We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

James and his wife were fantastic hosts, the property was the perfect mix of well-maintained and charming and historic. Breakfast was out of this world, both mornings that we stayed, and always included coffee and tea with two courses. They keep a guest refrigerator always stocked with water. We stayed in the Hummingbird room on the second floor, and everything in the room was exactly as we had seen it on the website. We would definitely recommend staying at the Carolina B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hempelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

A beautiful and well-run B&B on a quiet street with great access to downtown Asheville. The proprietors, James and Susan, were invaluable in providing great restaurant and attractions recommendations to first-time Asheville visitors. The room was clean and very comfortable and had fresh baked goods waiting for us each evening. The breakfasts at the Carolina were some of the best food we ate in Asheville (and that's saying a lot). Creative dishes, excellently prepared, and J&S seemed eager to accommodate any dietary restrictions or preferences expressed. An hors d'oeuvres hour each evening with wine and appetizers was a great opportunity to meet and socialize with the other guests. We were about a 15 minute walk (2 minutes if you want to drive) from the thriving and colorful downtown area and the walk is through a quiet, safe, and really beautiful neighborhood full of huge old houses. We would highly recommend staying at the Carolina and next time we're in the area we certainly will again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaddawj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Hosts James and Susan have created a warm and wonderful haven at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast!! Filled with fascinating treasures from their global travels, their arts and crafts style home is just that---a comfortable "home" Beginning with the welcoming rocking chairs on the front porch!!

Start your morning with a gourmet breakfast prepared with Susan's love of cooking in every bite. Such delicious food and different every day! It's peronally served at big tables in a lovely dining room by James--- who makes sure everyone has all the information they need to make the most of Asheville and the near-by Blue Ridge Parkway.

Be sure to return from your sight-seeing, hiking or gallery browzing in time to enjoy a generous assortment of home-made appetizers and local wines...shared with lively conversation with other guests from around the country/world.

Foodies themselves, James and Susan love to share the menus from Asheville restaurants and give you guidance for finding the perfect lunch or dinner for your budget, your tastes and your energy level.

And if you aren't already spoiled enough with plush robes, beautifully decorated rooms with TV, air conditioning, and lots of light through windows overlooking the pretty gardens, you'll appreciate the home-baked goodies set by your bed at night by the hosts to assure you drift off to sleep with sweet dreams!

There are lots of choices for Bed and Breakfasts in the historic Montford area... but you won't do better than the Carolina! Worth every penney ---quality, value and care.

JP & Cotton, California

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Staying at the Carolina B&B was one of the best travel experiences we've ever had. The house is beautiful, the food and service amazing, and the owners attended to our every need with a smile. Susan puts special effort into the breakfasts, snacks, and sweets she prepares, and the food is made using fresh, local ingredients, which we really appreciated. The house is located just a short walk from downtown and is in a gorgeous historic neighborhood that we enjoyed strolling through. We stayed in the cottage which allowed us extra privacy and ammenities to prepare lunches for picnics and hikes using our own groceries. The two-person jacuzzi tub was a relaxing touch, the individual air conditioning super nice, and the bed was very comfy. We will definitely choose this destination for our next stay in Asheville!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolceVita0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

One of the very best B&Bs we have ever visited. Extremely helpful and gracious hosts, Susan and James made every effort to ensure we and all other guests were supplied with everything we could possibly need, from 'cocktail hour' tasty and copious canapes with local wine to delicious breakfasts and evening treats in our bedroom (delicious brownies or cupcakes.) As vegetarians we were perfectly catered for.
Our room was extremely comfortable, spacious and immaculate.
It is in a very quiet and upmarket neighbourhood, yet just 10 minutes walk to downtown Asheville.
Susan and James were a veritable goldmine of local information, with honest, insightful and frequently humorous suggestions and opinions.
Highly recommended. We would love to return to Asheville and this would be our first choice of accommodation. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickLondon_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Carolina B&B, and our hosts Susan & James, were the highlight of our summer roadtrip through NC. Our stay there was even better than we expected after reading their outstanding reviews on Tripadvisor. As so many reviewers have mentioned, the warm and genuine hospitality, delicious food, and convenient location made this a wonderful stay for us. Both evenings, we walked downtown for dinner and music which we really enjoyed.
Our room was on the first floor and just perfect! It was comfortable, clean, and quiet. All those special little touches were there, in the private bath and the spacious bedroom, adding to our enjoyment.
We will definitely be back to the Carolina B&B -- definitely one of our all-time favorites!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to book the ground floor room -- it's beautiful, private, & quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My wife and I travel frequently. We avoid chain hotels and stay at B & B' s whenever possible. Our stay at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast was one of the best ever. From the 5:30-6:30 Happy Hour ( which they happily let us extend until 7pm! ) through the thoroughly enjoyable breakfast the next day, we felt welcomed and totally at home. The room was beutiful and the support we got for directions and dining recommendations was fantastic! If you get near Ashville go and stay with Susan and James. The memory of the stay will linger well beyond your trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregmenke48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
802 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
250 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,631 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £191 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing