We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I really like to stay at B+B's when we travel.
The Carolina B+B is one of the best we have stayed in to date.
The host and hostess are attentive, helpful and gracious with their time and expertise.
The room was impeccably clean, well appointed, and very comfortable.
The breakfasts were delicious, filled with fresh ingredients and very well prepared and presented.
The offering of wine, coupled with multiple choices of delicious bites of freshly prepared food to start the evening, was relaxing and a great way to converse with others staying at the inn.
The location was very convenient to all Asheville has to offer.
Great stay, and this will be the place we stay on our next visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
501
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best! The house was beautiful, the food delicious, and the hospitality out of this world. Susan and James were so accommodating and knowledge about the area. They were able to recommend tour guides, restaurants, things to do, etc. They made this one of the best travel experiences! Would highly recommend! Deb

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Six of us spent a long weekend at James and Susan's lovely home ... and I say "home" instead of "inn" because they treated us like treasured guests. The rooms are charming and very clean, the food is wonderful, and our hosts and their capable assistants - and even their family - took splendid care of us, even with our special requests and other inconveniences. Combine that with it being a ten minute walk from town, and I can't imagine why you'd select other lodging. Liz

Room Tip: If you have any doubts after looking at the web site, book over the phone and Susan will help you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Carolina Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful place! The host and hostess knew so much about the area and could recommend places to eat and were very honest about prices of the different places. We had a delightful happy hour daily at 5:30 PM with wine and all sorts of delicious homemade appetizers. We talked with the other guests then and got ideas of what to do the next day. Our room was very well-appointed, and while we were out at supper, our hostess left us (in our room) scrumptious treats she had baked. Breakfast every day was wonderful, and our host described each dish we were having. Coffee was available every day at 7:30PM, and we had our coffee on the porch before breakfast. It was so nice to be able to walk to town and leave the car at the b&b, The garden is beautiful, and I could go on and on, but I hope you get the idea that it is a grand place to stay, and the host and hostess are grand as well.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the stairs and was extremely quiet. This is very important to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atiger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband & I chose to stay at the Carolina B&B to celebrate our anniversary after doing extensive online research months in advance. It seemed to have everything we were looking for: charm, good food, comfort, good location, a jacuzzi (hard to find in an older home & a welcomed treat after walking around the Biltmore Estate!), and a reasonable price. We were not disappointed! It was truly all of those things & more.
People are not kidding when they say Susan's food is amazing! We couldn't get over the quality & creativity of all of the food offerings throughout the day. Breakfast was delicious & beautifully presented in the dining room each morning. We were pleasantly surprised by the hors d'oeuvres spread every evening. I think we were expecting some cheese & crackers with the wine, but there were 5 or 6 artistically presented appetizers that were incredibly delicious. We didn't have to order an appetizer at our dinners in the evening that's for sure! Also, the sweet treat in the evening was such a nice welcome home, & my husband still says Susan's pumpkin blondie bar was one of his favorite things he ate in Asheville!
Lastly, I want to emphasize what a relaxing atmosphere there is at the Carolina B&B. You can tell that James & Susan are world travelers & know what tourists are looking for because they have nailed it! You leave feeling pampered & refreshed. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvytraveler_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our first trip to Asheville, and we stayed here due to the good reviews even though we are not necessarily "Bed and Breakfast people". We are absolutely thrilled with the decision, as our stay could not have been any better! We cannot wait to come back and spend some more time in the wonderful Asheville area and at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast.

James and Susan don't miss a single detail. Breakfast was incredible each morning, we especially enjoyed they delicious hors d'oeuvres and wine in the early evening with the other guests, and then coming home to delicious freshly baked treats in our room at night was a great touch. We easily walked to downtown from the location, and James was a wealth of knowledge about the area, restaurants, Biltmore, etc.

Our room was top notch. Fire place, air conditioner, jacuzzi tub, king bed - the bathroom was great and everything was clean and comfortable. It was a real treat to stay at Carolina B&B - we can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our first trip to Asheville, and we are so glad that we chose to stay at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. James and Susan were so gracious, very friendly, accommodating, and a wealth of information. James took time to ask us about our food tastes and other interests before going through the map of Asheville and recommending places he thought would suit us. He also checked in with us every morning, just to make sure we had a plan for the day and/or had questions. The food was amazing! Every breakfast included delicious fruit, in addition to wonderful combinations of many different types of foods (waffles, bacon, eggs, yogurt, etc.). My husband and I also enjoyed meeting different guests for wine and hors d'oeuvres each night before dinner, and always returning home to a delicious dessert waiting in our room. The room was charming, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and comfortable, and the blue bedspread was gorgeous! We were only about a 10 minute walk from downtown Asheville, but even if we had to drive, the parking areas were very affordable for a busy city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will definitely return for future stays!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
748 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing