We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a change of plans and arrived in Asheville on Saturday at 11:30 am - tired and in need of a shower. There were very few vacancies and 1 hotel wouldn't let us check in until 3:00 pm.

We stopped in at the Holiday Inn and Lisa was wonderful. We explained how tired and dirty we were. She arranged for us to check in, go to the pool and then she went to see what rooms could be made available. After only an hour wait, our rooms were ready! she went out of her way to get us an early check-in. All the people at the hotel were so nice.

The room was quite nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Thanks to Lisa, I will always stay at a Holiday Inn whenever possible.

Great customer service, makes repeat customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottiegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank You for writing a review about our hotel. We try to accommodate each and every guest and their needs. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    188
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
109
189
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inman, SC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful staff who were very courteous. The room was clean and tidy. Interesting location that is very close to downtown Asheville. The only probem was with sleeping...haha. The bed I believe was made of poured concrete...so incredibly hard! We actually considered making the trip home versus staying the night due to the level of discomfort. Very interesting.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a more comfy bed when checking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank You for taking time to write a review about us. We like to apologize to you if you found our beds too hard. It is interesting to hear about our beds being too hard. We have had couple of review that said that the beds are too soft. I know that it is preference which depends upon individuals, but please consider us for your lodging needs in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

On a trip from Maryland to Tennessee we decided to stop over in Asheville for a couple of nights with no reservations anywhere and wing it. We stopped at a couple and happened upon this Holiday Inn after trying to navigate the downtown area. I spoke with Kenneth at the front desk and he had several rooms left. Kenneth and the rest of the staff were awesome. He gave us a suite for two nights at an awesome price, which we assumed meant a terrible room. We were wrong. The room was awesome and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our staff and hotel. We are committed to give the best customer service and after reading your review, I think we are achieving that. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here for several days in early July 2013. All staff including front desk and housekeeping were wonderful. Professional, courteous and responsive to every request. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Very easy access in and out of the hotel complex. Just a few minutes drive to Asheville's center city. Close to shopping, lots of restaurants and sites to see in and around this great city. Could not have been more pleased.

Room Tip: Third floor was great but others looked equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
I would like to Thank You for writing a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and staff members. We try very hard to give same good service to everyone that walks in the hotel. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston salem
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

While this Holiday Inn is beginning to show some wear, the location is very convenient to Downtown activities, The location is also located next to and near many Restaurants and Shops. Getting there is easy; 40 to 240. Lastly, the Front Desk, in particular, Becky and Brian were very helpful with Questions and Directions.

Room Tip: Priority Club upgrade to a Suite'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
I would like to Thank You for staying with us and writing a review about us. Review like yours really give our staff extra motivation when it comes to customer service. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a nice and clean hotel. It is close to highway with the easy access. But, it is very quiet in the room. We all had very good sleep for the night. The front desk people are very friendly. We got two connected rooms which both of them are clean and comfortable. They have very good speed for the wifi connection in the room. The hotel is close to both Biltmore estate and downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
I want to Thank You for writing a review about our hotel and staff. Review like yours encourages us and our staff to work even harder. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and hope that you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitport, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I were on a 2,000 mile motorcycle trip and just picked this hotel out of the many lodging options in the Asheville area. The room was very nice and clean. The bed was more comfortable than my own! And the breakfast was better than most hotel's "deluxe" continental breakfasts.

The tell tail sign of a great hotel is how the staff responds when something does go right. Without going into details, we had a minor bump when we wanted to do a couple loads of laundry in the provided washer and dryer; the soap vending machine didn't work. The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Becky, one of the delightful front desk staff people, made our small problem a priority to be resolved to our satisfaction.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities of our hotel. We try to keep our hotel, restaurant, Lounge and room up to date so our guests can enjoy it. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing