We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had not been to Asheville before. Toured the Biltmore Estate and came back to this Holiday Inn that we had booked. The immediate area has a number of what I would describe as old tourist hotels from back in the day. 50-60 year old hotels with signs with hillbilly's smoking corn cob pipes, etc. Also a number of low end restaurants. Not scary, just sort of down on it's heels.

This Holiday Inn was adequate enough. Seemed to be filled with area folks, this was a Thursday night and the pools were filled with families, kids, and couples. Which we thought strange for a weekday in April. Nevertheless, the room was clean, and had a decent view of the surrounding hills.

There was an Outback I believe behind the parking lot, and that served for dinner. We probably wouldn't stay here again, there must be more picturesque and better located hotels in Asheville, but it was alright for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52,761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and surrounding restaurants. The Holiday Inn & Suites is conveniently located to many great restaurants. People with families often visit us on the weekdays and they enjoy the hotel and the restaurants around our hotel. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Suffered through two days of uncomfortable bed and pillows, a bathtub made for very short people, a very cold heated pool and no heat in the room. I am a Holiday Inn loyalist but this one does not make the grade.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 55,640,077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel… Our Holiday Inn & Suites Associates take great pride in making every stay a pleasant experience and as past reviews suggest, exceed most expectations. IHG holds very high standards and we are pleased to say that we meet or exceed our goals in every category. We have reviewed your comments and want to let you know that we can only use IHG approved products in our rooms. We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable with our beds & pillows. As far as temperature of the pool, our city requires that the temperature of the pool cannot be exceed over 78 degrees which we have set. We hope that you will keep us and other IHG brands for you future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed at this Holiday Inn Facility typical for this chain. Room good sized and clean. Very noisy bathroom fan and radio supplied in the room was not able to clearly pull in desired ,and supposidly available, station.Restaurant was clean, breakfast ok. Front desk staff extremely helpful and caring about guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites.
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for the wonderful and kind words of praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have stayed here on vacation trips several times and have always been very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located to Asheville attractions. On this trip we arrived after a long day of hiking and have Jon and Joe at the front desk to thank for our lovely king jacuzzi room. The internet and air conditioning worked exceptionally well. The fact that this was a rewards night made it even better and we appreciated being recognized as iHG Rewards Club members.

Room Tip: The hotel is L-shaped. Ask for a room at the end of the L away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theridge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and strive to be the best Holiday Inn & Suites around! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property for your next visit. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Upon deciding to lengthen our stay in Asheville, we chose this hotel because of its convenient location and access to dining and shopping options. We were assigned a king jacuzzi suite on the third floor. We were NOT expecting the room to not only be super nice, but the views of the mountains was an added bonus!! I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and offer mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Our friendly Holiday Inn & Suites Associates are happy to assist. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping and attractions. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The desk managers, Ken and Brian, complemented a very good hotel to make our stay a most enjoyable one. Every employee was most courteous and the amenities were very good. The breakfast crew were most gracious. In all, the stay was most pleasant .
The only improvement would be to have a newspaper on Friday through Sunday

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

THANK YOU! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located to many attractions, restaurants, shopping and many businesses in the area. We look forward to you returning soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed there when travelling the Blue Ridge and I liked the place, as it was clean, it had a decent breakfast, the rooms were quite big, it even had an outdoor swimming pool. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel associates enjoy having the opportunity to make our hotel their home away from home while visiting the area. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £79 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing