We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at the Princess Ann Hotel in Asheville, NC four times. We have never been disappointed. The evening wine and appetizers are outstanding as is the breakfast. The hotel is lovely in every way and a very pleasant and quiet get-a-way. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We are so happy to have you return so often, let us know what we can do to make your stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    98
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
453
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel had a lot of great character in an inn setting. Front desk staff was very friendly. Free breakfast and happy hour was a nice touch. This hotel was restored nicely but is listed on the historical register.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crillingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about our staff, breakfast and your entire experience. We hope to see you in the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for a long weekend getaway. The location is close enough to walk to the heart of downtown or a $5 cab ride! Princess Anne Hotel is run more like a bed & breakfast. The friendly staff, beautiful grounds and interior and food served are just a few of the highlights. Our suite was the perfect size to be able to relax in our room without being cramped. Everything was extremely clean...from the rooms, bathrooms to dining area. The full breakfast served each morning was FANTASTIC. We couldn't say enough about it. Also, the wine and hors dourves served in the evening was very well done. We would definitely come back and stay again. It was a wonderful experience, unlike any place we've ever stayed before.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra $ to have more space, a kitchenette, living and dining area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that everything was perfect while you stayed with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to say such great things about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is very nice in older style and located in a quiet area. It is walking distance to the center, about 25 minutes walk. Asheville is a city full of pubs and restaurants, well worth visiting.
The room was ok and very fresh. The hotel is somewhat responsive, as old wooden houses always are. The breakfast was good and cooked on site. Wine and appetizers was served in the afternoon, to hotel guests. Very nice! Free parking next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aner_830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and walking to town while you were here! We hope to see you in the Princess Anne again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bokeelia, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a hidden gem in Asheville. We're so glad we found it. Wonderful place ------- loved the rooms ---- actually suites ------ breakfast and the afternoon snacks. The staff was delightful. A wonderful change from the chain hotels.
This will be our hotel of choose anytime we are in Asheville.
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making this a great stay at a great place.
Diane Nivens

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Diane, for your personalized review! We are honored to be your new Asheville hotel of choice. We look forward to seeing you in the Princess Anne soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I spent 3 great days at the Princess Anne Hotel in Asheville NC in April. We were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff, the interesting history of the building and the beautiful period furnishings. Our room was roomy, comfortable and clean - even the windows were sparkling. It had a micro-wave, stovetop and fridge - everything we needed. The only inconvenient aspect was that the sink was in the bedroom. This didn't cause any issue with us, since the building was built in a different era and we appreciated the history. The breadfasts were delicious and they even had free wine and snacks each afternoon. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We were delighted to hear such a great review from your three day stay at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking the time to write about the hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The environment was amazing. The room itself looked more like my bedroom at home than a stuffy or tackily decorated hotel room. It had it's quirks that were unique to a hotel built in the 1920s. It was also located a mile from downtown, walking distance. Had it not rained the whole time we stayed we would have definitely walked all of the amazing food we ate off.

We loved the hotel, staff, atmosphere, and overall experience. The staff were extremely helpful and personable. My boyfriend and I enjoyed the wine reception because we were able to meet and communicate with other guests. The included breakfast was delicious, nothing like continental breakfast offered at other hotels. This was the best hotel experience we've ever had.

Room Tip: It can be quite pricey. We received a deal from Living Social. I would suggest the same. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are honored to be "the best hotel experience" that you have ever had! Thank you so much for the kind review! Please call us next time you plan to stay and we will be happy to give you a repeat guest discount as well as inform you of any specials we are currently running. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
733 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
975 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing