We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Biltmore West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$106
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Asheville(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$242
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$462
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
199
212
81
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
212
81
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscracker barreloutback steakhousefront desktunnel roadindoor outdoor poolthe shuttle driverfree shuttlenice hotelhotel barking suitepleasant staycontinental breakfastgreat roomhot tubup to datebiltmore estatedowntown
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable, the room good size with firge and microwave and the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine and reasonably priced. Got great value with a state govt rate. This hotel is close to downtown but it is not downtown. It is on a busy street with strip malls and chain restaurants. If you have a car downtown is a short drive through the tunnel. If not you cannot walk downtown. This hotel is back off the road so it is quiet, but the signage is not good.and it is easy to pass it by. The lighting was not great but the desk clerk quickly brought up an extra lamp when requested.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites! I greatly appreciate it! We work very hard to ensure our facilites and service are superior and strive to be the best Holiday Inn & Suites around. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property and thank you again for the wonderful and kind words of praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is behind a very dodgy looking motel, and very badly signed on how to enter the property.

Once on the site its a pretty average holiday inn, - though the bar does a nice selection of local beers.

Watch out if you book it via the "book early & save with breakfast" option via the IHG website. The amount allowed doesn't really cover a lot of the items on the breakfast menu -- unlike the Washington holiday inn, which covers the works.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolk_lad_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear suffolk_lad_61,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving feedback of our property. We are glad to know you appreciate the cleanliness of the room. However, I am sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the room package and hotel location. I have taken note of your valuable comments as this will allow us to improve on our efforts.

While we understand that your stay was was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First of all...this hotel is NOT downtown! The hotel IS near many restaurants but I wouldn't walk here at night!
The hotel itself is average, but what is below average is the staff. We had several little issues that if they were just handled with a smile would have been resolved. The staff is snarly and the management indifferent!!
For an example, by the third time our keys stopped working the ladies at the front desk were obviously annoyed at having "extra work" (never mind us having to go up and down to the lobby with two small kids) The forth time our keys stopped working we asked to speak with the manager (supervisor) and told him that we were frustrated. He told us that the key problem was our fault because no one else was having problems!! Apparently both of us have magnets in our pockets?? The girl at the desk swiped the card and stated it wasn't working because they had it deactivated! Did he apologize..nope!
Another time we mentioned that the hotel wasn't downtown and they replied "well you shouldn't have booked without checking the map" (In addition to not being downtown it overlooks the dodgiest motel I have ever seen.!)
While in the dining room the server placed a cup of scalding hot oatmeal in front of my 2 year old!
There are dozens of more little examples that if on there own would have not been enough to complain about but the accumulation of indifference , blame and snarkiness is too much too handle.
...Still waiting for the Sales Manager (whom we were referred to) to return our call but as we were told he doesn't want to be 'bothered on his day off' (Wednesday.) He must be on a long vacation because he has still not return our call.
Overall, the staff did the bare minimum of their jobs! As a platinum member we have stayed at many IHG properties, there is a wide range of quality between hotels and I don't mind because generally the service is excellent and have happy staff.
If you don't interact with any staff here, I'm sure your stay here will be just fine!

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms overlooking the motel next to the parking lot. Don't pay for food here-gross!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Let me first start my extending our sincere apologizes for not exceeding your expectations. We clearly broke down with our internal communication. We should have at that time reported the discrepancy to the front desk and should have followed up with you. I can assure there was no intentional wrong doing, just a lack of communication on our part.
Thank you for being loyal to IHG and I am sorry that this situation has forced you to look elsewhere. If you should decide to try us again, it would be our honor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a very clean and nice place.We stayed overnight, and were really surprised at the cleanliness and comfort of the room. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn.Employees were very nice.The only downside I saw was the male desk clerk last night was standing right beside the front door smoking with a friend and I had to walk through the smoke to get inside.......

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor .Just here one night.I did request a room facing the parkway, and at least 3rd floor or higher.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments. It is surely a nice experience to be greeted with a smile; our Front Desk Associates enjoy making check in a pleasant experience. We have designated smoking area which is located in front of the hotel and is a IHG standard. We will definitely have a talk about this in our next employee meeting so it won't happen again. Please comeback and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I made reservations for two rooms around a month in advance for this downtown Holiday Inn and honestly was not quite expecting the quality that we got. We were in town for a mini-family reunion. The hotel is very clean, with quiet rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly service at the front desk. The hotel is not frilly, or formal, but offered perks, such as bottled water and free drinks in their bar. Kenneth, at the front desk, was friendly and efficient, and was willing to provide directions and opinions about local restaurants, etc. I would definitely use this hotel during future visits to Asheville, NC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews