We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place, top-notch in every way.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place, top-notch in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

James & Susan run a first class establishment. My mom, sis, daughter and I shared 'The Cottage" and it was perfect. Cozy, comforting, with a small kitchenette - it was lovely! Happy hour was a highlight of the day (we hurried back not to miss it) with hot appetizers, cold drinks and warm conversation. In the evening we were delighted to find a surpise sweet - one night lemon squares, the next homemade whoopie pies!! Breakfast was unbelievable - pannacotta with strawberry coulis followed by a waffle one day and an incredible quiche the next. I didn't want to leave. James has great knowledge of Asheville and don't miss Zambra's for tapas (be sure to make a reservation). Great location right north of downtown Asheville with plenty of parking. The Carolina Bed & Breakfast was more than we could have imagined.

Room Tip: Call on the telephone and speak to James or Susan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
487
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Carolina B&B was probably the prettiest B&B I stayed in so far. When my husband and I travel we usually stay in hotels and staying in a beautiful B&B such as Carolina was refreshing and different. Room was relatively clean and pretty much the same it was on the web. I was not too impressed with the food thou. It was slightly juvenile and little bit on the sweet side. Belgian waffles with strawberries and whipped cream for breakfast might impress a 6 year old but it did not impress me at all. Preparing more wholesome breakfast with fresh eggs, wholegrain bread, low fat yogurt and fresh fruits might have been much, much better choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monikica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smallblondemom, Owner at Carolina Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
We always welcome feedback from our guests. We serve a broad variety of foods and constantly use their feedback to fine tune our breakfasts. We are sorry that this particular meal was not to this person's liking. Actually, the Belgian waffles are a favorite with our guests and have been judged on a number of occasions as the "best waffles ever". They are freshly made, immediately served, stacked with fresh fruit, and a healthy dollop of real whipped cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

This place is a gem. On a quiet street in a historic, charming neighborhood and close to the downtown (where you must try Limones restaurant). Everything seems to be thought of carefully: tasty little appetizers and Biltmore-estate wine served in the late afternoon, carefully prepared haute cuisine breakfast, comfortable beds and clean, well-appointed rooms. The owners are wonderful and helpful. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The Carolina was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay but the friendly and attentive service is what made it so special. Susan made a marvelous breakfast with delicious and unique selections every morning. James was entertaining and his attention to detail was excellent. I haven't had such a great night sleep in a long time; the bed was so comfy. Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di9315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

A spontaneous trip to Asheville led us to the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. Based on the great reviews from tripadvisor, we decided to make a reservation less than 24hrs before our stay and it's safe to say that our spur of the moment decision was a good one. James and Susan were incredibly welcoming, the other guests were great to converse with over breakfast, and the food was fabulous. I should state that again, the food was fabulous. Included in the nightly rate is a gourmet breakfast every morning, appetizers with wine in the evenings, and a sweet dessert awaiting bedside when you arrive back to your room at night. The home and rooms were charming and immaculate. A great bed and breakfast experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

A perfect place to stay in Asheville!!!!!! Carolina Bed & Breakfeast is by far the best B&B we have ever experienced. The breakfast each morning was awesome and the evening snack was an unexpected treat! Susan and James are the best. We hope to be back for a 2nd visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandC1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

My wife wanted a romantic weekend for Valentines so I booked a room at Carolina B&B. She wasn't disappointed. Excellent breakfast with a fine room and accomodations and the owners couldn't have been nicer. We will probably do it again next year.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hbissell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing