We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and peaceful inn”
Review of Albemarle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albemarle Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2008

My wife and I have stayed in many inns and B & B's throughout the nation. The Albemarle ranks as one of our favorites. The location was perfect and easily accessible. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

What we especially liked was the hands off policy. We were never bothered by the staff, and yet they were always there to help us in anything we needed, from a dinner reservation to directions. The breakfasts were rich, indulgent and innovative.

The rooms were tastefully done in the period, impeccably clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SleeperLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2008

The Albemarle Inn presents a charming and restful environment, particularly after a full day of visiting all the sights that Asheville and the Biltmore Estates have to offer. The owners, Cathy and Larry, are wonderful and will provide all the insider information on places to visit that only the locals would know about - to include the Fiddlin' Pig. BBQ and a show for $6.00. We couldn't stop laughing and the children "danced" center stage. But back to the Albemarle, their website accurately describes the property - much more than someone's large house they turned into a B&B. It has character galore, spacious, and clean. Beautiful landscaping (thanks to Larry's willingness to pick up a shovel), and a large, covered veranda to enjoy it all. I can't think of anything else they could do to improve this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

From the check-in to check out our stay at the Albemarle Inn was a pleasant experience. The young ladies who met us at the door gave us a wonderful tour of the Inn and good advice on the events of the Inn. Our room was large and spacious with beautiful antique furniture. The shower was a bit small for me but excellent for my wife. Breakfast were well prepared and tasty and the coffee was excellent. The service was impeccable and extremely friendly. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Coach22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

This charming B@B exceded our expectations by providing my wife and I with a very warm staff who were always available to enrich our Ashville experience. The B@B itself is drop dead gorgeous with guest driven amenities aplenty. Located at the end of a culdesac and bordered by other historic homes, this location is both charming and peaceful.

The morning meals were always a culinary experience handcrafted by the local staff and served in a lovely dining room never to be forgotten.......i highly encourage all to consider this B@B if visiting Ashville.

Bruce and Dee (brucedeeann@hotmail.com)
Oxnard, Ca.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Edgar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

This place was great, I don't know much about the other B&B's in the area, but I did my research before picking this one. The house and grounds are beautiful - you can tell the age and the house has settled a bit but it is great.

The breakfast area is fantastic, make sure you get there early to get the table in the baywindow. The food is good too.

The room was great, clean, nice style.

Highly recommend this place when staying in Asheville.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

My husband and I were looking for a special place to celebrate our anniversary. We found it at the Albemarle. Entering the inn was a trip back to another era ... one that reflected elegance and gentillity. Our room was beautifully furnished and appointed. The bath had all of the expected comforts and breakfast was the best we've had at any bed and breakfast. In addition the staff was friendly and most cooperative. All in all ... a five star rating!

Stayed: January 2008
Thank mfmrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

I have been to Asheville many times, but this was my first visit to the Albemarle Inn and it will not be my last. I have stayed many times at the Grove Park Inn, and although it is a lovely property, the value, atmosphere and attention at the Albemarle Inn can not be surpassed. This will be my first choice for my future visits to Asheville. Everything is fabulous - the owners/staff could not be more courteous, breakfast was superb and the rooms are heavenly (we stayed in Vanity Fair). You are missing out if you do not stay at the Albemarle Inn!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank Tarheel1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
717 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
#24 of 39 in Asheville
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 39 in Asheville
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albemarle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albemarle Inn

Address: 86 Edgemont Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-1544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £127 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albemarle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA 4-Diamond romantic period mansion offers elegant guest rooms with pampering down duvets and fine linens, antique soaking tubs (or 2-person whirlpool) with fragrant bath products. Enjoy a 3-course breakfast at private tables on the sunporch and afternoon refreshments on the veranda or by the fire. Minutes to Biltmore, downtown restaurants and shops and The Blue Ridge Parkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albemarle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing