We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to downtown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because the hotels downtown can be really pricy last minute. It's not really close enough to walk downtown either about a 2 minute drive. We had a nice balcony suite overlooking a parking lot and restaurant. No good views from this hotel. However the service is good and there is a small indoor pool and even smaller outdoor pool.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank takemeonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. We shared your comments with our team and are addressing your comments. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    188
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
109
189
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The room was nice and so was the bathroom with some minor defects, as there were some mildew or mold along the caulking and joint between the wall and the tub under the shower head. No free breakfast offered. You could order room service continental breakfast with toasts, OJ and coffee for $5.99, plus $3.99 room service charge, plus 18% gratuity. Check in/Check out was good, staff was friendly. They also had underground parking, but they were filled during the snow storm. Also one plus note, pretty decent coffee 24 hours in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff met your service expectations. In regards to Complementary Breakfast, we are a full service Holiday Inn and therefore we do not have free breakfast. Complementary breakfast is only offered at Holiday Inn Express. You can book a room which includes breakfast in future at our hotel if you like and its only $6 more. Hope you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs when you visit beautiful Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Super nice hotel, reasonable price, our room was clean, nice bathrooms.
Downfall, opened blinds to hopefully find a nice view of asheville, and I'm staring at the most run down hotel. Very sketchy and dirty. The most run down hotel I've ever seen next to us right outside my window. Would have liked to know this before booking. Also no continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatdanemom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate you staying with us. We have tried our level best to get the next door hotel to clean up and make that motel look a little descent, but no luck. Unfortunately, 70% of our rooms face that way and there is not much we can do about it. I hope that you will keep us in mind for your future stay in Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our first time at this hotel and we would stay here again. The things we liked about this hotel: very pleasant staff; wonderful breakfast and wonderful service; very clean; very quiet; and our room was very comfortable. I must mention that the hotel's location was not the best. The view from our room was overlooking a hotel that was in terrible condition and that did definitely distract from the beautiful mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momofjake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed here on and off over the last 2 years and was pleasantly surprised how well kept the place still is. Great location and Addie & Ashley at the front desk were pleasant and very helpful. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites! We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment and once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was out first stay here and we will return because of the excellent staff and facilities. The price was nice and the room the right size. I prefer a roll in shower, but the website didn't list them as having one. So I asked at check-in and they changed us from a tub accessible to a roll-in shower. It had a pull down seat and was spacious. Even with 2 queen beds, the room was spacious as well for a wheelchair if needed.. Because of the bitter cold, we used the restaurant one night and the food was fine. Decent prices although not an expansive menu. My wife used the exercise room and was pleased with it as well as the indoor pool. The location is great just 5 minutes from either the mall or downtown. Parking is tight though. Still, a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel abuts an off ramp on I-240 so you might get some road noise except the rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us when visiting the area and glad we exceeded your expectations. We have many rooms to accommodate any number of family travelers. Our location is very conveniently located and close to several restaurants, shopping and downtown. We hope that you visit us again in the near future. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Being a platinum member staying at many Holiday Inn locations meeting a lot of front desk personnel the Holiday Inn @ 42 Tunnel Road has the most personable guy named Jon at the front desk. Check in is a joy and entertaining. Jon goes above and beyond making me feel welcome and always remembers my name when several months exist between stays.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskymom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn & Suites. We truly appreciate your comments. We shared your comments at our daily huddle, the team was thrilled you gave special mention to our Front Desk Associates. Our entire team looks forward to assisting guests staying at our hotel, and truly enjoys doing so. People often comment on the warm and inviting pool area is. We look forward to you returning soon. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing