We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So adorable and delicious food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aberdeen Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aberdeen Inn
Ranked #31 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Patrick Air Force Base, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So adorable and delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights. The home was full of antiques. I fell in love with the porch the moment we pulled up. Our bed was huge and our room had a view of the mountains. Now the food, oh my! The breakfast was phenomenal! I mean it! It was the best quiche I have EVER had. We cannot wait to go back! It was quiet and clean. They helped us pick restaurants, and they were right! There are midweek specials and you definitely get what you pay for... but in this case, more!

Room Tip: Mountain View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
45
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, unpretentious inn in Asheville, Aberdeen Inn is a great choice. This was our second visit and, quite frankly, we went back for the food. Tom is a master chef and Michelle is a very talented pastry chef, meaning the breakfasts are awesome. Our second favorite thing is the huge wraparound porch. After you have finished your sightseeing, nothing beats coming back to the inn, pouring yourself a complimentary beer or glass of wine and finding a comfy seat on the porch with a book.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker or enjoy an occasional cigar, the rooms that open onto the back deck are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The trip to Asheville was amazing and it all started at the Aberdeen Inn. Tom and Michele were great hosts and made some yummy breakfast. The complimentary beer and wine is a perk. If you are looking for a cozy place just outside of Asheville with great hosts, this is it. Sean & Dayami.

Room Tip: Mt laurel has nice outside patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are used to and expect a classy, upscale B&B then don't go to the Aberdeen. If you are ok with above average accommodations, good location, good breakfast and a character almost out of a reality show then go to the Aberdeen.

Positives: the location is fine. Not sure what others are talking about. Close to downtown and safe. Porch on the front is great for relaxing. Our friends and I had the rooms that you can exit to the back-porch and that was nice. There is also a swing outside. The food was good to very good. If you like interacting with characters then Tom is delightful. Yes, a bit quirky and proud of his skills, but funny in a good way as well. Almost like that uncle at Christmas you are happy to see once a year and happy to hit the road after seeing. Bed slept well. Very large. Price was reasonable. Michelle cut off 10$ or so because we brought our friends who also had a room.

The wine was cheap but again if you are expecting great wine go somewhere else and pay more. The fridge was full of beer and soft drinks. I liked having water outside my room. The coffee was great. Michelle was delightful as were her baked goods. She was the aunt you enjoyed seeing at Christmas and didn't want to leave.

Also - I agree that they gave good recs for places.

Negatives: Our sink drain was also quirky. I finally realized that you had to pull up a piece to get it to drain. Our remote didn't work. They kept trying to fix it. There were folks working at different times but we interacted with them and that actually added to the charm. This will not be the case for everyone.

I did get chastised for turning the light off in the hall at night. Tom did apologize because we came in late and didn't get his normal speech. I'm surprised after reading the reviews that he hasn't learned some things about his personality.

If you don't like tight places or clutter this is not the place for you.

Would I stay there again? Maybe, probably not. Would I visit Tom and Michelle again? Yes, I think.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Aberdeen Inn is a mixed bag with some very strong positives and some definite needs for improvement. We found it through rave reviews on the Internet, and had not quite expected what we got -- some things were exceptional and some things disappointed. When we first arrived, we were wishing we had booked elsewhere, but as time there passed, we grew much happier with the Aberdeen Inn. I’ll start with the negatives, but be sure to read through the review to the positives, which are significant.

As we drove into the inn's neighborhood, we felt that it was not the best – just a little bit junky and unkempt. Our arrival got off to a bad start when Tom, the innkeeper, didn't greet us with a "Welcome, happy to have you here!", but rather greeted us with "Well, you parked in my driveway!" It was raining lightly, and we had parked under the covered entrance to unload. Guests need to understand Tom's sarcastic personality and not take it personally. As we were registering, I peered into the living room and Tom asked, "May I help you?" in such an accusing tone that we felt that this room must be off limits to Aberdeen guests. Now understand that Tom's wife was off on a business trip during our stay, so the ”feminine influence” that was so absent in our two days in the Inn may very well warm up the normal reception of guests.

The Inn (B&B) is rather cluttered with "excess stuff" and too much furniture. It could use a good interior decorator to de-clutter and refresh. It's showing the need for repair, as paint is peeling in places, floors are squeaking excessively, and many cracks were appearing in the rough-texture plaster walls of our bedroom. A hole in the plaster ceiling of our room where a light fixture had once resided remained un-patched.

The Rose Room where we stayed had a closet converted into a bathroom, and it was surely closet-sized. Our feet were in the shower when we were sitting on the toilet, but the toilet would also not pass the building codes in my town for its extreme closeness to the wall on one side. We sat at an angle, and so did others judging from the loose toilet seat that then was able to angle itself to the position of the user. The sink is a very small 10" bowl that appears to be constructed of stained concrete, although the chips and stains in this bowl and in the concrete shower floor left the original finish in some doubt. There is virtually no counter space in the bathroom, but this is not all that uncommon in converted B&B's. Conventional bathroom plumbing fixtures were non-existent, but were replaced with outdoor sprinkler gate valves requiring 1080 degrees of rotation to turn them fully on. The rough copper plumbing came out of the ceiling in the shower, and out of the wall for the sink, and the copper pipe itself serves as the sink spigot. It’s this, as well as the nature of the proprietor, that causes me to call this place "quirky." Some people may find this bathroom a positive, labeling it "unique" or “artsy” or "back-to-basics." Interestingly, none of the bathrooms in other rooms had these unique features, but rather had conventional fixtures, although the bathrooms and their fixtures were also very small.

Our bedroom was packed with too much furniture. We had an antique desk, but no desk chair with which to use it. We had a huge Barcalounger style chair and ottoman, as well as a large upholstered chaise lounge and an upholstered bench at the foot of the bed. The massive canopied king bed was gorgeous, although the mattress was in need of replacement and the sheets were showing there age in wear. We also found a dead silverfish between the sheets, but just interred him into the wastebasket. An armoire, full-length standing mirror, and two nightstands filled up the room. There was little storage space even for luggage, so we placed the large decorative pillows from the bed on top of the armoire, and so much dust flew info the air that we dared not move the pillows again.

At 7 a.m. each morning, Tom squeaked up the old wooden stairway to place a pot of hot coffee on a narrow serving table for his guests. Now my wife felt that this was some of the BEST coffee she had ever tasted (she is a coffee connoisseur, preferring dark and strong roasts, whereas I’ve never acquired the taste for coffee). Breakfast was served anytime within a specified half-hour window, which provides nice flexibility for guests. Tom is a trained and experienced master chef, and culinary aficionados will truly appreciate his breakfast creations. He buys fresh ingredients and knows his food well in selecting the morning's menu. The presentation is exquisite and the taste tantalizing; Tom is certainly in his element in the kitchen. Tom really warmed up to us when he was in the kitchen, describing all of the food we were eating in great detail. He also is sensitive to personal likes and dislikes, adjusting the following day's menu accordingly, even preparing individually customized servings for a guest’s particular desires. Tom told us that he was preparing a very early morning breakfast for the next day’s guests, as they had to be at an early business meeting – this is amazing flexibility for a B&B that you would not get in most establishments.

Tom also advised us on getting tickets to the Biltmore Estate through AAA that saved us significant money, and gave us sage advice on good and mere mediocre restaurants in Asheville.

My bottom line -- go for the food! When you go to most any B&B, you expect smaller rooms and some quirkiness. As soon as this Inn’s proprietors correct some of easy to fix deficiencies, this can become a first class place to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
We thank the guests for their comments and apologize for the manner inwhich they were greeted and the tone of voice at the check in. Now it is a very old house and it does have creeks that cannot be changed - the floors. All the other cracks are being corrected as qickly as we can accomplish it. The Rose room bathroom is small as it was a closet before the conversion in 1978. Without removing a fireplace and chimnet to gain space little can be done. We try to fore warn guests when they are making a reservation of its size and uniqueness. Some people like more furniture and some less. The padded bench is most often used as the luggage stand. The dust on the top of the amoire is unexusable and housekeeping personnel will be reminded of the necessity to keep the area clean. We are very apreciative of the guests comments regaring breakfast. We also hope that they will give us a second chance in the future in a different room with a larger bath, Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Aberdeen Inn is very cozy. The breakfasts are good but very sweet, and unusual (no eggs yet). The one thing guests should be warned about who are about to come and stay here in mid-to-late October (and later?) is that a new roof is being put on, causing a lot of noise-- hammers banging, etc-- and strong smell of paint fumes in the bedrooms. We understand that this work needs to be done, but we should have been warned in advance, so that we could make a decision about staying here while loud construction is ongoing. Or we should have been offered a discount. Since the owners seem not to be alerting guests about this beforehand, I thought it might be helpful for soon-to-arrive guests to know this.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The room that my husband and I stayed in was clean and cozy. This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. The location was wonderful close to everything. However, after reading many reviews about the chef we were thoroughly disappointed. We had no choice in what our meal was the coffee was terrible, everything seemed microwaved and we both left hungry and ended up going out to eat breakfast. We had expected options as to what we would able to eat not the case we ended up with a wierd quiche with marinara sauce. Yuck! The location and room were good but for the price tag breakfast was truly hopeless.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macycruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
We are very sorry that our guests were disappointed in the breakfast. As is the case in most B&Bs there is not choice at breakfast. In our case we first gather any information pretaining to dietary needs so as to prevent any problems.(allergies, "don't eats" etc0 It is our prctice to run a savory breakfast(egg dishes) one day and sweet breakfast the next.(pancakes, waffles, feench taost). All breakfasts are made fresh each day - sometimes if timing is off we will not keep something under warming lights too long and therefore may have to bring it back to temperature in a microwave. This prevents drying out of the entree. Our coffee is brewed on the strong side which has become the desire of most guests. All things considered we are happy to try and accommodate any guests needs. In this case, nothing was mentioned us while they were here and for that we are also very sorry. We hope these guests will grant us another opportunity in the future and be more open about their desires. Thank you Tom the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#18 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Inn

Property: Aberdeen Inn
Address: 64 Linden Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing