We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not business friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We travel a great deal on business and are Holiday Inn Priority members. We stayed at the holiday in because they have a business center. This Holiday Inn is not business friendly. I needed one document printed and the three computers in the business center are set up NOT to print. When I asked at the front desk if I could get the document, which was on a USB drive, printed - the staff and manager said "no" - I would have paid to have the page printed. We left, checked in to the Hampton and used the business center to print. No problem there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ceccone757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank You for posting your concerns about our hotel. We have a third party who monitors our business center computers and we also have some firewalls to protect our equipment as well as safety of our guests devices. If the firewall in the business center detects a threat, it will not open any files from that device. We apologize for any inconveniences you had at our hotel and hope you will keep us in mind for your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here on business using Priceline. Great rate (60), but not located in downtown Asheville as advertised. It is actually on the other side of the "tunnel" in a commercial district populated with Subway, grocery stores and restaurants. Requires either a long walk back through the tunnel or a car ride to get to the eclectic downtown area of Asheville.

This is a nice place, however, and the staff are a friendly lot. All the right upgrades to the rooms including WiFi which handles Netflix without problems (one of my key rating items). Covered parking is a nice touch, if you arrive early enough to get a spot, otherwise the outside parking appears o be safe. Plenty of restaurants close by, but I would recommend driving, not walking, to them in the evening because of the traffic.

Room had nice appointments, Flat Screen (not HD) TV, nice linens. Bathroom is a bit small, but very clean and fixtures were in good shape.

Good hotel for the Priceline price, but I would not pay the Holiday Inn rack rate, due to the location.

Room Tip: Location is away from the road, so all rooms should be fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. There are two Holiday Inns on Tunnel Road and we are closest to the Downtown (1.5 miles) and therefore given the name to differentiate both of the properties. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Asheville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I travel a great deal for business and have never been treated so rudely by a hotel staff in my life. Although the location of this hotel is convenient, it's not worth the frustration of dealing with shoddy internet, inconsistent air conditioning and a hotel staff that is both rude and inconsiderate.

After losing my second night's reservation and then stating the hotel was overbooked, I was told my only option was to leave all my belongings on a cart in the hopes that another room might be available. When this option was not acceptable I was told, "if you do not like it, checkout is at 11:00am." Requests to speak to the manager were met with "he's too busy.''

Traveling can be stressful and sometimes there are unexpected circumstances that can add to the frustration. Treating other people rudely, however, is never acceptable.

These days, travelers have many options when it comes to where they stay. In the future, I will stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Miles2GoLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. You had booked a reservation for one night only and if you decide to stay the second night and if the room type you were in is not available the second night hotel only have one choice, move you to a different room type which you refused. We tried our best to accommodate you and your needs but we feel that you did not give us a chance. We also have great and caring staff at our hotel and if you feel they were rude to you, I like to apologizes to you and hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked this hotel because we booked at the last minute and nothing closer to downtown was available. However, this hotel is still quite close to downtown, and there is free parking.

The lady at reception was EXTREMELY nice and friendly, gave us a couple of tips for restaurants and bars, and gave the impression that she was genuinely happy to help us. The lady at checkout was equally friendly. On top of that, our room was upgraded to a suite with a whirlpool, so based on what we paid for what we got, it was great value. The room was very nice and clean, the temperature was good. The only complaint about the room was the very noisy air conditioning unit that would sometimes jump to life and make noise at random times during the night. It was a pretty minor complaint, and we could have slept on the sofa bed in the other room if it was really that bothersome.

The location is not quite downtown, but we were able to walk. It was about 1.4 miles to where the restaurants, bars are.. so if you really hate the idea of walking ~25 minutes (or hate the idea of walking for 5 minutes through a (well lit, well used) tunnel), you need to call a cab or drive. We found it to be a nice way to see part of the city leading up to the bar/resto area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgrobi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

I like to Thank You for posting a review about our hotel and excellent staff. All of our AC's have thermostats and therefore comes on according to the temperature set in the room by individuals. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us a second chance when you visit Asheville again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here while we visited the biltmore estate. We also did some exploring in downtown Asheville. This hotel is a great location for both. One exit away from being right in downtown Asheville. And only about 10-15 minutes from Biltmore. Right near the hotel is also a great selection of restaurants from red lobster to Cracker Barrel to Dairy Queen and more. My wife also managed to make her way to the Asheville mall which was nice and it was only about a 10 minute drive. As some of the other reviewers mentioned there are some "not so nice looking places" around the hotel, but that doesn't reflect on this place at all. The staff was friendly, the room and overall facility was nice and clean. Overall, a great stay for the price and for the activities we wanted to do! Thanks holiday inn!

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

We want to Thank You for posting a review about our hotel and are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable. Please keep us in mind when you visit beautiful Asheville again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were very pleased with their central location, great restaurant and bar, clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff. We highly recommend this hotel.
We were a little disappointed in the bathroom because it did not have a tub, just a shower. Parking under the hotel is most convenient on rainy days, but for some reason most travelers choose not to park there so we always found a space.

Room Tip: Our room was over the restaurant deck and was a little noisy. Also the bathroom did not have a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We want to Thank You for recent stay and writing a review about our hotel. The room you were in was a ADA room and therefore had a roll in shower instead of the bath tub. On your next visit, please let our staff know if you would like to have a bath tub. Again, we really appreciate your business, and hope to see you again on your next trip to Asheville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Front desk staff went out of their way to assist me with something that I needed their help with. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall, exceptional people and exceptional service~
Joni

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnlake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank You for sharing your positive experience about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff was there to assist you in any way to make sure stay more enjoyable. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville-Biltmore Vlg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £83 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing