We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“THE Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment you turn down the tree lined street and into Carolina B&B you can sense the relaxation that waits for you there. Our hosts James and Susan made us feel immediately at home . They are the perfect couple to run a B&B. James was a great resource for everything Asheville and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed including his incredible morning coffee! And what a treat to stay in a b&b with a host like Susan who's food is a testament to her passion for all things culinary. We enjoyed her sweet smile delivering amazing appetizers and surprise treats each evening. I could go on and on about this lovely place but suffice it to say every detail is executed with excellence . Quiet, clean, beautifully decorated and a great porch for night time visits, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jodyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
487
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We just returned from four wonderful days in Asheville, highlighted by our stay at Carolina B&B. This was our 4th stay with Susan and James and everything was just as we remembered it. Walkable to downtown, clean, quiet and comfortable accommodations. The visitor photos do a good job of capturing the rooms, the living experience and of course the food. But what sets Carolina B&B apart is the hospitality of Susan and James. They are the ideal hosts. This is a special place run by special people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a special place to stay for us in a beautiful old home with gracious hosts and delicious, gourmet breakfasts. The owners worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. We had car problems as we arrived at their home and they personally took us to the mechanic and brought us back and made sure we could get a loaner the next day. They went above and beyond what a host of a bed and breakfast needs to do. Going to Asheville? STAY HERE!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a special place. We were coming off a week long bike trip in the smokies and wanted to visit Asheville. James and Susan really personalized our trip. They made gluten-free appetizers, booked a great restaurant for us and were great hosts. I highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serottagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My mother had visited Asheville twice before and stayed with James and Susan. This time my 99-year-old father was able to take the trip too. They stayed in the Cottage, surrounded by the beautiful gardens. The Cottage was perfect; they had privacy, were on the ground level so no tricky stairs, and could come and go with me as they pleased and rest when they needed. They raved about the breakfasts, and kept cheese and bread in the mini fridge in the room for a light lunch. The innkeepers were beyond accommodating. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyb0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I got married in Asheville over Memorial Day weekend and rented out the Carolina for our wedding party. Both of us grew up in Asheville, so when it came to finding a place to put up our closest friends in our beloved hometown, we set the bar pretty high. James and Susan surpassed it in every respect, providing the perfect home base for our wedding party and the setting for some of the most enduring memories of our wedding weekend.

The house itself is quintessentially Asheville, with blooming gardens in the back (spilling over with peonies during our visit!), a charming front porch with a swing in the front, and furnishings that are tastefully traditional without veering into the territory of outdated or kitschy. I stayed two nights in the cottage, which compensated for its somewhat less grand interior (relative to the main house, at least) by being spacious, secluded, and well appointed with a beautiful quilted king bed and lots of amenities.

In addition to being thoughtful, inquisitive, and just plain interesting people, James and Susan were consummate hosts, striking a balance between attentiveness and respect for privacy that can be difficult to achieve at a B&B. They accommodated every request we made without hesitation, including by allowing us to stock the B&B with extra food and drinks for our wedding party, by delaying breakfast to accommodate group activities, and by bringing me (the groom) breakfast in the cottage so that I would not see my bride on our wedding day.

Our experience with James and Susan's food was as positive as that of other reviewers. Each of their breakfast menus was thoughtfully constructed, beautifully executed, and filled with local and seasonal touches such as asparagus quiche with fresh biscuits and local sausage. We could only enjoy their evening hors d'oeuvres once, but the spread was equally spectacular, featuring homemade pretzel rolls and locally cured meats to pair with limited-release beers in honor of Asheville beer week.

Overall, the Carolina was an unforgettable part of our wedding weekend, and for that we are eternally grateful. In fact, we're already planning to sneak back to Asheville to stay there again without telling our families!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adhildebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Carolina B&B for 2 nights on way back from our nephew's graduation at Duke.
Wonderful hospitality and personal touch ! Susan and James made our stay memorable with delectable breakfast options, insightful guidance on restaurants and overall just a home away from home.
Do not look elsewhere if you happen to visit Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing