We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place in Asheville”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Asheville”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a special place. We were coming off a week long bike trip in the smokies and wanted to visit Asheville. James and Susan really personalized our trip. They made gluten-free appetizers, booked a great restaurant for us and were great hosts. I highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serottagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
496
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My mother had visited Asheville twice before and stayed with James and Susan. This time my 99-year-old father was able to take the trip too. They stayed in the Cottage, surrounded by the beautiful gardens. The Cottage was perfect; they had privacy, were on the ground level so no tricky stairs, and could come and go with me as they pleased and rest when they needed. They raved about the breakfasts, and kept cheese and bread in the mini fridge in the room for a light lunch. The innkeepers were beyond accommodating. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyb0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I got married in Asheville over Memorial Day weekend and rented out the Carolina for our wedding party. Both of us grew up in Asheville, so when it came to finding a place to put up our closest friends in our beloved hometown, we set the bar pretty high. James and Susan surpassed it in every respect, providing the perfect home base for our wedding party and the setting for some of the most enduring memories of our wedding weekend.

The house itself is quintessentially Asheville, with blooming gardens in the back (spilling over with peonies during our visit!), a charming front porch with a swing in the front, and furnishings that are tastefully traditional without veering into the territory of outdated or kitschy. I stayed two nights in the cottage, which compensated for its somewhat less grand interior (relative to the main house, at least) by being spacious, secluded, and well appointed with a beautiful quilted king bed and lots of amenities.

In addition to being thoughtful, inquisitive, and just plain interesting people, James and Susan were consummate hosts, striking a balance between attentiveness and respect for privacy that can be difficult to achieve at a B&B. They accommodated every request we made without hesitation, including by allowing us to stock the B&B with extra food and drinks for our wedding party, by delaying breakfast to accommodate group activities, and by bringing me (the groom) breakfast in the cottage so that I would not see my bride on our wedding day.

Our experience with James and Susan's food was as positive as that of other reviewers. Each of their breakfast menus was thoughtfully constructed, beautifully executed, and filled with local and seasonal touches such as asparagus quiche with fresh biscuits and local sausage. We could only enjoy their evening hors d'oeuvres once, but the spread was equally spectacular, featuring homemade pretzel rolls and locally cured meats to pair with limited-release beers in honor of Asheville beer week.

Overall, the Carolina was an unforgettable part of our wedding weekend, and for that we are eternally grateful. In fact, we're already planning to sneak back to Asheville to stay there again without telling our families!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adhildebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Carolina B&B for 2 nights on way back from our nephew's graduation at Duke.
Wonderful hospitality and personal touch ! Susan and James made our stay memorable with delectable breakfast options, insightful guidance on restaurants and overall just a home away from home.
Do not look elsewhere if you happen to visit Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay last week at the Carolina B&B. The house, cottage, gardens were all wonderful. Breakfast was amazing and the appetizers in the evening were equally wonderful.
Great Bed and Breakfast! James and Susan were so helpful, they answered every question.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEK1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here and loved the experience... classic B&B house, gardens, bedrooms, breakfast, and helpfulness by Susan and James. In particular James was generous (and accurate!) with his time in suggesting restaurants and mapping out directions to various places in and around Asheville. Breakfasts were unique and tasty, and the baked treats put in the room are a nice touch . We will gladly recommend Carolina B&B to anyone needing to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Innkeepers very welcoming, extremely helpful when we asked about hiking options in the area. B&B itself was beautiful, breakfast and wine/apps delicious, easy walking distance to downtown. Definitely stay here if you're in Asheville!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRC417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing