiz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

It sounds like you had a great honeymoon at our hotel! We are happy to hear that everything went well. We look forward to seeing you at the Princess Anne soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

There are 8 of us who gather each year preferably at a Bed and Breakfast which is cozy and comfortable for our long chats. We heard about the Princess Anne and although it is not technically a B&B, the atmosphere is graciously hospitable and there are relaxing spaces for groups to gather. The accommodations are spacious with many suites having sitting areas. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and caring. The breakfasts are incredibly delicious and varied each morning. In the afternoon, the wine selection was anything but humdrum and the assorted hors d'oeuvres were plentiful. Needless to say, we are telling all our friends about the Princess Anne as the place to stay when visiting Asheville! Asheville is a lovely city to explore - so much to see and savor and fabulous places for dining and shopping! We plan to return often!
Thank you, Princess Anne, for a lovely retreat for our reunion.

Room Tip: The non-suite is a large room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We were thrilled to hear that your reunion went so well! We are also happy that you enjoyed Asheville and that the Princess Anne Hotel! Thanks so much for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

A year later, my boyfriend brought me back to the Princess Anne and we are so glad to have gone. We got there just after the cocktail hour but were offered our choice of wine. We went up to the room, settled in, and came down to find them waiting for us.

The stay was wonderful, as we expected. We enjoy that we can walk downtown and back without big problems. It isn't too far removed, but feels like it's own oasis.

Breakfast the next morning was phenomenal! My waffles were so big I couldn't finish them. The atmosphere is always so sweet and charming. The best part is that the staff remembered us a year later! In a way it felt like coming home.

We recommend Princess Anne tenfold and hope to return next year!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cucchiaino10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We were delighted to have you visit us for a second time and we really appreciate both great reviews! We look forward to making you another delicious breakfast next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
316 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#15 of 68 in Asheville
6,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £91 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing