We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & Thin Ceiling/Walls....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residences at Biltmore
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Thin Ceiling/Walls....”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Completely overrated and extremely disappointed. The room was average (the pictures make them look better than they are). For a "resort" style hotel, I expected more. Apparently, the property is a renovated apartment complex from the 1960's (as I was told by the "concierge office"). The ceilings are so thin that you can hear the guests above you as they open every drawer, walk around at all hours of the night, and have loud sex (as was our experience)...thank goodness we didn't have our kids with us. Save yourself the money, you can get a comparable room at a nearby chain hotel with similar amenities and be much happier. I will not recommend this property to others and will avoid it in the future.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, get an upstairs room so you won't hear everyone walking/stomping ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Kieth L.,
I am so genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is true the complex was originally built in the 60's and recently (2007) enjoyed a top/down renovation to the studs. Most find the units to be to their liking and the pictures to be a fair and accurate representation of the facility. If you would like to discuss your visit with me directly, I would welcome your feedback. Feel free to call me at (828) 350-8000 ask for Bill Cummings.

I wish you well,
Bill C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    302
    95
    39
    25
See reviews for
392
544
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as we were visiting The Biltmore estate. What a delight, we had a studio room with kitchen, lounge and bedroom areas and a large bathroom with a double sink. We had been travelling on a road trip for a few days so we were delighted to discover in room washing and drying facilities - fully laundered by the time we departed. There was a balcony too - though not really enough time to use it. Plenty of room and impressive styling. Slight disappointment in that it only had a shower - no tub :(, but actually the other facilities made up for it. Quite hard to find - but a real treat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Karen M.

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy we met your expectations. Also, please know for future visits that all of our larger units (1 & 2 Bedrooms) have both a tub and a jetted tub. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We will certainly return. Have booked our next stay for October. The room was spacious and clean (we got a 2 bedroom). Pullout couch was fine, not super comfy. Great kitchen with full sized appliances. Pet fee was not terrible. Great location and attractive grounds. We had a problem with our keys and the staff took care of it happily and quickly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your October trip. If using the sleeper sofa again, please let us know if a mattress topper would make it more comfortable and we will be happy to provide it!

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! We will be back!The condo was out of a top notch magazine,bathed with class.
Loved the granite, the peace, the tub- everything!I thought I was getting a sweet rate on a hotel room & I was blessed with a 5 star condo instead!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janellec768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Janelle C,
What can I say but we are flattered beyond belief by your generous review. We strive to exceed our guests expectations, it seems as though we achieved that for you. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Bill C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindman, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Residences at Builtmore was much better than I had expected. Before leaving I actually asked the attendant in registration for information about making a residential condo purchase at this location, which she provided. Everything here was great.

Room Tip: I was on a top floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Fred T.
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your future visits!
Bill C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in this area. We were pleased with both the cleanliness and spacious suite. It is a good location. The staff was efficient. It served as a wonderful getaway for our anniversary.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Wayne1995,

Thanks for your kind review. I will pass your comments on to our team. I am happy we could play a small part of your anniversary celebration.

Bill C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Residences at Biltmore were a home away from home. We traveled to Asheville for a mini vacation in late March, 2014. It was the perfect size for 2 adults. The walk in shower was beautiful and the kitchen was modern and well equipped. I even did a little laundry (washer and dryer was in our room) so I wouldn't have to do it all when I got home. The only downside: We had a first floor unit and heard the people upstairs walking a lot (they seemed to be "on the go" walking non-stop, almost sounding like they were rearranging furniture as well, evening until around 2 a.m.). We called the office after 2 nights of the noise. They called the people above our unit and the noise stopped. I just think the walls are thin and not well insulated between floors. Maybe asking for an upper floor could be a better option for those who are concerned with that being a problem for them. The office staff are very nice and the room was very clean. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank carolynjbraden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
CarolynJBraden,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the feedback and am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future visits.
Bill C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Biltmore

Property: The Residences at Biltmore
Address: 700 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803-2591
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#13 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residences at Biltmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences at Biltmore is an all-suite luxury hotel located in Asheville, North Carolina. This beautiful hotel is set on top of a hill surrounded by timeworn hardwood trees, just outside the gates of the Biltmore Estate in South Asheville. Convenient to Asheville and all of the most sought-after tourism destinations, restaurants and shopping, The Residences at Biltmore is the perfect accommodation for nearly any occasion. Whether you are looking for a unique family vacation destination, a weekend retreat with friends, a romantic mountain getaway or an outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the mountains of North Carolina. Guests may select from Studio, One, Two, and Three Bedroom luxury suites depending on their individual needs. Designed to create a unique "home suite home" experience, each suite features flat-screen televisions, designer bed linens, whirlpool baths, gas fireplaces, private balconies and full kitchens. The on-site health and fitness center is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, and our outdoor recreation area contains a seasonally heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Our exclusive concierge service can help with anything you need throughout the duration of your stay, from arranging transportation services, babysitting, pet-sitting, dry cleaning, gift delivery and grocery shopping to making restaurant reservations, salon and spa appointments or golf tee times. We also offer in-room massage therapy services so guests can experience pampering and relaxation without leaving the comfort of their suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Residences at Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing