We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
birmingham al
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, but pricey”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night in the summer. We wanted to be able to walk downtown for dinner so the 4 Points was especially appealing to us. That being said, the hotel is on the peripherpy of downtown directly adjacent to I-240, so it is convenient location if not truly in the mix. The hotel staff members were friendly. The room was clean and the decor was new. The walls were thin, allowing noise to be relatively easily transmitted. The bed was unusually hard. Our room overlooked the freeway but we heard no traffic noise. All in all it was a fine hotel, but for the price, I may have expected something a little more polished.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckleyMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    302
    224
    98
    49
See reviews for
177
325
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

You can tell this hotel has been remodeled. The decor was very nice with a large flat screen tv. The bed was very comfortable. The pillows were a little on the flat side for me- if you like plumper pillows, bring your own if you can.
In the bathroom, the faucet comes over into the middle of the sink which makes it a little difficult to wash your face. The shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion were good quality.
The pool is outside- no hot tub. It was usually full of children.
The location was great for walking around downtown. I did not notice any other hotels in the downtown area.
The staff were friendly and made good recommendations concerning dinner.
If you stay here, definitely take advantage of the stay 2 nights get the 3rd night free special! I think it would be too expensive otherwise.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, location
  • Disliked — bathroom sink
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PharmGirl in AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

I would ingore other reviews commenting about the decor, they have completely finished remodling and the rooms look just like the picture on their website. You enter the rooms from the inside. I thought everything was lovely and cozy, the beds were super comfortable... but overpriced. You should at least get free breakfast...but you dont!! They only have an outdoor pool (which was full of dead bugs!!) with no jaccuzzi...and it closes at 10. The only reason we stayed here is because they had a promotion (stay 2 nights, get the 3rd free) And it is walking distance to beautiful downtown.

  • Liked — The comfy bed, huge flatscreen tv, and how close it is to downtown.
  • Disliked — the price, no complementary breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimruca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We had one night at the Four Points on 30th April. We turned up without a booking and the staff were very helpful in showing us the potential rooms and providing the best rate.

The hotel has recently undergone a ‘face lift / re-brand’ so all of the fittings in the room were new. Unfortunately the exterior of the hotel looked very dated, and some things had just been overlooked; for example, the windows were old and badly fitting and some of the walls had simply been painted, rather than re-papered or fixed prior to painting – this was a shame as the staff were very proud of their ‘new’ hotel.

The location is good & bad – it’s near the town, but it’s also right next to a busy road – when we saw this I asked for rooms which did not face the road, and the staff obliged and gave us rooms overlooking the roof & air con units – not the best view in the world, but we were only there for one night and didn’t spend too much time in the rooms.

The rooms were spacious enough but the bathrooms were TINY – clean and functional, but still TINY!!! So be aware if you don’t want to bang your head on the towel rail as you get off the loo!!

We ate in the newly opened ‘Chop House’ restaurant – the food was very good, but the service was the worst I’ve ever received in the US. I suspect this will improve as the new staff learn the ropes, but just be aware.

Overall not bad experience, but not one that I plan to repeat.

  • Liked — Newly refurbed rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airedale_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
959 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Address: 22 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Asheville Hotel is located Downtown and offers the convenience of a great location while being nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. We have a committed, lively staff and put our guest's needs first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown Hotel Asheville
Four Points Asheville Downtown
Best Western Asheville
Asheville Four Points
Asheville Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing