We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Thoughtful hosts full of great advice on the local scene; Wonderful breakfast (accommodating all dietary needs); Afternoon hors d'oeuvres served with wine; The Montford District is the best location in town!

Room Tip: Great options all around on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a fantastic B&B. This was a first for my husband and I-with all the B&B's around Asheville we decided to give it a whirl. We couldn't have been happier with our stay! Everything was fantastic! The breakfast served each morning left us full into the afternoon, most of the time we just picked up a light snack instead of buying lunch out. Evening (local) wine and appetizers were delicious and served in the parlor, which gave us additional time to speak with other guests and get recommendations from James. Such a wonderful stay and hospitable hosts. Our room was very comfortable and had a large, attached bathroom. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent two great days a Susan & James's B&B. Not only were the food, snacks and rooms excellent but their friendly and knowledgeable personalities were a major contributing factor to our wonderful experience. When in Ashville, this is the place to stay! Al & Kathy, Santa Fe, NM

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We can't say enough wonderful things about this B&B! The breakfasts were absolutely 5 star delicious and the wine and appetizers each evening were not only scrumptious, but an added bonus as well. In addition, James and Susan went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and also help us with where to go, what to see, and where to dine. We had a marvelous time exploring Asheville and ate at some awesome restaurants, thanks to their amazing suggestions. Also, a very nice walk to downtown and the house is quite beautiful and charming. We stayed in the Goldfinch room and loved it! All these extra touches are what make this B&B unique and unforgettable... a real gem!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We absolutely loved this B&B! The house is really sweet and in a charming neighborhood. We stayed in The Robins Nest room and it was perfect for my fiancé and I. The bathroom was nice as well as the robes, and the tv has a built in DVD player and they offer DVDs for you to watch. All the food from the breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres with wine to the treats left in your room were delicious and homemade. This was some snazzy food-pistachio dipped apricots,warm zucchini with cheese, stuffed mushrooms and breakfast was blackberries in a basil syrup and fresh Belgian waffles. Sara was super nice and basically at your disposal if you needed her-that was very comforting. Everyone was really pleasant and friendly.
For us, it was nice to come to a quiet place close to downtown and restaurants and just be able to relax. We will definitely being staying again when we come back to Asheville.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for our Anniversary! Stayed two nights. Nice neighborhood to go for a walk. Beautiful rooms and house. Steve and Susan are great. Both very helpful with recommendations for dinner.
We had The Goldfinch room. Nice roomy bathroom and room. Very comfy. Wonderful breakfast. Herbed honeydew with Quiche and asparagus. The next day was strawberry syllabub and peach bread pudding with bacon on the side. Such a beautiful garden and a quiet street.

Room Tip: Goldfinch room perfect size for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed the large, charming house filled with antiques in a wonderful walking neighborhood to downtown. Loved the daily evening wine and hors d'oeuvres reception - so great for chatting with the owners and other guests. Most of all, we were amazed at all of the delicious food. It was a real treat to stay at Carolina!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
256 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £182 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing