We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic birthday surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most romantic birthday surprise!”
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Nancy helped my boyfriend plan a memorable, romantic weekend that left me breathless! She greeted us warmly and answered questions about the area and dining without causing us to feel we were troublesome. We stayed in the Winesap Suite which couldn't have been more perfect! There was nothing we were without. The room was spacious yet intimate and the bathroom was perfect for the high-maintenance girlie-girl that I am! There was happy hour with wine and cheese, and the caliber of the breakfasts exceeded any other inn we've been to. The B&B is located on a lovely piece of property in an historic section of town on a quiet street, yet still within easy access to downtown Asheville. Also, we never felt we had to worry about what time we returned at night - no matter how late! Nancy and Larry are quite gracious and friendly, and their little dogs are adorable and affectionate. Some of the fabulous recipes are available on their website; Nancy makes her own lavendar linen fragrance available in an atomizer in each guest room; and there are even souvenirs with the Applewood Manor logo. There's plenty of history in the house, too - including Nancy's own family history. I most highly recommend this charming B&B to other couples. As a traveler enjoying a romantic getaway, I would have been quite disturbed had there been families with noisy, active children. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
477
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The Inn was located in a historic and quiet area of Asheville. Larry and Nancy really did a wonderful job on the home renovations as well as the grounds. The greeting we received was so warm, friendly and made to feel right at home. We stayed in a pet friendly cottage on the property that offered privacy, a jaccui tub, wet bar, comfy bed and flat screen TV. The breakfasts are made from scratch and out of this world. this was our first time at a B&B so did not know what to expect but all the guest were wonderful. It felt alot like family. There is so much to do downtown or outdoors, we definitely will be going back. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We travel and stay at bed and breakfasts quite frequently...this place is by far one of the best inns we have had the pleasure of enjoying while away from home. Nancy and Larry are wonderful hosts with great care to the even smallest of details. We felt pampered, at home and very relaxed. The food each morning was always a home-made gourmet breakfast that always came with Nancy's one of a kind varieties of bread... very yummy! At the end of our stay, my husband said he just wanted to move in! This is a special place set on a gorgeous property and carefully tended by two wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmncriste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Nancy and Larry do absolutely everything to make guests welcome and comfortable The breakfasts are huge and delicious, the rooms and setting are beautiful. They recommended great places to see and the MOST incredible French restaurant. Would go back there in an instant.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmettemaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Our 3-night stay at the Applewood Manor Inn could not have been more delightful. The hosts, Nancy and Larry, were charmng and funny and managed to get a quite disparate group of guests talking and enjoying each other's company. Breakfast was delicious, and it was a pelasure to return to the inn late afternoon for wine and cheese on the porch overlooking the expansive grounds.

The room was spacious (we had the 3rd floor suite), the bed was actually comfortable, and there was adequate closet space (a real bonus). The tub was large enough to fit a 6'6" man - and so was the shower.

If you are looking for a delightful stay in Asheville, you will not find a nicer place to unpack your bags.

Pris and Alan

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary - unique, quiet and comfortable, yet not too far off the beaten path, and we found Applewood Manor! Nancy and Larry made us feel welcome yet gave us space for relaxation and privacy. Breakfast was delightful - both the food and the service - and the open spacious common areas including the backyard gardens are inviting and relaxing. Nancy's dinner recommedations were perfect and she and Larry are welcoming, wonderful, and interesting hosts. We are so glad to have found it and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNNRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My husband and I had the wonderful fortune of staying at the Applewood Manor Inn in Asheville this past weekend. We have stayed at B&B's for years and years, but the Innkeepers,Nancy and Larry are the most welcoming people we have ever met. It was just like being at the home of very good friends. They could not do enough for us..from fabulous full course breakfasts, to wonderful wine social hours, to giving us right on guidance about where to eat and what to see in Asheville. Do your best to stay at this charming and gorgeous Inn. You will not be disappointed! Roger and Vicki..Wellington, FL

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vssinfl412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#18 of 39 in Asheville
870 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,564 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Asheville
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing