We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hosts and B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hosts and B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We came in from Sunset Beach, NC to stay at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast, bringing in my husbands brother and wife from Santa Fe. It was a perfect stay. This B&B is what all B&B's should be. The rooms are lovely and so tastefully decorated. Susan and James are the ultimate hostess and host. I don't think I have ever stayed at a nicer B&B. Breakfast and appetizers were so delicious and different. I love the happy hour not only for the wonderful appetizers and wine, but just being able to relax and chat with James and the other guests before heading out for the evening. I highly recommend staying here whenever you're in Asheville.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room or one I wouldn't gladly stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
487
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

There is no other B&B in Asheville which compares to the magical Carolina B&B. The rooms are calm, un-fussy, beautifully decorated, comfortable and well maintained. Susan and James are perfect hosts, creating warm, inviting public spaces where people can relax, or meet the interesting guests they invariably attract. Breakfasts, as well as the spectacular evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, are delicious and healthy.
This year was our fourth visit to the Carolina. We and the friends we meet there yearly, anticipate our Asheville "homecoming" with great delight, and are never disappointed.

Room Tip: You can not go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithZ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just loved staying at this B&B. James and Susan are the perfect hosts. James knows everything about the city and takes the time to guide you to all the right places. Susan's food, well, what can I say! The evening happy hour appetizers are amazing! James makes sure there is plenty of wine, and the quaint living room or front porch is the perfect setting to meet the other guests or stroll around the lovely yard filled with mature trees and flowers. Our room had a wonderful king size bed, beautiful bedding, private bath, clean and easy to relax in. We will be back!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to make a reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The "wine & nibbles" each evening were spectacular! We loved being close enough to stroll into town for dinner. James and Susan are terrific hosts. Carolina B&B made it onto my Facebook page the night we arrived!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 5th wedding Anniversary and had a great time. James and Susan are super nice and very helpful! If you need a recommendation for any type of restaurant or directions they're right there to help. They really pay attention to all the little things and go out of their way to make sure you have a nice stay. A two course breakfast every morning with fantastic coffee, wine and hors d'oeuvres every day at 5:30, and an evening snack every day in your room when you get back from exploring downtown Asheville. It's about a ten minute walk from downtown and about a 20 minute walk from the far side of downtown. This was a fantastic place to stay, I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rleveret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first time at a B&B and we loved it! We stayed in the Goldfinch Room, and enjoyed the fireplace in the evenings. The whole place is clean and beautiful, and conveniently located with about a 15 minute walk to downtown. James and Susan have many thoughtful details, including serving wine and hors d'oeuvres early each evening. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at the Carolina B&B last week and were very pleased. The hospitality is warm and gracious. I echo all the other positive comments of those who have posted earlier reviews! As my wife said when we were (regretfully) driving away, "Well, we'll measure all other B&Bs against this one."

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing