We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Albemarle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albemarle Inn
Ranked #25 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a wonderful place! The Inn itself is a grand old home and is well kept up. Bartok even stayed there for awhile, adding some historical interest. It is in a great neighborhood, not far from downtown Asheville. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Room and loved it. Rosemary, one of the innkeepers was so generous with her time, giving directions and pointing out places to eat. Breakfasts were berry good, especially the baked french toast. Could not have asked for a better get-a-way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mpfilippello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    43
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
76
476
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at the Albermarle recently and had a great experience. The Inn is about 100 years old (great history). It is beautiful, extremely well maintained/spotless. Our room was very comfortable as was the bedding. While i never met Fabrizio, i spoke with him while making my reservation, he was very accommodating and nice. His wife Rosemary was also great, she could not have been a better host to me and my son. It turns out, my son will now be living in Asheville, and no doubt I'll be staying there on my future visits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Everything at the Albemarle Inn is perfect starting with the drive through the neighborhood of beautiful homes all uniquely decorated and landscaped. When you arrive at the Inn you are greeted by a quaint sign and a short drive to the side of the home. This allows you a picturesque view of the Inns massive white columns with flanking trees, wide porch and beautiful front lawn. You arrive at the side entry which gives one a familiar feel rather than that of a guest and the entry leads into a beautiful dark wooden foyer with a fireplace, sitting area and staircase leading up to the second and third floors.
The Inn offers social hour a time to visit with other guests in the house each day as well as breakfast each morning. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the main foyer area by the fireplace or in the sunroom. Both are lovely. Breakfast was delicious each day. It is never hurried and you leave feeling very very satisfied. We dined on eggs Benedict the first morning and a French Toast Souflee the second which was out if this world. Breakfast is three courses starting with a fresh fruit, the main meal and then something sweet to follow such as a Madeline or a fresh scone. Additionally we had juice and coffee as well. If you are too full, as we were, Ashley, one of our gracious staff, offers to wrap it up for you for later! All of the breakfast is cooked by Rosemary, the Innkeeper, who is always present for questions or needs.
We stayed in the Ribbons and Roses room. The decor was very quaint. The bed was unbelievabably comfortable with the softest linens. We had a fireplace in our room which we utilized every night and the room was perfect! We had a small sitting area with two chairs off to the side. We did not have direct access to the porch but being that it was a winter month we found that this wasn't terribly important to us. We had a small fan with us so if there were any squeaks etc we were not bothered by them at all. All in all, I have been to many B & B's and Inn's and I found Albemarle Inn to be quite charming and quaint and anything it may have lacked is certainly made up by the friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I have a tradition of spending the holidays at a Bed and Breakfast. We started a few years back on the West Coast in McLoud, CA and have since worked our way around the country to New Hampshire, New Orleans and now Asheville.

I can say that The Albermarle Inn tops our list of holiday adventures. Very well located in a beautiful neighborhood of Asheville with gorgeous rooms and exceptional service, the inn exceeded every expectation we had of a romantic holiday get-away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We thank you so much for this great review of our home, the Albemarle Inn! We enjoyed meeting you both during your stay, and especially enjoyed our chats in the guest kitchen!
Thank you again, and we hope to see you sometime in the future. We hope you might consider not only a Holiday vacation, but perhaps for a Summer or Foliage visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I spent four wonderful days in this gorgeous Inn.
We came to Asheville to visit an area that we didn't know and, mostly, to see the Biltmore Estate. The elegance of this Inn made us think back to our visit at the Estate. As soon as you enter you find yourself in a marvellous living room with a sumptuous wooden staircase and a warm and welcoming fireplace.
The Innkeepers Rosemary and Fabrizio couldn't be more nice and helpful, their breakfast, served in a very elegant porch, is unforgettable.
Our room was the Sunrise Suite, with a joyful sunporch, and we couldn't ask for more. It was spacious, comfortable and very quiet.
We will definitely be back to stay in an Inn that we consider the Bentley of the Inns!
Thanks Rosemary and Fabrizio. Great job!

Roberta and Claudio

Room Tip: The Sunrise Suite is the best you can have
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about the Albemarle Inn! Despite the unusually cold weather, we're glad that your spirits were up during your stay with us, and that you enjoyed visitng the Biltmore and many of the other area sites. We sincerely hope that you can return in better weather, perhaps to see the blooming flower gardens of Biltmore in the Spring, or the area's hiking trails and lush mountain waterfalls and lakes in Summertime. Or maybe just sit on our Veranda with an evening aperitif!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Albermarle is a fabulous old mansion and a great bed stay if you love historical homes. The innkeepers have a great collection of menus and local activities and can help guests navigate the Biltmore. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast very good. Price is not for the feint of heart but you have to pay to play in the big leagues and this house can certainly command the price. We would experience other great homes in the area but we would come back to Albermarle as well

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spiegs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a complimentary review of your short stay with us ! Glad you enjoyed the Biltmore house as well. It was our pleasure trying to help you and your children make the most of your brief visit to Asheville. We wish you good luck in the college search and we hope to see you back at the Albemarle someday, perhaps for a more relaxing getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My fiance and I spent several days reviewing various bed and breakfast inns in the area before settling on Albemarle Inn. From the moment we walked up, we knew we made the right choice. From the beautiful house, to the most welcoming and friendly staff. It felt like coming to visit old friends and the location was excellent as well. Definitely would recommend and will be using again.

Room Tip: Recommend staying above the ground floor. Can get busy with people in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarleinnkeepers, Manager at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful reviewn of our home, the Albemarle Inn! We're so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay....and your suggestion of a room above the first floor is a good one. You stayed with us on a very busy day over the holidays, and there can be some noise heard in the first floor rooms when we have so many other guests about. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
870 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albemarle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albemarle Inn

Property: Albemarle Inn
Address: 86 Edgemont Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-1544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albemarle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA 4-Diamond romantic period mansion offers elegant guest rooms with pampering down duvets and fine linens, antique soaking tubs (or 2-person whirlpool) with fragrant bath products. Enjoy a 3-course breakfast at private tables on the sunporch and afternoon refreshments on the veranda or by the fire. Minutes to Biltmore, downtown restaurants and shops and The Blue Ridge Parkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albemarle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing