We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time B&Ber, outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Not sure we can add much to the other Excellent and Very Good reviews, but will try.

Would we return to the Carolina Bed & Breakfast? YES!

Was the food good? The Breakfast was excellent! I need to watch my Carb intake, and am confident James & Susan would have helped if I had asked.

Were the Inn Keepers (James & Susan) courteous, informative and accommodating? VERY MUCH SO! Made us feel at home, and provided an early 'take away' Breakfast our last morning. They also provided solid information about asheville.

Was the room comfortable and have everything we needed? YES!

Was the location close to interesting Asheville venues? YES, 15 min walk, very nice.

Were the other guests friendly and interesting? Very much so. The 5:30pm wine and snack time was an excellent welcoming way for us to meet others. We really enjoyed their wine choices, horderves were outstanding!

Were the Inn's rooms and porch comfortable? Yes! We were looking forward to some quiet time reading on the porch, and it did not disappoint. The sitting room was also comfortable, a great place to review menus, tourist information and to discuss our experiences.

Great place, great hosts, great location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

A fantastic experience. James and Susan were gracious hosts. The house and rooms are beautiful. Breakfasts and afternoon wine & hors d'oeuvres were incredible. We stayed six nights there - never felt like we stayed too long - plenty to in do Asheville. We hiked the surrounding areas as well as took in the sights/sounds of Asheville. We visited the home of Carl Sandburg - truly a hidden gem. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was my second stay at Carolina bed and breakfast and we will definitely be back again next year for our yearly ladies trip. Four of us stayed in cottage and loved it!!! Breakfast was pleasant and filling. The owners are very nice and helpful. We visit asheville often and this is the best location for walking or driving anywhere in asheville.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Chelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at this B&B. Our hosts were gracious, our large room was comfortable, clean, and quiet, and breakfast was delicious. The house itself is really lovely. There were plenty of enjoyable amenities, like sweet treats in your room when you check in. In the evenings, we enjoyed wine and appetizers while lounging on the front porch swing. I would highly recommend this B&B, and I look forward to staying here again. Great place!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 44Janie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the Carolina B&B at the end of August 2013 whilst omn vacation from the UK and I simply couldn't recommend it highly enough.

The location is excellent, a short walk from town but in a gorgeous historical district. The house itself is beautifully kept with lovely grounds. Inside there are mementos of James and Susan's 27 years of living abroad but it is all brilliantly well integrated into the period of the house and is perfectly judged.

Indeed, the term 'perfectly judged' is the term I would use to describe the experience of staying at Carolina B&B. James is an enthusiastic host and full of knowledgeable recommendations for sightseeing, places to eat etc. But the great thing is that while he gives you an excellent range of options, these are for you to select the one that sits you best rather than, as at some other B&Bs, being told to go the owners favourite restaurant whether you would like it or not. Similarly, not only did he offer us a range of hiking options but, after selecting one we thought we'd like (and which was fantastic) 5 minutes later, he slipped us a print out of directions for the route. Superb.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and kept, with little, subtle flourishes that add personality without being over the top in any way. The beds are way too comfortable and the B&B is immaculate in terms of cleanliness.

Each evening, they set out a range of canapes and some wine for guests to unwind after the day and before dinner. It's a good job that dining options are good in Asheville otherwise the drop off between Susan's fantastic cooking and dinner would be too great!

Breakfast is just as great, so much so that I had to buy Susan's cookbook to try to recreate her gruyere tart. (I've tried Susan but it doesn't have your magic touch!).

As for the negatives? Well, it's been a few weeks and I cannot think of one single thing. Not even one single, trivial minor thing.

Put simply, this is a fantastic place and I recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayess1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My daughter and I felt we were treated to a rare experience staying at the Carolina B&B. Not only were Susan and James great hosts, but our cottage was a wonderful retreat. We enjoyed the breakfasts and afternoon cocktails. The food is delicious, they are very innovative cooks that cater to all. James spent lots of time with us to acquaint us with the town and what to see. Since it was out first visit to Asheville, this was a great help to us. We will be back as there is so much more to see and do, plus we want to stay at the Carolina B&B again. We have stayed at many B&B's across the country and this will be on the top of our list!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our 1st time ever staying in a B&B and from the moment we arrived James and Susan made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Cottage behind the house and it was delightful. I highly recommend the Carolina B&B. Beautiful and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: The Cottage is away from the main house, but close, and has a little kitchen in it which can come in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanntruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
265 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
236 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £190 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing