We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top-Notch B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have nothing but positives to write about Applewood Manor. My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs over the years, but none has topped this one! From its ideal location (a quiet neighborhood near a park and within walking distance of downtown) to its beautifully appointed bedrooms (ours was the York Imperial Room) and common areas to the delicious and ample breakfasts, everything was top drawer. At least as important are its gracious hosts, Nancy and Larry Merrill, who make every guest feel like a member of the family, but also like a VIP. Applewood Manor will certainly be our B&B of choice whenever we return to Asheville, at least as long as the Merrills are its innkeepers!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanderhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was exactly what I hoped it would be and more. Beautiful setting and such great attention to detail in everything they do. Thanks for the special room you gave us! Loved sitting on the porches drinking wine. Of course the food was the best. Wish we lived closer to come often

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CpawT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I reseved a room at the Applewood Manor for a wedding I was attending in Asheville.
Nancy & Larry are the innkeepers and were exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts.
The Applewood is a very beautiful home in an equally beautiful neighborhood. It is an easy 15 minute walk to the center of town. The facilities and breakfast were very nice. I recommend this place to all my friends now.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conroymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 fantastic nights at Applewood Manor in June 2014. We felt Nancy and Larry could not do enough to make our stay as good as possible. The room and balcony was splendid, and we could use the house as our own. The 3 course breakfast was the best we got during our 18 days in the USA. They also hjelped us with information about Asheville and the area, and also were to stay when we went on to Washington. We recommend Applewood with all our heart.
Regards from Norway, Arnhild and Ole

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved Applewood Manor. Very comfortable room, great breakfast, and happy hour was nice. Nancy and Larry have great personalities and make their guests feel relaxed and at home. The wonderful hammock was relaxing. Enjoyed the 20-minute walk to downtown Asheville and it is nice to enjoy dinner without having to drive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We absolutely loved Apple Wood Manor Inn. Nancy and Larry have thought of everything to make their guests feel relaxed and at home. The sweeping lawn has a wonderful hammock and we enjoyed playing horse shoes on the lawn. Many special amenities are available: numerous movies on DVD, soft drinks and snacks all day every day, games to play and wine and cheese in the evenings. The Winesap Suite is romantic and quiet, tucked away in a cozy attic. The soaking tub is heavenly! They have found the perfect balance of being there when you need them, but also giving you total privacy. Maid service is great! Breakfasts are amazing: home made lemon bread, granola, Dutch Baby - a special treat every morning! Bravo and we hope to return!

Room Tip: Each room is beautiful and individual but we loved the huge Winesap Suite with soaking tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had an amazing time at Applewood!! Larry, the innkeeper, was very friendly and eager to do anything to make our stay pleasant. Our room was extremely clean and we were given chocolates on our pillow each day as well as fresh ice in our room. The breakfasts were amazing and plentiful! Each afternoon there is a wine and cheese happy hour which we enjoyed immensely. We would definitely stay again and recommend it highly!!

Room Tip: All rooms were magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
887 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,374 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £181 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing