We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here on a recent business trip. I don't usually post reviews, but wanted to say that we will certainly come back! As others have said, the rooms are nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. There are restaurants and a nice grocery store within walking distance. Kenneth at the front desk cheerfully offered us drinks since we have a Priority Club card.

The most important thing, at least to me, is the honesty of the staff! We accidentally left my luggage in the parking garage and didn't realize it until we arrived home and unpacked the car!Tina at the front desk informed me that it had been turned in and they would ship it to me. I had noticed some of the housekeeping staff in the garage as we were leaving, so I guess one of them turned it in. Thank you! Thank you! Of course, we had to pay the shipping cost, but it was very well packaged and they had made notes about the valuables that were inside. Nothing was missing. I can't thank you enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

THANK YOU! My team really takes to heart the experience that each and everyone of our guests has and to receive your praises are exactly what they love to hear. Hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were in town to visit family. Showed up at the Holiday Inn without a reservation. Due to a change in plans we did not have a hotel on a very busy week end in Asheville.

Kenneth at the Front Desk could not do enough for us. They could accommodate us for one of the two nights we needed a room.

He was kind enough to call around to attempt to find us another hotel for the night this particular property was booked.

The night we stayed there we had a large "suite" on the 6th floor. It even had a small balcony that looked out over the mountains. The hotel is very, very clean. Everything worked. The shower was awesome! The bed was the best.

This hotel has everything you ever could want. Great location, fabulous - friendly staff, a bar and restaurant on site. A small but neat pool that you can swim from the inside to the outside.

So nice to be able to have a glass of wine and sit on the patio before going up to a beautiful clean room.

I would very much recommend staying here. The staff truly makes you feel wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandpiper14086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others & are so excited to know we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nothing flashy here, but the hotel was great for our over-night in asheville. really really close to downtown, the biltmore, and the blueridge hiking areas. a great, clean, budget place to stay. beware, the blackout curtains are hidden behind the flimsy, decorative sheers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyN405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we showed up without a reservation but Tina was able to get us a great room. We got a queen suite. The view overlooked the mountains. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The swimming pool is small but you can use it indoor or outdoors. The hot tub jets didn't work very well but the water was warm and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeB730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank You for your valuable feedback. Top customer service is our priority and we are glad that our staff provided that to you. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Great location,room,bed,indoor pool. Bar and front desk were very help. Restaurants galore. Room 304 has frige , microwave clean and has large flat screen tv. (2) green beds. Room is in great shape. Not wornout. Easy parking. Directional sign to hotel are small and easily missed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolsto314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank You for writing a review about us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities at our hotel. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Things I loved:

1) The delicious hamburger in the small restaurant. Was expecting a frozen ho-hum something, but found a burger w/grill marks. The seasoned french fries were second to none.
2) Washer/dryer!
3) The microwave for lunch stuff and the frig for wine
4) breakfast - you can keep those free breakfasts where you sit around waiting for the toast to fall out and you have to put it back in and the scrambled eggs are like ball-bearings. I had eggs made to order w/bacon and an english muffin reasonably priced. I'd rather pay the $5 or so and get it brought to my table, thank you.
5) free wifi - have you noticed that high end hotels charge about $12 a day for wifi??

Room Tip: Higher is always better, no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinggirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank You for recognizing us as a great place to eat. Our full service restaurant has some great dishes on the menu and our chef is one of the best. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience in our Chef's Corner Lounge/Grille. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is not even remotely close to "downtown." Its out on tunnel road, closer to the mall. But I like staying here because the beds are great and the showers are good. The parking is never a problem and it is quiet. Internet Wi-fi is free. The price is a bit high, but this is Asheville. Usually hotels are pretty full on weekends and I have not usually had problems getting a reservation here. Breakfast is average. Ice is cold. I have not used other services. The drive to downtown is about 7 minutes and finding parking is about another 15, depending on the day and time. It is on the bus line but I would not use the bus service here. There are always very unsavory people sleeping or sitting on the bus stop benches. There is a Starbucks across the street, and an Outback, a Cracker Barrel, and a Dairy Queen adjoining. I stay here almost every trip, and like it much better than the Haywood Inn or the Grove Park which I felt were basically rip offs. 4 stars, enough said.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikemike1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are 1.5 miles from the heart of downtown and therefore makes us the closest Holiday Inn & Suites to downtown. There is another Holiday Inn on Tunnel road also and to differentiate both of the properties, the "Downtown" name was give to us by the franchise since we were closer to downtown. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 66 in Asheville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £93 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing