We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, Great Staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived at the cabins after a 10 hour drive from Northern Indiana. When you first arrive it seems as if the cabins are in the middle of a residential area. I wasn't sure we were going the correct way but the gps didn't let us down. Once we arrived the lady at the front desk (I'm so sad I didn't write down her name) was so kind. She had called us on the way in to see how we were coming along. She gave us maps of the area, suggestions on places to eat, drink and zipline. She was very informative and welcoming. We were set to stay in Chris's cabin which is the most rustic of the cabins. There were only 2 of us traveling so we didn't need much. The cabin was very clean. The kitchen was fully equipped with pots, pans, paper towels, dish towels (I would maybe bring a few more), dish soap and dishes. The furniture and bed were all comfortable. There was a television in the living room and the bedroom. I know there was cable but we didn't watch much tv. The bathroom is also quite large for a small cabin and included laundry facilities. Since it is an older cabin it has a window air conditioner which I also didn't mind. Chris's cabin is however in the center of it all. The play area is right out your door, the gym is almost connected to your right and there is another cabin about 20 feet to your left. It wasn't the most private of all the cabins but it seemed so quiet we didn't care. The first night we grilled out, enjoyed the hot tub and just relaxed. It was delightful, quiet and relaxing. Basically everything the reviews had said it would be. In the morning we walked along the trails which were superb and watched hawks fish out of the pond. Please note the fountain in the pond never turns off. I didn't mind but I could see where the sound could get to someone after a while. Everything was wonderful...until the neighbors moved in the next night. They were having a family reunion and decided to make the cabin next to us grand central station. It seems that in addition to renting out several cabins they also had family that lived in town who would come in every night. For the next two nights they partied. They walked through our backyard in the dead of night while we were in the hot tub and yelled up at us with their flash lights that they were sorry but it was a shorter path. Their kids would run up on our deck while we were eating or just run through the yard screaming all the way down to the pond.They played loud games and basically set up a tailgating party 10 feet from our bedroom. We had to keep all the blinds shut and turn on the box fan to drown out their noise in order to sleep. At night the in town guests would leave and honk their horns as they were going. After two nights of this we couldn't do it anymore. We had come for peace and quiet not a nightly frat party that went on until past midnight. I'm all for a little fun but this was a gathering of 25 people just milling around my cabin for 7 hours. I went to the office in the morning and explained the situation. The staff in the office could not have been better about it. They had no idea what was going on since they leave after a certain time so didn't witness the noise firsthand. The cabins were all full except for one that had people leaving that day. They offered to keep our stuff in the office and our food in the fridge while we were out and about during the day and move it once the cabin was clean. They moved us to Sandy's Chalet. This was a modern 2 bedroom cabin. Everything in this cabin was great as well. It had central air and was equipped with all the things a traveler would need. It was close to the game tables and over looked maintenance in the way off back but it was absolute heaven from a quiet perspective which we appreciated after being next to the tail gate for two days. I could not have asked more from the staff. They listened to my issue and responded promptly. My recommendation is that if you ever have an issue promptly bring it to their attention as they are genuinely concerned about the stay of their guests.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place. We are already planning a return trip and I wouldn't think twice about staying here. The cabins are very close to grocery stores, restaurants, the highway, starbucks, Biltmore and downtown.The location can't be beat. It was great that I didn't have to bring much as they are so very stocked with the essentials. We grilled out several nights but also like to enjoy the local eateries so I appreciated being within 15 minutes of great food. I went back and forth about whether to include the part about the reunion but decided to put it in not because I want it to reflect poorly upon this establishment but more to advise other travelers how their actions are effecting the people next to them who are also on vacation. Based upon the reviews it seems most people come here for quiet. The people next to us had to be an anomaly.

After walking the grounds several times I would choose Tom's Trophy since it seems to be one of the most peaceful and away from it all cabins. I also thought Jen's Jewel, Andrew's Attic and Kathy's Cabin all had a nice "private" feel to them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank smcgal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the very detailed review of your stay. We are glad we were able to help and move you to another cabin. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had an excellent stay here. We tried out the game porch and tether ball which were fun. The best activity by far (especially for my 14 and 11 year olds) was the water balloon area. The cabin was clean and luxurious. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the review! Its great that you and your family had some fun with the actives we have on property. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We took our two grandsons here for a "before school" getaway. We stayed in a 2br cabin called Greg's Getaway. We enjoyed the scenery and convenience of the location very much. The hot tub was enjoyable as well as the fishing at their trout stocked pond. The staff were always nice and accommodating. My husband felt there were some minor issues with the cabin itself although we decided to just let it go. The place could have been a bit cleaner, dishwasher door broken and dryer belt squeaky. They were like I said minor issues. The area is quite hilly for walking around for someone who has mobility problems and it took me a couple of days to get used to it myself. We enjoyed our stay overall and love Asheville.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for telling us about those items, they will be fixed quickly. We wish you had told us during your stay cause we could of taken care of them for you before you left. Otherwise we are glad you enjoyed the area and our staff and hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed June 14th - June20th in Toms Trophy...this is the absolute best place to stay! Just like home. Everything is clean,beautifully decorated and comfortable .. We are looking to retire in the future to Asheville and next time we will bring the kids with us. Great place to stay with the whole family... We will return many times in the next -12 years as we decide where we wish to either build or purchase a home and will always stay here!! Don't hesitate to use these cabins! They are terrific! And the hot tubs are pretty awesome too !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Not our first trip and won't be our last - after driving 10 hrs. to get to Asheville this is the only place worth the drive. These cabins are fully equipped and don't need a thing to stay here. They provide everything including snacks upon arrival. The cabins are spotless and the beds are very comfortable. I love the washer and dryer it helps with packing for home. There are so many things to do and if you like the outdoors and evening strolls there is a beautiful walking path along the blue ridge parkway just minutes from each cabin. The property if absolutely beautiful with all the lovely fountains & ponds right outside your door makes this place the perfect get-a-way for any couple or the entire family!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tom's Trophy although all the cabins are very similar and so clean this one is at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkemske63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review and we are happy that you have had another great stay with us! We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The cabin we stayed in was comfy cozy for two. The kitchen had everything you need to cook breakfast , including coffee maker. There were two large decks and you could hear running water from the many fountains on the property. The bathroom needs renovating and is small. The bedroom was on the bottom level , and although the bed was comfortable the room felt damp after 3 days, and there seemed to be many bugs coming in from outside.
Our trip was very relaxing and private and I would go back--accommodations were fine.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Carolins567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry about the bathroom and are going to look into it to see what needs to be done. Were are sorry for that inconvenience and hope that you will not think that this is how all our cabins are. Thank you for your words about are grounds we work very hard on them. Hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds provides a getaway of comfort and luxury with that mountain cabin atmosphere. The cabins are beautifully maintained and the grounds feel like a Biltmore extension- with beautiful fountains,ponds and gorgeous flowers. We enjoyed all of the breathtaking views and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Cabins are available in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom versions. Check pictures online to meet your needs such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review we really loving hearing kind words such as yours! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#37 of 66 in Asheville
876 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
5.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

Address: 39 Stockwood Road Ext, Asheville, NC 28803-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: £121 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds is a luxury vacation resort with cabins and cottages in a secluded woodland garden setting in the city of Asheville just 3 & 1/2 miles from the Biltmore Estate. All of our cabins and cottages are completely equipped and beautifully furnished with designer touches. Private hot tubs, spacious decks, gourmet kitchens, and wood burning fireplaces at each of our one, two, or three bedroom cabins. Savor the peace and serenity while enjoying hiking trails, trout pond, recreation areas, exercise room, free movies and WI-FI, gardens, fountains and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Cabins Of Willow Winds Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing