We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Everyone was very nice, the room service, front desk and bar staff were great. We got a good deal on groupon. It's within walking distance of downtown, but by about 1.5 miles. About an $8 cab ride. We had a bad view from the window, but weren't in the room that much anyway.

Room Tip: The backside of the hotel overlooks what looks like a motel or a super run down aprartment building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us while visiting the area. We look forward to you returning soon. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a couple times while in Asheville. Rooms are up to date, comfortable, and clean. The mineral pool and hot tub area are always clean and nice too. Super easy to get to downtown, although the hotel isn't really "downtown" as the name implies, it's more than a mile. Parking in and around downtown Asheville is really easy so driving here is not that big of a deal. The hotel even has a few covered spaces under the building, accessible by the elevator too. Can't comment on the food, we always go out for breakfast in Asheville, too many cool places to hit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleKman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites during your stay to the area. We truly appreciate your review. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Associates enjoy assisting our guest whenever possible. Travelers have a variety of room suites to choose from, one and two bedrooms. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants, malls and attractions. We look forward to you returning in the future. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good convenient hotel on Tunnel Rd, that does the little extras. Best night to stay is Wednesday when from 6 to 7 there is free domestic bottles of beer at the bar. Indoor / outdoor pool is unique for this price hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We truly appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisors. Our friendly Holiday Inn & Suites Associates enjoy treating everyone like royalty. We look forward to you continuing to stay with us in the future…. Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Holiday Inn was a very nice stay. The staff at the front desk was very kind and extremely helpful when it came to recommendations of the area. Jim (I believe that was his name) at the front desk was awesome! Seemed genuinely happy to help our party find a good restaurant and helped us deal with a room mix up right away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyjoy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn & Suites by IHG. We truly appreciate your comments. We shared your comments at our daily huddle, the team was thrilled you gave special mention to our Front Desk Associates. Our entire team looks forward to assisting guests staying at our hotel, and truly enjoys doing so. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn! The staff was incredibly nice, our corner suite was very pleasant, and room service was great! In fact this place had more amenities than the more upscale places we have stayed in Asheville! My only problem is the location! It's advertised as a downtown hotel which it is not. You have a great view of the interstate, an Outback Steakhouse, and the "lonely hearts" motel next door with dirty mattresses, broken down cars, and shooting gallery on display for those in the adjacent hotel to view! Despite that it truly was a nice hotel! In the future Holiday Inn should take into consideration their neighbors when building a brand new hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carleytoocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time complete a Trip Advisor review. We do appreciate feedback as it only helps us to improve our product for the future. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
There are two Holiday Inns on Tunnel Road and we are the closest to Downtown and to differentiate both of the hotels, we were given the name "Downtown" by IHG (Intercontinental Hotels Group). We by no means are trying to incorrectly advertise as Downtown property. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A nice enough place to spend a night. Difficult to reach from the road as the main entrance is shared. We could see it but it took a little time to reach it in the dark. Probably due for renovation. Not far from Biltmore Estate. Close to a lot of chain restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to limit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We truly appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisors. Our friendly Holiday Inn & Suites Associates enjoy treating everyone like royalty and it makes arriving in the middle of the night much more welcoming. We look forward to you continuing to stay with us in the future…. Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable, the room good size with firge and microwave and the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine and reasonably priced. Got great value with a state govt rate. This hotel is close to downtown but it is not downtown. It is on a busy street with strip malls and chain restaurants. If you have a car downtown is a short drive through the tunnel. If not you cannot walk downtown. This hotel is back off the road so it is quiet, but the signage is not good.and it is easy to pass it by. The lighting was not great but the desk clerk quickly brought up an extra lamp when requested.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites! I greatly appreciate it! We work very hard to ensure our facilites and service are superior and strive to be the best Holiday Inn & Suites around. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property and thank you again for the wonderful and kind words of praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 66 in Asheville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £93 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing