We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably wouldn't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“probably wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

First let me say that we normally stay at Hilton's and Marriott's. We decided we would give the Holiday Inn brand a chance since they had a great deal going. The staff was friendly and professional.The hotel was in decent shape however the lobby smelled awful. The hotel is definitely not in downtown Asheville and is in a somewhat run down area outside the city. The room was fine however we couldn't close the curtains facing the the disgusting run down motel/apt building next door. The bed was too firm for our liking. After our stay we wished we had made our original choice of the Hilton Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Hotel would like to apologize for the odd smell in the public area on first floor upon your arrival. Renovations were being done to our spa/whirlpool (Paint) causing the lobby to have an odd smell. Hotel cannot help the visual appearance of the neighboring businesses. Our rooms do have a black out curtains which are behind the sheers for the convenience of our guests. We hope you give Holiday Inn another chance for you lodging needs. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    197
    75
    28
    16
See reviews for
115
203
38
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilmington nc
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was a very nice hotel. My only complaint was that the bed was a bit too firm for my liking.
The room was clean and spacious. The hotel was located in a great area with easy access to downtown Asheville. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nillas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I didn't want to spend a lot on an Asheville hotel, knowing I'd be out & about most of my stay, but still wanted something nice. This hotel was fairly perfect. Easy parking, great central location, friendly staff, nice remodeled room, comfy bed - all great. At first I was worried about a room right by the elevator, but was amazed at how quiet this hotel was. The only downside was the lousy view out my window, but since I wasn't in the room much that didn't matter. So convenient having a grocery across the street, and the microwave/fridge in the room.

Room Tip: If you go, request a room on the backside which would face the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Newer hotel (2008?) and very nice. Flat screen tv, nice beds and linens. Pool has pass thru to go from indoor to outdoor (nice). Large grocery store across street. $2 domestic bottles of beer in lounge. Good coffee in lobby. Slight challenge to get to as it is behind another smaller motel so you have to go past and turn on to access road that goes by a few restaurants (Cracker Barrel, and Outback) as it doubles back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forestphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Very clean nice hotel. Easy walk to restaurants. Entrance off road little hard to find, it's the first light to the left after going through the tunnel. Nice bar with limited food menu. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrOzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

All that you expect from a Holiday Inn - nothing more nothing less.. Everything is good condition with the AC/heat being quieter then most. The location like most hotel in Asheville is close to the downtown and the Biltimore. There a restaurant on site with the Cracker Barrel, IHop and Cornerstone restaurants close by. The pool is small with half indoor and half outdoor. The hot tub was broken and I was told it has been broke for awhile. You can park in the parking deck (nice if there is hot sun or rain) or surface lot as both are free. The bar offers miller beer for $2 on Mon and Tues with Wed being Mgrs nite with special happy hour things. The wifi worked great, the fridge in the room was nice to have and the bed was fine. Overall the rooms were nicer then the Crowne Plaza and the location was better. Crown Plaza has nicer pool and great tennis.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Excellent front desk staff...VERY clean hotel and rooms were very big and very clean..Food at hotel was very good..It is great when the rooms have microwave and refridg. Coffee was excellent also..The front desk staff were very helpful when I needed to print my boarding passes!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hootie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing