We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO STONE LEFT UNTURNED!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hoover1011
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NO STONE LEFT UNTURNED!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

From the moment we were created by James upon arrival to the time we left there was not one thing more to wish for during our stay with James & Susan. James carried my bags to our room. We stayed in the cottage house, wow..very private with all the amenities that you could ask for. The tub was great mostly after a long day of hiking. It was a deep jacuzzi with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. Nice bath robes, Make-up remover to bath salts were available in our room. The house is very convenient to down town. You could walk but after a long day of hiking and a full dinner we opted to drive. There are also plenty cabs available to and from town as well. James was always around to answer questions....we were in Asheville to hike and eat he knew much about both. Every night at 5:30 there were hors d' oeuvres and wine set out. The spread of food was so nice i had to take pictures and the wine served was from the Biltmore Estate and was very good. Susan is a wonderful cook, breakfasts were spot on...tasty every morning. There is always sodas, water and coffee available all day. Cookies every afternoon and nightly homemade baked goods were left in our room each evening. The house is well maintained and clean. I was not ready to leave after 3 nights, i will look forward to my return visit in the fall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooverd1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
501
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is a very comfortable inn: the place felt like home. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, the food is great, and the location is perfect. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

From the moment we pulled into the lush and leafy inner suburb of Asheville and drove past the gracious old homes, we knew we'd done it right! James bounced out to greet us, extending a strong hand and greeting us with a friendly smile. He is one of those people you immediately warm to, with obvious kindness and integrity in his eyes. Susan came jogging down the driveway moments after, equally pleasant and welcoming- we'd just passed her on the road. It was like arriving home to family we hadn't met before, and we were ushered inside their beautiful home. As someone who can't stand Victoriana and musty rooms, I was instantly relaxed and very happy. The Carolina is fresh, understated, eclectic and bright- old pieces mingle with new, and James and Susan's art collections generously displayed alongside treasures from many trips abroad. We were made to feel completely at home and very, very welcome. James and Susan went out of their way to accomodate us in our unusual lifestyle, tell us as much as we wanted to know, and within a short space of time, we were old friends. Our room was fabulous, bright, airy and attractive with top of the line mattresses, fluffy towels and robes, fireplace, flat screen TV and a big old bowl of chocolate covered acai berries at the top of the stairs! Oh wicked temptation! That sucker just kept filling itself up! :) I HIGHLY recommend the Carolina B&B. I'm fussy and this place was fantastic. You will be welcomed and treated like dear friends. Best of luck James and Susan! We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: They're all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzgirlDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
483 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We spent a weeknight at the Carolina B&B while in Asheville visiting our two sons. Our room was quite roomy and very clean, with nice amenities: hairdryer, thick washcloths, plush robes. The host was very conversational and friendly at breakfast. We would have preferred a firmer mattress and a less sugar-y breakfast (we were there on a non-savory breakfast day). The location is very good, in the Montford area, which was peaceful at night. The small sweet left in our room at bedtime was really excellent! We missed the wine and hors d'oeuvres served in the afternoon, unfortunately!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I spent a few days in Ashville en route to NJ. The Carolina B&B is in a perfect location to walk into town and enjoy the many fine restaurants and shops. James gave us great directions and Susan's breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon were lovely. We would recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giganj41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic long weekend in Asheville at the Carolina B&B. James and Susan do a wonderful job as hosts by providing a very relaxing, comfortable place. Susan prepares unbelievable hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon with Biltmore wine and her breakfasts are outstanding! We asked for some recommendations for dinners and shopping in Ashville and James was 100% with his suggestions. It was also very nice to be a simple 15 minute walk through residential neighborhoods to downtown Asheville.

Room Tip: We had the Hummingbird room and it was lovely. I think it was the only only one with an old fashion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Carolina B&B over Easter weekend as we are exploring the area as a potential area to retire when we are ready. The Carolina B&B run by James and Susan is a first-class B&B. Both James and Susan were outstanding hosts. The breakfasts cooked by Susan were extraordinary and creative. We stayed for three evenings with each breakfast tastefully done; fresh fruit followed by home made strawberry waffles, baked egg dish and Susan's delicious recipe for french toast. There were home made baked goods available on a daily basis, wine and appetizers in the evening before dinner with delightful surprise goodies in your bedroom in the evening. When traveling we have tried to stay at a B&B on each trip. We are particular about where we stay. The Carolina B&B is among the best places we have stayed during our 23 years of marriage. I would highly recommend a stay at James and Susan's Carolina B&B. The B&B has lovely landscaping, a front porch for day dreaming in a quiet neighborhood and relaxing and lovely rooms. Although the weekend had several couples at the B&B, we felt as though our room had a private feel to it. Outstanding accomodations - private bath with jacuzzi bathtub. Large bedroom with a large closet if needed. Karen & Ed S.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Golden Finchh room. Very cheery room with large windows overlooking garden. Jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
748 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing