We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
209
213
84
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
213
84
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cracker barrel outback steakhouse front desk tunnel road the shuttle driver free shuttle nice hotel king suite continental breakfast great room hot tub up to date biltmore estate downtown microwave ihg elevator
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is not even remotely close to "downtown." Its out on tunnel road, closer to the mall. But I like staying here because the beds are great and the showers are good. The parking is never a problem and it is quiet. Internet Wi-fi is free. The price is a bit high, but this is Asheville. Usually hotels are pretty full on weekends and I have not usually had problems getting a reservation here. Breakfast is average. Ice is cold. I have not used other services. The drive to downtown is about 7 minutes and finding parking is about another 15, depending on the day and time. It is on the bus line but I would not use the bus service here. There are always very unsavory people sleeping or sitting on the bus stop benches. There is a Starbucks across the street, and an Outback, a Cracker Barrel, and a Dairy Queen adjoining. I stay here almost every trip, and like it much better than the Haywood Inn or the Grove Park which I felt were basically rip offs. 4 stars, enough said.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikemike1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are 1.5 miles from the heart of downtown and therefore makes us the closest Holiday Inn & Suites to downtown. There is another Holiday Inn on Tunnel road also and to differentiate both of the properties, the "Downtown" name was give to us by the franchise since we were closer to downtown. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location was a little different than what we had expected but we were very happy with the hotel overall. It is very clean and the staff are very nice and helpful! Wish there was a continental breakfast but the prices on the restaurant are really reasonable. Had a great stay! Our room was very large and quiet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

I want to Thank You for taking a moment and writing a review about our hotel. It is always good to hear when a guest enjoys their stay at our hotel, makes us feel that we did our job right. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs when you visit beautiful Asheville again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a change of plans and arrived in Asheville on Saturday at 11:30 am - tired and in need of a shower. There were very few vacancies and 1 hotel wouldn't let us check in until 3:00 pm.

We stopped in at the Holiday Inn and Lisa was wonderful. We explained how tired and dirty we were. She arranged for us to check in, go to the pool and then she went to see what rooms could be made available. After only an hour wait, our rooms were ready! she went out of her way to get us an early check-in. All the people at the hotel were so nice.

The room was quite nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Thanks to Lisa, I will always stay at a Holiday Inn whenever possible.

Great customer service, makes repeat customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottiegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank You for writing a review about our hotel. We try to accommodate each and every guest and their needs. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful staff who were very courteous. The room was clean and tidy. Interesting location that is very close to downtown Asheville. The only probem was with sleeping...haha. The bed I believe was made of poured concrete...so incredibly hard! We actually considered making the trip home versus staying the night due to the level of discomfort. Very interesting.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a more comfy bed when checking-in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank You for taking time to write a review about us. We like to apologize to you if you found our beds too hard. It is interesting to hear about our beds being too hard. We have had couple of review that said that the beds are too soft. I know that it is preference which depends upon individuals, but please consider us for your lodging needs in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

On a trip from Maryland to Tennessee we decided to stop over in Asheville for a couple of nights with no reservations anywhere and wing it. We stopped at a couple and happened upon this Holiday Inn after trying to navigate the downtown area. I spoke with Kenneth at the front desk and he had several rooms left. Kenneth and the rest of the staff were awesome. He gave us a suite for two nights at an awesome price, which we assumed meant a terrible room. We were wrong. The room was awesome and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank You for posting a review about our staff and hotel. We are committed to give the best customer service and after reading your review, I think we are achieving that. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews