We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch in every way”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had not stayed at a B&B for many years, and it was wonderful to experience one again. Especially the Carolina B&B, as it set the bar against which future visits will be measured. Our room was comfortable and spacious and had all the little touches you might expect at a nice hotel. The breakfasts were at the same time both unusual and familiar, and certainly delicious. The ample lounging spaces made just hanging out at the B&B enjoyable. The 5:30 wine and hors d'oeurves was an unexpected delight. The question is not whether we will return to Carolina B&B but how soon. Hats off to James and Susan - they got it right!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCajka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
496
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

What a gem... If you've always found that where you stay on a trip colors your memories - stay at Carolina B&B in Asheville. We arrived in the afternoon to the aroma of freshly baked biscotti, so good we left with the recipe. Homemade brownies (left with this recipe too) waited for us on a bedside table when we returned to sleep. And we slept so well! The owner told us that guests have actually asked for the make and model of the mattresses. The owners were charming, solicitous about our needs - even acommodated two relatives for breakfast with us. Oh, and what a perfect breakfast - both mornings we were there - fresh, yummy and gourmet. Foodie heaven - we bought one of the two cookbooks they've published. And last but not least, the toiletries were top of the line. I'm going to be purchasing them to use regularly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarosscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast during our vacation trip to Asheville and it was wonderful. Susan and James were great hosts. My wife has a special diet and Susan was very accommodating with the breakfasts as well as the evening wine and snack time. We stayed in the Hummingbird room and thoroughly enjoyed our time in the house. The front porch swing was our favorite place to relax. When we return to the Asheville area the Carolina Bed and Breakfast will be our choice location to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanm647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The physical location is in walking distance of downtown, visitor's center, neighborhood restaurants and the Montford Park Shakespear Amphitheater. Off street parking was easily accessible and when needed spacious street parking was available(they were fully booked almost the entire time of our stay)
We enjoyed conversing with the other guests on the relaxing front porh and a variety of "scrumptious" appetizers during their evening wine(Biltmore) social. The "chit-chat" with the other guests offered an unique opportunity to learn form their experiences/adventures and trade "insider tips" between us. We watched the "fire-flies"(lightening bugs as some call them) while eating a late dinner on the porch.
Gourmet breakfasts were prepared each morning and evening treats were found in our bedroom each night. The food was delicious, but I found it a bit sweet for my personal taste. However, the plate was sent back EMPTY.
The owners, Susand and James were very friendly and James was always available to give appropriate recommendations for exploring the points of interests in the area.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary40314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have stayed in many bed & breakfasts over the years. Each of them might achieve excellence in one or two aspects of the stay. Carolina Bed & Breakfast hit a home run with the bases loaded! Service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness, food, and environment were all top shelf. James & Susan are dedicated, talented, and informed hosts. They are a true team in the way they divide the work load. Susan did a wonderful job in providing an imaginative, inventive, and varied menu for breakfast, afternoon appetizers, and late night snacks. James is the perfect purveyor of information when it is needed. The neighborhood is historic and walkable, including to the business district. We would not think of staying anywhere else in Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerbobarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was only my second time staying at a B&B and it was wonderful. It gives you that warm homey feeling that you don't get from a hotel. Susan is a marvelous cook and the Belgian Waffle was to die for. James was just very nice and easy to talk to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tat021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. Our room was comfortable and we slept great. The breakfasts were fabulous and the wine and appetizers served in the early evening was a wonderful treat. James and Susan are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed getting to know them. We will definitely return and send all our friends to visit them. Thanks, Charlie and Delaine Brown

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaine174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing