We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but Beware of booking directly..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residences at Biltmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residences at Biltmore
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place but Beware of booking directly..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Nice place. Like a small condo. Awesome pool & firepit! Kitchen fully equipped & user friendly. When booking they don't give the best deals if close to full. Try a site like expedia for much better deals on this property. Good location. A little pricey but you get a good amount of space if you like that when traveling.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabinfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Director of Sales at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all of our amenities and our excellent location for visiting Asheville and the surrounding area! You are correct, we don’t usually offer discounts or deals when we are near capacity. However, we do tend to offer some sweet deals at other times when we are not so full.

We strive to price our suites competitively with the other area hotels of our caliber, where you get just a room and not a spacious condo-like suite, like our rooms. We also strive to remain rate parity across all booking channels. Once in awhile though, Expedia or another online travel agency may be offering a slightly lower rate than what we are offering through the hotel directly. If that occurs, we are more than happy to match the rate found online if you call us directly to book, as long as we can verify the rate on the given site over the requested dates for the requested room type.

We pride ourselves on offering a personalized guest experience and we are in a better position to be able to do that when guests call us directly to book. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future, and hope that you will contact a member of our city savvy concierge team to make your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    283
    84
    36
    24
See reviews for
370
525
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a cross-country trip. Definitely the best accommodations we stayed in. Loved having the extra space compared to a regular hotel room. The condo was beautifully maintained. The pool was wonderful--huge, with a nice hot tub, and a fire pit.

My one and only criticism is that the kitchen was stocked inadequately...not enough flatware, not enough cups, no reasonable-sized saute pan. It was OK for a short stay, but if we'd been there a week it would have been an irritant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Can't wait to stay here again. Perfect spot for families that don't want to eat out every meal and be crammed in a tiny hotel room. I can't wait to come back in the winter!

Highly recommend for families or a bunch of friends traveling together. Suites are high end and great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
340 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I made our bookings way ahead our arrival, on March 2011, because we were going to travel from far away to drop and pick up our son in a summer camp.
However, 2 weeks prior our arrival I called and make a change in the number of days we were staying, received a new confirmation number with the corrected days of stay.
Just to be sure everything was in order, 1 week before our arrival, I called again and I was told that "someone" had canceled both our bookings. They didn´t bothered to write the name of the person who called or send a cancelation email. When I demanded an explanation they told me "maybe your husband called and you don´t know", what an absurd answer !, my husband didn´t even know where we will be staying. After that no email or communication with a more responsible answer, an apology or, at least, an offer to help us looking somewhere to stay. The really didn´t care and never took interest in helping us for THEIR mistake about a booking made 4 months ahead.

Really an unrealiable Hotel ! would never consider staying in a Hotel that treat their clients like that BEFORE their arrival !! Look for somewhere else to stay !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patriciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Director of Sales at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First, we apologize for the stress this situation caused you. However, based on all the email communication we have on file between you and our concierge team, I must say I question your explanation of the circumstances, beginning with the fact that you never “called” the hotel but rather communicated with us exclusively via email.

You did indeed make two reservations in March, one for July and one for August. In May, you contacted us via email referencing the July stay and asked us to shorten it. On July 12, you once again contacted us via email referencing the July stay and shortened it again. Then on July 14, you sent an email asking to cancel your reservation and signed it with your husband’s name, which incidentally is completely different than your last name that appears on your email address. You never mentioned that you had 2 reservations or which one you wanted cancelled. We therefore cancelled both reservations under your husband’s name.

On July 15, the following email exchange occurred between you and our concierge team:
• You sent an email asking for an additional room to be added to your existing reservation. It was not signed, there was no confirmation number given, and as mentioned above, the name in your email is totally different than what the reservations were under, being your husband’s name.
• We replied asking you to call the hotel directly to make these arrangements.
• You replied that you were outside the US and that if you had to call to make these changes you would just cancel the whole booking. You indicated that we have your details on file already and asked us to just make the change. Again, this email was not signed, there was no confirmation number given, and as previously mentioned the name in your email address is completely different than what the reservations were under.
• We replied apologizing saying that we could not find your reservation and asked if you could give us the last name or the confirmation number.
• That is when you gave us your husband’s name, indicating the reservation was under his name. You said that you needed 2 One Bedrooms or Studios on a given arrival date in August for 2 nights.
• At that point, we were then able to determine that the reservation had been cancelled. We replied to you as such, saying the reservation was cancelled on July 14 and it was originally only for one night on the said arrival date. However, we still had your information on file and we would be happy to set your reservations up to your specifications. We gave you the rate for the Studio and One Bedroom, and asked which you preferred.
• You replied asking us to cancel the reservation.
• We replied, that as we said before, the reservation was already cancelled and asked you to contact us if you would like to rebook, again apologizing for any confusion and miscommunication.
• You then replied saying you never cancelled anything along with a lengthy explanation of how upset you were. At this point, you finally mentioned that you had had 2 reservations and the July one was to have been cancelled but the August one was the one you had been referring to in this email exchange. You then demanded to know who cancelled the reservations. You thanked us for the offer to rebook but indicated that you would be staying at another hotel.
• Again, we replied apologizing for the confusion and miscommunication. We also explained that both reservations were cancelled on the same day by “your husband’s name” - withheld here for your privacy - as that is the name the email asking for the cancellation on July 14 was signed with.
• You replied that was not possible as he did not even know of the travel arrangements and again asked who cancelled your reservations.
• At that point, we did not reply any further as it seemed no matter what we said it was not going to assuage you at that point.

Thus, contrary to your review, we did apologize several times and did offer to rebook your reservation. We did not offer to find you accommodations elsewhere as you had indicated you had already found alternate hotels that you felt more confident in.

We will admit that when we received the email on July 14 asking us to cancel the reservation signed “your husband’s name” and discovered there were two under that name, we should have replied asking if you wanted both reservations under that name cancelled or just one, and if so, which one. For that we apologize, and we will be more careful in that regard in the future. We hope that you too will be more clear and concise with your hotel communications in the future. It is unfortunate that this situation occurred and we sincerely apologize for the role we played in the confusion. We would have liked the opportunity to rebook your reservation and welcome you as we feel confident you would have enjoyed your experience, as the vast majority of our other guests do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed for two nights because of the pet-friendly policy, and everyone was very welcoming to both humans and pets. (Very friendly staff.)

The location is neither Biltmore Village nor Downtown, but it is a short drive from both places. The parking is also ample on-site, which is great considering how challenging it can be to park in Downtown Asheville at times! The grounds were very pretty - a good pet area, lovely pool and fire pit.

My only criticism was noise and our room allocation. You will hear the people staying above you - for a property that is very family-friendly, that could mean kids jumping around late at night and early in the morning. I would also request a room that doesn't face the main parking lot, as we could see everyone who walked by (and the dog was very tempted to bark!).

I would stay again - although I would request a unit on the top floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Residences at Biltmore is quite impressive. We stayed in a studio...well appointed with all the things needed when away from home. I would highly recommend it as it is off the beaten path, quiet, and a real deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallyho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The beds are hard as rocks, if you like a hard bed, you will love this place.
Everything else is fantastic, room size, service, staff, facilities, location, etc. I had to weigh in because they would be booked all the time, if they'd spend some money and get some decent mattresses. Very strange for such a great place. I'm not returning until I hear that they've done that.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor, hardwood floors above can be a bit noisy, at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freqbiztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Biltmore

Property: The Residences at Biltmore
Address: 700 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803-2591
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#13 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residences at Biltmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences at Biltmore is an all-suite luxury hotel located in Asheville, North Carolina. This beautiful hotel is set on top of a hill surrounded by timeworn hardwood trees, just outside the gates of the Biltmore Estate in South Asheville. Convenient to Asheville and all of the most sought-after tourism destinations, restaurants and shopping, The Residences at Biltmore is the perfect accommodation for nearly any occasion. Whether you are looking for a unique family vacation destination, a weekend retreat with friends, a romantic mountain getaway or an outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the mountains of North Carolina. Guests may select from Studio, One, Two, and Three Bedroom luxury suites depending on their individual needs. Designed to create a unique "home suite home" experience, each suite features flat-screen televisions, designer bed linens, whirlpool baths, gas fireplaces, private balconies and full kitchens. The on-site health and fitness center is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, and our outdoor recreation area contains a seasonally heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Our exclusive concierge service can help with anything you need throughout the duration of your stay, from arranging transportation services, babysitting, pet-sitting, dry cleaning, gift delivery and grocery shopping to making restaurant reservations, salon and spa appointments or golf tee times. We also offer in-room massage therapy services so guests can experience pampering and relaxation without leaving the comfort of their suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Residences at Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing