We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree, this place was great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I agree, this place was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We booked Willow Winds strictly based on the reviews here and we were not dissappointed! It's pretty much just like everyone says. We stayed in Tom's Trophy and it was like a second home. Our vacation was to sight see but also to allow the grandparents some quality time with our 7mos old. Four adults and one baby fit in the cabin with room to spare! We were able to lounge around without feeling cramped and getting in each others way.

I was suprised with how much came with the cabin. I thought for sure we'd need dish soap, detergent, etc. Nope! The cabin was so well stocked from dishwasher detergent to coffee filters. Even little soaps and shampoos in the bathrooms. Really, all you need to provide is food and drinks!

The amenities were fantastic. We never even got to use most of them (like the hot tub) but my favorite part was the fireplace. If you go in the winter be sure to enjoy the fireplace. There's more fire wood than you could ever use and starters and matches are provided. It got very cold while we were there and every night we enjoyed sitting around the fireplace with a glass of wine and deck of cards.

The grounds are beautiful, don't let the drive to the place fool you (you drive through a residential area), this is back to nature living. We hiked the trails just steps from our door. The cabins, altough close together, feel completely secluded and ours had an incredible view off the deck.

We did leave the cabin from time to time to enjoy Asheville and the staff were so helpful. Make sure to stop by the office before you visit any attractions as they always had some type of coupon or discount available.

We may consider making this an anual family event, if so, we won't stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — Comfort and views!
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
265
298
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

I can quite simply say that I would not even consider staying anywhere other than Willow Winds on my next trip to Asheville. If Willow Winds were not available, I would just replan my trip to come at another time.

I have stayed in other self-catering cabin-style lodging. But none have matched Willow Winds' mix of quality and value. The two floor cabin we rented felt like a home. It was well decorated and full of all sorts of conveniences and extra touches. TVs on both floors, VCR/DVD, fireplace with plenty of wood. Not only was there a washer/dryer, but they provided laundry detergent. I was impressed by the thought that must go into making the lodging so comfortable and convenient.

There was certainly more information about the area, restaurants, etc than I come to expect from self-catering lodging. I'm glad I did research beforehand, but having the information provided by Willow WInds would have been a great head start had I come to Asheville without having things planned out.

That being said, the lodging was so comfortable and the surroundings so inviting that we altered our plans just to spend a whole day at Willow Winds that we otherwise would have spent touring more of Asheville. The proximity to the Mountain to Sea Trail was especially welcomed as a nice way to get some exercise and take in some scenery without having to walk more than a few minutes off the property.

I look forward to coming back.

  • Liked — Comfort, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mbt1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Hill Country
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Willow Winds is as wonderful as the website says. The TripAdvisor reviews are also quite accurate. It is a lovely, quiet place to stay and very convenient to all of the attractions in Asheville and the surrounding area.

Although it was a bit more expensive than a hotel or chain motel, it was worth the price. Very peaceful and restful after a busy day of sightseeing and driving the Blue Ridge Parkway. The staff was very helpful as well.

We were there in mid-October, and the fall foliage in the mountains was gorgeous. Andrew's Attic was spacious and well-equipped. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return!

  • Liked — Beautiful setting--lovelly and very peaceful.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

From the start, Willow Winds had an amazing level of service, including an email a week or so before our trip letting us know they were looking forward to seeing us. When we arrived, they had an entire wedding party that had checked out of all the cabins that day, but they had just finished cleaning our cabin and let us check in a bit early. We borrowed two DVDs free of charge (and they have a great selection of new releases and old favorites!) and they gave us a really nice tin of cookies and envelope with local information.

The cabin itself was clean and cozy and they provide firewood and fire starters....we made a fire both nights we were here. As others have mentioned, the best part of Willow Winds is that it is only a 10-minute drive to downtown Asheville, but our cabin, Kathy's Kabin, felt like it was much farther away and was very private. There is easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the leaves were just getting to their peak color, so the setting at Willow Winds was beautiful. Also the fact that we did not have any additional cleaning or hot tub cleaning fees in addition to all the amenities of the cabin made this an outstanding value!

However, one of the nicest touches was a hand-written note from Willow Winds shortly after we returned, thanking us for staying with them. It's details like these that make Willow Winds a truly unique place that has earned them their top ranking in Asheville!

  • Liked — Close to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway, great amenities and service!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

The cabin was beautiful and so were the surroundings. We were closer to the Biltmore Estate, the Biltmore Village and downtown Asheville than I thought when I booked the cabin so this was an added bonus. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. For the price, the location and the added living space in comparison to a hotel room, I would recommend Willow Winds to anyone planning to visit the area. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Location, beautifully decorated
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BMSToledo_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Willow Winds is a beautiful getwaway that is also close to everything you need! The staff there is extremely helpful, friendly and accomodating. They make you feel like family! The cabins come fully equipped and each has a hammock, hot tub, etc and a view of the woods or mountains. The property is filled with fountains, trails, ponds and waterfalls and is a really great place to relax. I absolutely didn't want to leave! You will really feel like you've gotten away from it all, yet you are just a few miles from The Biltmore and other attractions. Great location, great staff and HIGHLY recommended!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Amyathebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atwatervillage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

Even better than the pictures! We were so cozy with our fireplace and hot tub surrounded by the breathtaking fall forest in "Jen's Jewel". Everything you might need is supplied except for groceries which we found very closeby at a very nice Harris Teeter market. The Biltmore was so close we went three times!
(The Candlelight Christmas Night time tour of the Biltmore is really wonderful!) The trails around Willow Winds are great too! We really felt we had the best of both worlds feeling so secluded yet 10 mins from downtown Asheville!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atwatervillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.6 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
2.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

Property: Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Address: 39 Stockwood Road Ext, Asheville, NC 28803-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds is a luxury vacation resort with cabins and cottages in a secluded woodland garden setting in the city of Asheville just 3 & 1/2 miles from the Biltmore Estate. All of our cabins and cottages are completely equipped and beautifully furnished with designer touches. Private hot tubs, spacious decks, gourmet kitchens, and wood burning fireplaces at each of our one, two, or three bedroom cabins. Savor the peace and serenity while enjoying hiking trails, trout pond, recreation areas, exercise room, free movies and WI-FI, gardens, fountains and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Cabins Of Willow Winds Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing