We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“extremely pleased”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

A spontaneous trip to Asheville led us to the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. Based on the great reviews from tripadvisor, we decided to make a reservation less than 24hrs before our stay and it's safe to say that our spur of the moment decision was a good one. James and Susan were incredibly welcoming, the other guests were great to converse with over breakfast, and the food was fabulous. I should state that again, the food was fabulous. Included in the nightly rate is a gourmet breakfast every morning, appetizers with wine in the evenings, and a sweet dessert awaiting bedside when you arrive back to your room at night. The home and rooms were charming and immaculate. A great bed and breakfast experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
505
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

A perfect place to stay in Asheville!!!!!! Carolina Bed & Breakfeast is by far the best B&B we have ever experienced. The breakfast each morning was awesome and the evening snack was an unexpected treat! Susan and James are the best. We hope to be back for a 2nd visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandC1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

My wife wanted a romantic weekend for Valentines so I booked a room at Carolina B&B. She wasn't disappointed. Excellent breakfast with a fine room and accomodations and the owners couldn't have been nicer. We will probably do it again next year.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hbissell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Where do I even begin! This was my first bed and breakfast experience, and now I think I will never go back to regular hotels. The location of the B&B was great- in the historic Montford district and within walking distance to the bus stop. The food was absolutely to die for. Each breakfast was a masterpiece with such unique touches, like cold peach soup and an amazingly light egg souffle. The owners mentioned they shopped at the local farmers market & it definitely showed! We stayed in the Gold Finch room and our bathroom was amazing with a soaking tub and separate luxurious shower. After check-in we were surprised to find a spread of hors d'oeurves and wine welcoming us before we went out for dinner. It included pancetta and cantaloupe skewers, chocolate covered almonds, and cheeses. This is offered nightly and is a great way to start your evening. We enjoyed talking with James about his travels and taking his recommendations for dinner while watching the sunset on the large front porch. Through the back door of the inn there is a terrace with grape vines and a zen garden with a fountain. When we thought this B&B couldn't get any better, James slipped printed directions under our door to the restaurant where we told him we had reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My husband and I went to Asheville for the first time for a weekend getaway and we chose Carolina Bed and Breakfast because of the good reviews and the good price. The reviews were absolutely right: the place is charming, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect. The owners, James and Susan, really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The breakfasts were amazing and we really enjoyed the happy hour with appetizers and wine each evening. We stayed in the Miss Webb room which was the least expensive of all the rooms. It was plenty big and the bed was really comfortable. There were so many nice details at this B&B--like robes hanging in our closet to dessert waiting for us in our room each night. And the owners were also very helpful in pointing us where to go and what to do in Asheville. We had a great time at restaurants and at the Biltmore but I kept telling my husband, "I just want to go back to our B&B and relax!"

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This lovely B&B is within a 10-15 min. walk of downtown. Fabulous lodging, food, and hospitality. Very reasonably priced. Owners Jim and Susan offered great suggestions, interesting history on the town, and lots of personal touch. Susan does an amazing job at breakfast, utilizing international influences from their worldwide experiences. We chose this inn so that we would have a home away from home and we were not disappointed. We felt very comfortable relaxing, reading, and utilizing the wi-fi, but the location made it easy to get out and "do" when we were ready to do so. It was the perfect bed & breakfast experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelATLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Our stay at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast was wonderful! James and Susan were exceptional hosts and fascinating people. We really enjoyed getting to know them. The B&B was beautiful with well appointed, large rooms. Our room (Hummingbird) had a great gas fireplace which made things very cozy. Finally, the breakfasts and afternoon snacks were amazing. The pear/goat cheese tart was amazing and could only be topped by the mango upside down bread pudding. We will be returning to this awesome B&B in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing