We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residences at Biltmore
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you want at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 16 September 2009

How about a Bosch washer/dryer in every room(soap provided by the management), electric fireplace, stainless refrig and stove, flat screen tv, wireless, pool, balcony,super huge shower, attractive furnishings,elevator access, quiet setting, and totally clean and modern?You've got all that at The Residences.The hotel is reminiscent of condos and are arranged on three separate access roads.We stayed in the top floor of the units located closest to the pool area (which would probably also be the most quiet/secluded). The staff was friendly and helpful and had great restaurant suggestions. We actually stayed two nights, traveled to the mountains, and then returned for another night, which we negotiated at a corporate rate. Really couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you found your suite to be very well-appointed and clean, in a quiet setting. It is also wonderful to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are certainly pleased that you experienced all that we strive for – great service paired with excellent amenities at a good value. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the Ashville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    300
    93
    38
    24
See reviews for
385
542
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We booked a 2 night getaway over Labor day weekend. Our first impression was really good, the woman checking us in was very nice and helpful. She asked if we needed restaurant recommendations or directions to places. Since we have been to Asheville several times, we knew where to go. The last few times we have been to Asheville we have stayed at the Grand Bohemian so that is what I compared the Residences to. I have mostly great things to say with a few negatives. The room was comfortable and very clean. We had a room by the pool but with a balcony looking at the trees and not the parking lot so it was more private and we used it all the time. We did use the pool several times, the cozy firepit in the evenings and enjoyed laying in the sun late afternoon after getting back from hiking. The coffee maker came in handy along with have a refrig and washer/dryer. The shower was a nice size with double sinks in the bathroom. The bed was comfy with high quality sheets. It would of been nice to have breakfast included or as an option but we visited Bruegers that was close by and also Morning Glory Cafe in Black Mountain which I highly recommend. A couple of negatives that we encountered was first they didn't ever replanish the toilet paper and by the time we noticed it was too late to call and ask for some. An extra roll would of came in handy considering we were there for 4 nights. Also the biggest complaint we have, well actually it was more of an annoyance was our key never worked when we came back to our room in the afternoon and at night. I know its not the biggest deal but our room was by the pool and not close to the registration area so when we came back from a relaxing dinner looking forward to getting in the room and in your pajamas, the key doesn't work and you have to either walk to the front or drive. One time wouldn't have been a problem but everyday for the 4 days the key didn't work at least one time and even some days two times but luckily the housekeeper was around and she got to know us so she would let us in. One thing we missed was a fitness center, we did do 3 hikes while we were there but it would of been nice to have that as an option. All in all, it was a great visit and we will return to the Residences next time in Asheville over the Grand Bohemian.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are certainly glad that you found our staff welcoming and eager to help. We are also pleased to hear that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and clean and were able to take full advantage of our pool facilities and fire pit. We are sorry that your toilet paper was not replenished during your housekeeping service. Typically we do store an extra roll in the bathroom vanity but this issue has been brought to the attention of the Housekeeping Manager. When you do return, please note that our Concierge office is open 24 hours a day, so it is never too late to call for additional supplies. We also wish to apologize for your key issues. Magnetic keys are quite sensitive and can easily be deactivated by cell phones and credit cards, yet it is nonetheless inconvenient and for that we apologize. As for the fitness center, we intend to have it completed next year – hopefully it will be ready for your return! We look forward to having the chance to welcome you again, and thank you for choosing the Residences at Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed here for the weekend with our 14 month old daughter. The room was beauitful. There was a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances, beautiful fireplace, and a really nice shower and jacuzzi tub. We wished we could have stayed longer. The prices were every reasonable for the area and the type of accomodations. We will stay here on any return trips we make to Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnymommy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you found your accommodations to be stellar as well as reasonably priced. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our first anniversary in Asheville. It was our first time in Asheville, and we chose the Residences at Biltmore based on a package deal that offered 2-day tickets to the Biltmore and a $50 gift card for a local restaurant. It may not look spectacular from the outside, as we were expecting more of a “hotel” feel, but what a pleasant surprise when we got to our room (a one-bedroom suite). It was definitely a luxury condo, complete with granite countertops and stainless appliances, flat screen televisions, a fireplace, and an amazing bathroom. The concierges were very helpful, and even allowed us to pick-up our Biltmore passes before we checked in later that day. They had great suggestions for what to do in the area. The location of the hotel was amazing – right in between the Biltmore and downtown Asheville. We weren’t able to use the pool, hot tub, and fire pit due to inclement weather, but they looked very nice. We hope to return to Asheville in the fall or holiday season, and we will definitely be staying here again. I highly recommend the Residences at Biltmore as a great spot for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelergirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad that you chose The Residences at Biltmore for such a special occasion. We are delighted that you found your suite to be luxurious, our location convenient and our staff to be helpful. Our Concierge staff is indeed meticulously trained to assist you with making the most of your Asheville vacation, and we are happy to hear that this came across in your experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The place was wonderful. It was Clean. The pool was saline-so much nicer than chlorine. The service great. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wertNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to offer a saline pool for our guests – much better for the environment as well as skin and hair. We strive to provide the best service that we can, and are pleased to hear that you found it to be great. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

100% would go back in a second. high end, luxury condo that obviously didnt sell so they made it into a boutique all suite hotel....the best condo-type suite i have ever stayed in, (i have traveled for work for over 16 years) everything looked like no one has ever stayed int he 2 br suite/sbath....granite kitchen with stainless upgraded appliances, all the thing syou need form organic coffee, nice organic soaps and lotions...plenty of new towls and the kitchen is fully equipped..nice fireplace/gas...huge patio, enormous living room three flat screens, all with dvd players, perfect for the kids, the desk even has a tons of dvds for free, kind and helpful service...only complaint is the floors are very noisy..you hear ever foot step the guests above you make...they know about this and there is nothing that can be done....the pool is huge and nice with a spa but a hike to get up the hill work out room was not open, they made us pay a daily fee at the gym across the street....would go back next year for sure...great value also.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BocaDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations. We actually constructed our property specifically to be a boutique hotel that delivers a high-end experience, and we are pleased to note that you found it as such. We are sorry that you found the pool to be a hike, but please note that there is alternative access that does not require climbing stairs. When you return, we will be sure to assist you in locating it. We are happy though that you did enjoy the space with your kids. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to take full advantage of our well-equipped kitchens as well as the gas fireplace, and are doubly pleased that you found the service to be helpful. We look forward to seeing you again next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2009

First and foremost, this new addition to the Asheville lodging scene is an absolutely fantastic hotel for what it is...a place where you can find smart and sophisticated accommodations, most especially if you are in need of multiple bedrooms. However, if you're seeking a place of pampered indulgence, where there are staff to wait on your every need, I suggest you head elsewhere. But if it's smart and sophisticated you're after, that's where this "all suite" gem is making a name for itself!

My fiance and I are planning a destination wedding and wanted to stay at this hotel to see first hand if it would be the recommended locale where the vast majority of our guests will stay. Based on this visit, the answer is quite simply "Yes"! We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite overlooking the hilltop pool for six nights. It's important to mention the property also offers 2 and 3 bedroom suites, which we also toured, that were equally lovely in all their spaciousness. As Asheville is sadly lacking in larger, multi-room accommodations, this one fits the bill quite nicely. The location is equidistant between Biltmore Estate/Village and downtown Asheville, so it simply can't be beat in terms of convenience. Very reasonable price per night, super comfy king size bed, large bathroom (read LOTS of elbow room) and having a full kitchen along with an in-room washer/drier makes it even more cost effective when it comes to traveling with friends and/or family -- that includes your four-legged furry family as well!

To address the reviews regarding the washer/drier unit; it's a smaller "European" model, and as someone who has spent a fair amount of time in Europe, if you are careful to not overload the machine, the washer will clean your clothes very well. The drying takes longer because it's a condensation unit . Unfortunately, condensation driers ALL take a long time to dry your clothes, it's not an issue with the make/model. Again, having a washer/drier in the room -- one that works quite well -- will be a godsend to many, including myself!

Personal cons? Yes, there are a few -- nothing is perfect after all.

Having a room that overlooked the pool, I must agree with a few other reviewers that sitting on the porch was not the most secluded spot. But that didn't stop us from taking-in the beautiful weather every morning while we sipped our coffee. Yes, a few couples caught a glimpse of us in our PJs, however we all simply bid each other a good morning. It was as simple as that.

It seems a great many people have commented on the noise level. Fortunately, I have nothing to report on that front. We stayed on the top floor and quite frankly heard no-one else while we were there, save a dog I affectionately named "Madame Yapperson" that barked from time to time during the day, but never at night.

On a similar front, I can't say I am 100% on board with the 10pm pool/jacuzzi lock-down (and I mean that quite literally). I don't know if that has to do with the neighbors surrounding the property (yes, this hotel is nestled in/amongst a residential area) or simply a convenience for management -- but a very sizable guest get-together was formally escorted out of the pool area at the strike of 10pm and the gates were locked behind us. Our room overlooked the pool and there was no "noise" heard from that area when people were simply conversing (and laughing) at a normal level. Truth is, you wouldn't even know anyone was up there, until that is, you witnessed people leaving. (The same cannot be said about happy kids using the pool -- they are, as one may expect, a bit more energetic....and loud.) The other suggestion would be for the management to provide a set of plastic tumblers in the rooms. The reason why I say this is because there is a zero-tolerance for glass poolside. I completely understand their reasoning, however it would have been nice to have something we could bring up to the pool already in the room. However, until that happens...be sure to bring or pick-up a set of plastic tumblers to bring with you poolside. Oh, and don't forget to take-in the romantic fire pit too!

Something I have yet to read anyone address is the sleeper sofa. Be warned...the sofa as a sofa is quite comfortable, however as a bed -- HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE!! The mattress is a throw-back to 1977 with its 2in profile. Just climbing-in is a coordinated feet in gymnastics, and sleeping on it?! Let's just say it's a backache waiting to happen! Not good at all -- and I'm still young(er)! There are air mattresses offered as replacements for these dark-age torture devices that are VERY reasonable (and COMFORTABLE) that would allow people to actually sleep without the necessity of a heavy dose of Advil the following morning! I can imagine as more reviews are posted, we'll be hearing a great deal about those wafer-thin mattresses, and people's choices of morning-time pain relief. Yuck! Then again, management might be proactive and replace them immediately. Wouldn't that be nice!

The sleeper sofa aside, all in all, the property is absolutely lovely and I believe it will only grow better with the addition of the on site restaurant and fitness center. Bottom line, my fiance and my family look forward to heading back in October to stay in their 3 bedroom suite -- I'll be sure to rate that stay as well. It will, after all, be the stay that cements the recommendations for our wedding guests in 2010.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wldflwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen700Biltmore, Sales Manager at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Fantastic, smart and sophisticated? Well, thank you! We do strive to provide the best, and we are delighted that you had such a great experience – so much so that you are looking forward to returning to our spacious suites in October, and potentially with your wedding guests next year. We will certainly do all that we can to make sure that you and your guests do indeed feel pampered.

You are definitely correct about the washer and dryer combination. Vent-less dryers can take a while to dry, but if not overloaded, they tend to work fine. As for the pool closing at 10pm, unfortunately there is a city-wide noise ordinance policy that begins at, you guessed it, 10pm for residential areas. Regarding the plastic tumblers, that is a fantastic idea that has been brought to management’s attention. We are so sorry that the sleeper sofa was uncomfortable for you. The sleeper sofa is generally intended for families with children, as we do have roomy Two and Three Bedroom Suites with plenty of comfortable bedding options. We are pleased though, that overall you had a fantastic stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
6.1 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Biltmore

Property: The Residences at Biltmore
Address: 700 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803-2591
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#13 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residences at Biltmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences at Biltmore is an all-suite luxury hotel located in Asheville, North Carolina. This beautiful hotel is set on top of a hill surrounded by timeworn hardwood trees, just outside the gates of the Biltmore Estate in South Asheville. Convenient to Asheville and all of the most sought-after tourism destinations, restaurants and shopping, The Residences at Biltmore is the perfect accommodation for nearly any occasion. Whether you are looking for a unique family vacation destination, a weekend retreat with friends, a romantic mountain getaway or an outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the mountains of North Carolina. Guests may select from Studio, One, Two, and Three Bedroom luxury suites depending on their individual needs. Designed to create a unique "home suite home" experience, each suite features flat-screen televisions, designer bed linens, whirlpool baths, gas fireplaces, private balconies and full kitchens. The on-site health and fitness center is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, and our outdoor recreation area contains a seasonally heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Our exclusive concierge service can help with anything you need throughout the duration of your stay, from arranging transportation services, babysitting, pet-sitting, dry cleaning, gift delivery and grocery shopping to making restaurant reservations, salon and spa appointments or golf tee times. We also offer in-room massage therapy services so guests can experience pampering and relaxation without leaving the comfort of their suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Residences at Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing