We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like sleeping at a construction site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like sleeping at a construction site”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The sign at the front desk asking me to 'pardon their dust' did not prepare me for our experience at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown. The hotel is clearly undergoing major renovations, however this was not indicated on their web site or that of their parent company Starwood at the time we made our reservation. While the condition of the common areas was an unexpected disappointment, it wasn't until the final night of our stay that I considered them having failed at the most basic responsibility of a hotel: providing a place to sleep.

On the morning of 6/23, we were awoken by the sound of construction equipment being used across the hall from our room and loud conversations among the workers congregating outside our door, fewer than five feet away. Drop cloths were laid out in the hallway to protect the carpet from the dust in the air, and we had to navigate around the tools and pieces of wood left in the middle of the floor as we rushed to leave the room.

We made our extreme displeasure with this situation known to the front desk agent but were only offered a brief apology and have not yet been contacted by the hotel manager or Starwood. Perhaps complaints like this are so common that they aren't considered to be worth following up on.

I can't imagine why they would, without advance warning, put anyone in a room across the hall from loud construction projects, especially given that our full-price reservation was made several weeks in advance. We would have been better off staying in a significantly cheaper hotel or motel, and I strongly encourage you to do so if that option is available.

Uploaded photos taken from the doorway of our room room show the condition of the hallway during a brief moment of quiet.

Room Tip: Apparently you have to request a room away from construction projects. This shouldn't be necess...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I am sorry that you are displeased. perhaps we can have you back once we are finished with our progress. Until then, take care.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    299
    217
    98
    45
See reviews for
176
319
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our room was comfortable however they were doing renovations on the fifth floor and thankfully the workers stopped at 6pm as they were noisy. If you wanted to sleep in - you were out of luck as they started work again around 9 am. When checking in, we were early and thankfully they let us check in early, however I asked for a room not facing the interstate, and they gave me a room facing the interstate. Luckily it was not extremely noisy and I could sleep as I am a light sleeper and need quiet. the room had been renovated i think as it was quite nice. Beds were comfortable and I slept good. 2 bottles of water were free. The manager had left a note on the door on that floor that we could all have a free breakfast buffet in the morning for the inconvenience of the work being done, and that being said, thank goodness we didn't have to pay for it. The food was good, but they ran out of eggs and we had to wait for that and then for the bacon. Took awhile to get a refill on the coffee. It wasn't even that busy so not sure why the wait staff was so slow. We walked downtown and the front staff was nice and gave a map and it was very helpful. Would probably stay again BUT next time I would like a room that I asked for!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a floor that is not going thru a renovation
See more room tips
Green Features: The room could have been a bit cooler, hard to get the temp just right
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sewingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feed back. We hope that we can have you back when we are finished fixing up. Until then take care.

Best Regards,

Four Points
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

DO NOT stay at this hotel. We checked in a couple of weekends ago with our dogs around 8:30 pm and then walked to a nearby restaurant. When we arrived back at the hotel, an hour and a half later, we walked into our hotel room to find our dogs GONE! I was HORRIFIED. After going into hysterics; crying and frantically looking for my dogs, my husband and I rushed down to the front desk. We told them who we were and they non-chalantly looked at us and said, "Oh, yeah, we took your dogs." I was in coimplete shock. NO PHONE CALL, NO NOTE, NO VOICE MESSAGE ON OUR PHONE. They walked into our room, removed our dogs, took our 4 month OUT of her cage, and placed them god knows where while we were gone. Their reasong: one of our dogs were barking. Is this not a pet-friendly hotel? Do you not expect a dog to bark every once in a while?? The female attendant on duty then looked at me and said, "Well they aren't your children, so stopping acting like they are." I was mortified that they not only took our most precious belongings out of our room, without permission, but they also had the worst attutude and were so terribly rude. i couldn't believe this was happening. We then packed our things immediately, turned in our keys, and pack our car. After packing our car up, we then asked for a refund for such a horrific experience. Cesar, the night manager, explained there was no way we were recieving a refund. In the meantime, they had called the cops on us. I was then mortified to the core. I am an educator of North Carolina, whom has never been rude or mean to anyone in my life, and these people took my pets from my hotel room and then called the cops on us. The cops explained that there was nothing they could do, for either side, and so we ended up driving all the way back home (6 hours). We arrived home at 3 am that morning.

THEY DO HAVE A PET POLICY WHICH STATES:

If a dog is being disruptive to others they will do the following:

1. Verbal Warning
2. $50 fine in addition to the pet fee
3. Manager's Discretion to ask you to leave

Where were these steps? Why did no one contact us (and they had 2 cell numbers to contact us, which we had on us). What if our dogs were aggressive or showed territorial behavior? What if our dogs had health issues in which they needed to stay in our room?

I contacted corporate with this complaint and they informed me someone would get back to me within 5 days.....it is now 15. They DO NOT CARE. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I am sorry that this is how you feel. Emotions aside, we have a responsibility to all of our guests. We received several complaints about the dogs in question. I do not believe that this is reasonable to accuse in a false manner. In regards to the ability to contact you (We were given an incorrect number) making it impossible to reach you. The dogs in question were extremely disruptive and caused issues for several guests. I understand this is sensitive for you, but in the future when on vacation; perhaps it would be more beneficial to board the dogs in a kennel, rather than leave them in a strange place to disturb everyone around you. When we have to comp rooms due to a disruptive guest; the disruptive guest holds some liability. In the future when traveling please be respectful to the guests around you, and issues like this will not happen. We do care, which is why we asked you to leave. Take care and good luck on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Asheville hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I agree with most of the other reviewers online. The location of this hotel is why we picked it. Walking distance from the downtown area. The rooms and common areas were small and very old and in definite need of a renovation especially considering the price-tag on the room. The room cleanliness was below average but the bed was quite comfortable. We didn't really mind so much because we spent very little time in the room. The staff was a bit odd but then so is everyone in Asheville. I would probably try another location for a our next weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bed-lessBirthdayBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well it must be that the location is the big draw here because the facilities do not measure up with a $210/nite hotel room. We stayed on the lower level which had been renovated but was not much to look at in the way of decor. At least it was clean. Definitely will spend a little extra next time and stay at a more comfortable place with a better view (ours was of the parking lot)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1ababychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Pros:
-The location was ideal. Walking distance to all downtown attractions.
-Safe neighborhood.
-beds were comfortable, lots of pillows
-lots of counter space in room
- lighting in bathroom was great
-pool
-fitness center was well equipped and free bottled water

Cons
-bed frames were just 2x4s
-limited outlets and not accessible
-ac worked but humidity level never changed.
-room not sound proof, very loud
-tub facet did not stop leaking when turning on shower and not securely installed
-water took a long time to warm up
-sink was small with an inconvenient facet
-hotel was under construction and clearly needed work
-there was only one working elevator, took forever and was dark
-cleaning staff was loud and not helpful

Overall not worth the discounted price we paid. Could be great with better management and interior improvements.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location is very good. Accommodation is basic but rooms large, reasonably equipped (microwave and fridge for example) and good value. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Parking free. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review. I hope that all is well and that we see back soon.

Best Regards,

Four Points- Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Address: 22 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Asheville Hotel is located Downtown and offers the convenience of a great location while being nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. We have a committed, lively staff and put our guest's needs first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown Hotel Asheville
4 Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Four Points Asheville Downtown
Best Western Asheville
Asheville Sheraton
Asheville Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing