We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast on a recent trip to Asheville. The house and grounds were lovely and James was very welcoming and friendly. Our room (the Goldfinch Room) was lovely and the bed was very, very comfortable. The bath salts for the bathtub were another nice touch! We also enjoyed the common rooms and, especially, the spacious and comfortable front porch. But, the main advantage to this bed and breakfast was the wonderful food. There were delicious canapés and very nice wines in the early evening and we LOVED the yummy goodies that were waiting in our room when we returned to the bed and breakfast at night. Finally, the breakfasts served each morning were delicious and creative and were a great way to start our days. We'd highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mseldga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We can't say enough good things about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Carolina B&B and how gracious James was as a host. We were rained on literally every minute of our visit, but staying at such a charming inn made it feel a great vacation despite the soaking. We stayed in the Mockingbird room and my in-laws in the Cardinal room and we both loved the beds and slept very well. Breakfast was amazing both mornings and all the other reviews do not exaggerate the quality of the food. If you are planning a visit to Asheville, you can't do better for your money than the Carolina B&B!

Room Tip: Mockingbird room has a very large bathroom; Cardinal room similar sized bedroom but smaller bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent a great weekend at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. It's a lovely bed and breakfast tucked away in a beautiful historic district and convenient to downtown Asheville. The breakfasts were scrumptious, the wine and hor d'oeuvres delicious, but the the clincher is the warmth and the hospitality of the innkeepers, Susan and James. They go out of their way to insure that your visit to Asheville is an outstanding one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just spent four nights at the Carolina B&B. Everything was first class. Susan prepared breakfasts, social hour canapes and evening baked treats that were all gourmet quality. James was incredibly helpful in guiding our activities and restaurant selections. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The grounds were well maintained and lovely. We would return there if we visited Asheville again, and would certainly recommend it to anyone traveling in the area. Thanks, James and Susan, for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Such a lovely home that this couple shares with their guests.
The morning meal is more than worth getting out of your comfortable room.
Evening beverages with some of the greatest snacks and opportunity to catch up with the days activities were a highlight each evening. Questions on places for dinner, how to get someplace, etc.
if you want a really special stay in Asheville...please give Susan and James a try!

Room Tip: Theme rooms...all are lovely. Quiet street so not much noise,we were in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1124DianeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Carolina B & B is wonderful. James and Susan have created a delightful garden with a path between the parking area and the house. They have also made the front porch a pleasant, comfortable place to drink coffee, read the newspaper, and meet other guests.
During our stay, James graciously helped us with our hiking plans, offered great restaurant suggestions, and told us about a remarkable bookstore. On the morning we were going to Mt. Mitchell, Susan prepared a scrumptious breakfast that included smoked salmon souffle and a yogurt panna cotta topped with strawberry couli. Not only were the breakfasts delicious, but they gave the guests a chance to meet and converse.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights in the spacious Hummingbird Room with its large windows. We also liked the quiet neighborhood's easy walking distance to downtown. Most of all, we appreciated James and Susan's attention to detail and the warm and welcoming atmosphere they created. Next time we go to Asheville, we will definitely try to reserve a room at Carolina B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a wonderful three night stay in the Hummingbird room. The property is wonderful - the house and grounds are well kept and create a very relaxing atmosphere. The room is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is so well done - well above average - and creativity abounds. James and Susan are wonderful hosts with great tips on the area. We truly could not have asked for a better Asheville experience, and the Carolina B&B was core to that! We would happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
801 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £192 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing