We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Sleep Inn West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
US$355
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
667
18
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
667
18
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames and susanhummingbird roomother guestsrobin's nestcardinal roomwine and appetizersfront porcheach eveninghors d'oeuvressweet treatswonderful hostscookie jarcocktail hourhistoric montfordwealth of informationoff street parkingthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our first trip to Asheville for our 30th Anniversary. We could not have picked a more perfect place for our first bed and breakfast experience. We spent several days and enjoyed the breakfast very much each day. James and Susan were very gracious hosts and helpful with directions and suggestions on dinner spots. A first class operation, we will definitely be back, we loved the area there is a lot to see and do. Thanks for a great experience. Bob/Maria
.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in The Cottage -- highly recommended! -- on October 17th through the 20th. It was a great experience. First, The Cottage is a separate building from the main house with the only negative being the lack of the delicious aroma of breakfast wafting in every morning. The king-sized bed is so comfortable and the convenience of the utility "kitchen", the two-person spa bath with over-sized shower head, the day bed should there be another, the fuax fireplace providing warmth as needed, and the wi-fi, flat-screen TV, DVD player..... Truly THE place to stay. Second, and by no means less impressive, were the fantastic breakfasts, each surpassing the one before. As we entered the main house each morning, we were greeted by the amazing smells coming from the kitchen and Susan's creative talents. We made sure to set the alarm so we would not miss enjoying this magnificent start of the day. And Susan's cookbook shares some of her creations.
The main house is amazing in its own right. Built in 1901 and taken over by the Murrays four years ago, it has six rooms that -- I have no doubt -- are as wonderfully furnished and appointed as The Cottage. It is situated on an extremely quiet, residential street and has ample parking. We made our reservations for next year the evening we returned home.

Room Tip: For two of you, The Cottage is THE way to go!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The house is very pleasant and the host could not have been more helpful. He seemed to have the time give each person their own itinerary with excellent directions. The location is pretty good being a few minutes drive or a 15/20 minute walk from the centre. The only mild criticism concerns breakfast. It was sufficient rather than filling and generally there is no choice although I was offered eggs on toast one morning which was good. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

James and Susan have a great B&B. We enjoy and appreciate great food and were not let down by the variety and fresheness of breakfast, afternoon wine and refreshments. The sweet treats were amazing, esp the fudge brownies and ginger molassasses cookies! We will be back! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast for our 9th anniversary. It was wonderful: adorable property, great location, wonderful hosts, excellent hors d'oeuvres and breakfast, and a comfortable bed. We slept with the windows open and enjoyed the fresh mountain air. James and Susan were great. I had called weeks earlier to let them know I have a severe peanut allergy and James asked me about it that evening. They made sure that all of the food served was safe for me to eat. The only bad thing about our stay was that it wasn't longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews