We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed here on and off over the last 2 years and was pleasantly surprised how well kept the place still is. Great location and Addie & Ashley at the front desk were pleasant and very helpful. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites! We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment and once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was out first stay here and we will return because of the excellent staff and facilities. The price was nice and the room the right size. I prefer a roll in shower, but the website didn't list them as having one. So I asked at check-in and they changed us from a tub accessible to a roll-in shower. It had a pull down seat and was spacious. Even with 2 queen beds, the room was spacious as well for a wheelchair if needed.. Because of the bitter cold, we used the restaurant one night and the food was fine. Decent prices although not an expansive menu. My wife used the exercise room and was pleased with it as well as the indoor pool. The location is great just 5 minutes from either the mall or downtown. Parking is tight though. Still, a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel abuts an off ramp on I-240 so you might get some road noise except the rooms in the front...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us when visiting the area and glad we exceeded your expectations. We have many rooms to accommodate any number of family travelers. Our location is very conveniently located and close to several restaurants, shopping and downtown. We hope that you visit us again in the near future. Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Being a platinum member staying at many Holiday Inn locations meeting a lot of front desk personnel the Holiday Inn @ 42 Tunnel Road has the most personable guy named Jon at the front desk. Check in is a joy and entertaining. Jon goes above and beyond making me feel welcome and always remembers my name when several months exist between stays.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huskymom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn & Suites. We truly appreciate your comments. We shared your comments at our daily huddle, the team was thrilled you gave special mention to our Front Desk Associates. Our entire team looks forward to assisting guests staying at our hotel, and truly enjoys doing so. People often comment on the warm and inviting pool area is. We look forward to you returning soon. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Everyone was very nice, the room service, front desk and bar staff were great. We got a good deal on groupon. It's within walking distance of downtown, but by about 1.5 miles. About an $8 cab ride. We had a bad view from the window, but weren't in the room that much anyway.

Room Tip: The backside of the hotel overlooks what looks like a motel or a super run down aprartment building.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us while visiting the area. We look forward to you returning soon. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a couple times while in Asheville. Rooms are up to date, comfortable, and clean. The mineral pool and hot tub area are always clean and nice too. Super easy to get to downtown, although the hotel isn't really "downtown" as the name implies, it's more than a mile. Parking in and around downtown Asheville is really easy so driving here is not that big of a deal. The hotel even has a few covered spaces under the building, accessible by the elevator too. Can't comment on the food, we always go out for breakfast in Asheville, too many cool places to hit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleKman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites during your stay to the area. We truly appreciate your review. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Associates enjoy assisting our guest whenever possible. Travelers have a variety of room suites to choose from, one and two bedrooms. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants, malls and attractions. We look forward to you returning in the future. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good convenient hotel on Tunnel Rd, that does the little extras. Best night to stay is Wednesday when from 6 to 7 there is free domestic bottles of beer at the bar. Indoor / outdoor pool is unique for this price hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We truly appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisors. Our friendly Holiday Inn & Suites Associates enjoy treating everyone like royalty. We look forward to you continuing to stay with us in the future…. Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Holiday Inn was a very nice stay. The staff at the front desk was very kind and extremely helpful when it came to recommendations of the area. Jim (I believe that was his name) at the front desk was awesome! Seemed genuinely happy to help our party find a good restaurant and helped us deal with a room mix up right away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyjoy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn & Suites by IHG. We truly appreciate your comments. We shared your comments at our daily huddle, the team was thrilled you gave special mention to our Front Desk Associates. Our entire team looks forward to assisting guests staying at our hotel, and truly enjoys doing so. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 66 in Asheville
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £98 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing