We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey place with friendly hosts”
Review of Aberdeen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdeen Inn
Ranked #29 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Innkeepers Tom and Michele want their guests to feel at home. They are welcoming and friendly, quick with a beverage and great recommendations. The Aberdeen isn't likely to get a spread in "Inn Beautiful" (if there is such a magazine), but it's clean and comfy enough, well located and very homey. Breakfast is clearly a point of pride and rightly so. Tom is a chef and likes to offer something special (this isn't just eggs and toast!). Clean your plate and you won't need lunch. At $50 less a night than other Asheville B&Bs, Aberdeen is a solid choice.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank GLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2008

We spent 3 days in Asheville at the Aberdeen Inn in their suite (a small 2 room cottage behind the main house). The Inn is well located and the rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques. But the highlight for us were the outstanding breakfasts. Tom Boyle is a master chef and worked for many years as a chef in private industry. He created delicious, hot breakfasts each morning after carefully consulting with each guest about their food preferences. Michele, his wife, is the baker in the family and breakfast also included her creations. Both Tom and Michele were very helpful in answering any questions we had about Asheville and helped make our stay a very enjoyable oe.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrandjbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

The Aberdeen Inn is under new ownership. Bob and his wife have been there for a little over a year and the effort they are putting in is very clear. My fiancee and I were arriving late to Asheville and needed an inn. I called the Aberdeen at 5 that evening and they were able to accommodate us for 9 pm the same night, a huge relief! When we arrived, there was wine and beer for us. Bob gave us directions to the best barbecue available. When he found out that my fiancee had to leave at 5 am the next morning, he also made sure to get up to make us fresh coffee and a yogurt parfait. At 5 in the morning! He even generously offered to drive him to the airport. When I returned, there was a gourmet pancake breakfast and a nice chat with Bob about the renovations he's done. The effort really shows in this inn. When I left, Bob gave me a hug and I felt like family. I really can't say enough for the hospitality at the Aberdeen Inn. I recommend it highly!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BostonTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Some of the reviews on here are from before the new owners Michelle and Tom took over. We had a very pleasant week long stay for our honeymoon. Tom and Michelle were very hospitable and accommodating. The breakfasts are amazing!! Tom is an exceptional chef! The rooms are cozy and cute, it felt like home, but with a five star chef included. The price is very reasonable for being so close to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DfwLauralynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We stayed here for one night and booked only a couple of days in advance. We had no trouble finding the place and we did not think that the neighborhood was bad, just established. The Inn was a little dated in some respects and a little cluttered, I would agree with that. However, the rates that the Aberdeen charges coupled with the proximity to downtown Asheville and the absolutely phenomenal breakfast make this a wonderful value. Our rate was below what most standard hotels were charging for the weekend. Don't book the Aberdeen if you expect the Grove Park Inn. I recommend the Willow Room!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank slstew50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2006

Tranquil, peaceful, the Aberdeen Inn was just what my spouse and I were looking for in weekend retreat. Frequent visitors to Asheville and the surrounding area, on this trip we wanted a quiet get-a-way for the Easter holiday with convenient access to downtown, and we truly discovered it here.

While we had read other’s reviews regarding their experiences at the Aberdeen prior to our visit, we let our own experience unfold without preconceptions. We reserved the “Foxglove” room and found both the room and the bed itself to be extremely comfortable, as was the Inn as a whole. Early risers, we took advantage of the beautiful weather that weekend to enjoy watching the sunrise come over the mountains while sipping coffee on the front porch.

During our stay, the only animal we encountered on the grounds (other than squirrels and goldfish) was an affectionate neighborhood cat missing its tail, whom we naturally dubbed “Bob.” The surrounding neighborhood itself was surprisingly quiet, both day and night, with zero foot traffic. We never felt ill-at-ease regarding our safety or the overall safety of the neighborhood.

Bonnie is a wonderful chef (the breakfasts were exquisite) and hostess and we truly felt at home there, almost as though we were visiting family. We found the Aberdeen Inn to be safe, relaxed and non-pretentious. My wife and I intend to return to the Inn in the fall and would recommend it to our family and friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
15
Reviewed 23 March 2006

My husband & I frequent Asheville and took a chance at the Abredeen Inn. We had misgivings before reaching the Inn. Unfortunately, the Aberdeen is located in a decaying urban neighborhood, although the Inn itself is one of the few bright spots in otherwise lackluster surroundings.

Pulling into the narrow unpaved stone driveway required some careful navigation. Luckily, our car isn't too large, but those with SUV's will have trouble. Entering the charming old home, we took note of the large wrap-around porch. Later we discovered this serves as the smoking area. Often. As we met Bonnie, we were also greeted by her over-protective hound. For those visitors that have an aversion to dander/hair/barking, be forewarned.. the Aberdeen (and it's unusual family) are avid animal lovers. To the detriment of us two-legged wanderers.

Inside, the rooms are adequately furnished. Although the Inn has suffered through its 100+ year history, it remains in fair condition. Guests will enjoy the wonderful meals, but we wondered what grade the inspector would assess to the kitchen. Clutter was the theme, yet Bonnie overcame the surroundings and prepared a memorable meal for the assorted guests & family.

Family and friends come and go freely at the Inn. For those seeking and unusual mix of pets, adult children, alternative lifestyles, and empty wine bottles, the Aberdeen is your kind of place. We were somewhat concerned, never really knowing who was 'OK' and who was a curious neighborhood vagrant inspecting the parking area. As with any vacation, keep an eye on your valuables! We had no troubles, but were uneasy with the surroundings.

My husband & I did enjoy our getaway, but will stay in a more rural B&B for our next mountain visit. Perhaps the urban surroundings will improve over the next few years, but for now the Aberdeen isn't as charming as we had hoped.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#22 of 39 in Asheville
742 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 39 in Asheville
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Inn

Address: 64 Linden Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £117 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aberdeen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing