We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The concierge made up for alittle cracked plaster and peeling paint.”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

"The Pink Lady" is awesome sitting atop her hill and she is aging gracefully. However, she is aging and that is where people personality makes up for her flaws. I have been to many B & B's across the United States and have always found that what the inn may lack the staff can usually make-up for; such was the case at Cedar Crest. Make sure to go and when you do ask for Jeff. He is knowledgeable about the inn, its history, schedule, and the amenities available to you. He is also very familiar with the Asheville area and will steer you in the right direction for your Asheville adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpop57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

I agree with the review from Southern Girl below, " It is what it is".

We stayed only one night. The outside of this house is absolutely beautiful, the lawn is lovely, the porches delightful, and beautifully maintained. Two cats that live there were as lovely as the house.

However upon entering, the shadowed sitting area was dark, very dark. I felt as if I was in a Victorian funeral parlor. The hardwood staircase is absolutely beautiful. But on the wall at the landing were two light fixtures whose shades had been replaced with contemporary round, white glass balls. Definitely not Victorian. Weird.

If there was a library or study with books; I never found it. There was a room to the left of the entry that I thought to be a study. It was filled with information concerning the house and history, but no novels .

We had the Queen Anne Room; supposedly a favorite among guests. I wished that I took my camera. The room looks as advertised. It's the little things that "didn't" impress me. Warm bottled water and ice bucket, no ice? Turn-down service as advertised?

The pink bathroom had what I assumed was an original slipper tub complete with patches of missing or flaking finish on the pink exterior. The inside shower curtain (that couldn't be moved outside the tub) dragged the bottom of the tub by about 5 inches. The hot and cold plumbing lines were reversed; a shocking surprise upon entering the shower. The ceramic tile floor was missing pieces and cracked. The floral wall paper "vintage 1980" ( my mom had the same paper in our old house) needs replacing, along with the "ugly, clashing floral, discount store-type " exterior shower curtain. There were lots of wonderful fluffy Pink Towels though.

The glass light fixtures in the room (that worked) had corkscrew style florescent bulbs "hanging out" of them, I found that touch "so Victorian" ! The right bedside lamp had some type of florescent bulb that bathed the area in "bluish" tint that I've never seen before, except in an ultraviolet application.

That fabric-draped ceiling was different, but I couldn't help thinking that if this place caught on fire, with all the old wood. . . . WOOSH~ ~ that fabric (unless it is fireproof and it may well be) would be up in flames in a minute.

The window to the left of the bed housed a small but adequate A/C unit. The window to the right of the bed had single pane windows with peeling paint and what looked to be clear packing tape of some kind all around the window seams.

Bed & Breakfast; See below:

The Bed (mattress) was fabulous, best I have ever slept in. Honestly! The linens were heavenly.

The Breakfast. Where was the wonderful breakfast I so looked forward to. The specially baked pastry? The Eggs Benedict? A fluffy egg dish? Instead, we were treated to sliced fruit in yogurt, sprinkled with granola. A slice of some type (perhaps banana) of cold bread; juice from a container; an egg, a slice of bacon, store bought biscuit (cold); jam. This was too sad, the only redeeming quality was that we ate on the lovely front porch.

You think I'm too picky? For $300 a night I think everything should be exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank apirateslife4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Feedback is always appreciated... when it is accurate.

#1) Nowhere on our website does it state that we have a library
#2) We do offer free bottles of water in the room, which if hotels/ BnB's do offer they are not for free (ours are.) I am not sure what hotels they have stayed in previously but these are typically not magically cold, they are at room temperature. As far as ice, there is an ice machine on the main floor. I have yet to see a hotel offer ice machines in room. There are always ice buckets in room and an ice machine on property.
#3) We do not advertise "turn down service"
#4) The comments concerning our bathroom are a matter of opinion, guests always comment on how much they love the bathroom in the Queen Anne.
#5) Concerning the light fixtures... Yes we are trying to be green, as green as possible, and have green bulbs in all fixtures that support them. In a short time florescent bulbs will be all that is available.
#6) The breakfast is a three course breakfast as described. We have NEVER served a single egg with a single slice of bacon. The biscuits are not store bought nor served cold. It is true that we do not serve a gourmet breakfast, nor do we advertise as such. We have chosen to serve breakfast that is accessible to most folks, something that granny would cook you as a child ;)
#7) This can pretty much sum up this entire exaggerated review... The Queen Anne room is at most $255 per night on the weekend and $195 per night on a weekday. They admitted to staying only one night, with our two night minimum weekend stay we can only assume they stayed mid week, which would mean that the cost of the room was at most $195 (a towering $105 difference in the price they stated they paid.) Not to mention the only 1 night stay I had in May in the Queen Anne room came from someone who bargained with us and got the room down to $150 (1/2 the price described in this review!)
#8) This extremist reviewer as you can see from the 6 other reviews has never been satisfied with their stay anywhere! It is a shame that they continue to travel even though it seems to never live up to their standards.

I apologize if this response seems harsh. We try so hard to make sure everyone's stay is as wonderful as they imagined. We also make a strong effort to portray on the website what we do and don't offer. It is saddening to be accused of falsely advertising by someone who is doing exactly that, stating things that are so far from the truth to potential guests. In life it is important to have a good sense of humor, I guess we will have to laugh this one off ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

What more could you want? The rooms were charming,the beds comfortable,the house was visually stunning. Did I mention the staff was the best! Thanks Drew and Lita (?sp) who went out of the way to make sure everything was perfect. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vexxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Inn is fabulous, a huge house with lots of charm. Great service by everyone. Breakfast is totally awesome! We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abbie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Cedar Crest Inn was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. I work for Hyatt so we usually stay at these resorts but this was a nice change. When we pulled up to the Inn we were just in awe at how stately the Inn was and so clean with magnificent grounds. The staff was there to greet us along with the owner Bruce Mazzola who took us to our room and then gave us a tour of the mansion along with a tour of the cottages. We unpacked and then rested on the veranda where we were served our choice of wine, iced tea, lemonade, coffee, etc. There was fresh baked chocolate cake to go along with and this was also repeated the next day. We stayed in the East lake room which was very roomy, the bed was comfortable and the HD TV was great to have as well. The bathroom was spacious and had a claw tub and shower. We walked the grounds where there were beautiful trees blooming along with some fruit trees actually bearing fruit. Both mornings we were there we had a delicious breakfast consisting of fruit, muffins, pancakes, eggs and sausage, juice, coffee, etc. We visited the Biltmore mansion while we were here which is just down the road...so convenient to get to along with downtown Asheville. Our only regret was that we did not book a few more nights which we are definitely going to do in the future. I highly recommend the Cedar Crest Inn to anyone looking for an authentic B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank billyboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is an old house with everything old. The furniture and decorative items were nice and went with the style of the home, but the house could have been taken care of better in order to offer its guests a better stay. We stayed in the room off the study. It had two private entrances and a bath & a half. The full bath was small and cramped. The sink was not draining properly so the overflow hole on the underside literally ran water onto the floor. The towels were worn so they weren't as fluffy as they could have been. They should have been donated by now. There weren't any extra blankets in the room just what was on the bed. I generally do not like to use the bedspreads/comforters in hotels because they get a lot of people sitting, kids jumping, tossed on the floor etc. It was cool in the room even when the window unit was turned off.

The breakfast was a 4 out of 10. The scrambled eggs were soft and slightly runny and the sausage was very very overcooked. It was almost like beef jerky. The tea and cookies they had out daily was good. They had an assortment of Tazo Tea and decent coffee. The cookies were baked at the location. We decided not to have breakfast at the Inn because we weren't impressed the day before so we checked out and went to Starbucks. While there, we ran into another couple from the Inn that wasn't impressed with the breakfast either. They also concluded they will not be going back.

The Inn got a "nice try" from us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernGirlz689905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

We are glad to see that the furnishings and decor of the inn were appreciated. We strive to maintain historical integrity as we realize this is one of the main reasons people opt to stay at Inns over newer chain hotels. Unfortunately, as a result, compromises have to be made such as smaller bathroom size and occasionally uncooperative plumbing. In response to the specific issue with the sink, we've never received a complaint of this nature and if we had, it would have been addressed immediately. We have gone back into the bathroom you have spoken about and can't seem to find the same issue.

Each of our rooms is unique. They vary in size, shape, and amenities including bathroom size. We feel that with a little information such as "a large bathroom is very important to me" we can find a room to meet anyone's needs. We even have a carriage house and guest cottage which have been remodeled to be much more modern, if that is more important to you than the historical aspect of the main Inn.

We are sorry you were not happy with the quality of the towels, but we will not be donating them anytime soon as they are brand new (only a few weeks old at the time of your stay) and we have had no other complaints about them, in fact in the other negative review above, one of the only positive things said were that we had great "fluffy" towels.

In regards to the breakfast, I unfortunately feel like I have to say this too often... We do not serve a gourmet breakfast, nor do we advertise it as such. It is a very accessible three course meal that we create to please the masses. When you serve 40 people a day the same breakfast it is important to pick something that the majority of people find familiar. To my knowledge, scrambled eggs are supposed to be soft not hard. When you ask for scrambled eggs at a restaurant they come out soft, if you want it hard (browned) that is something you must request as it is not the norm. I am sorry that the sausage was not to your liking as well. Some things over cooked, some things under cooked, it seems that we just could not get things to your liking and for that I apologize.

Cleanliness a 2/5 with no explanation given? Never had a complaint about things being dirty.
Value a 2/5? According to my records you stayed here under the 120th year, $120 special. $120 in Asheville this time of year gets you a room at the Howard Johnson, I find our place to be a substantial step up from the typical box hotel.
Service a 3/5 with no explanation given?

We try hard to advertise our Inn as accurately as possible so our guests have a good understanding of our product before checking in. We are not the average husband and wife run Inn. We are nearly twice the size of the next largest BnB in Asheville. This is a great place to get the feel and personal experience of a Bed and Breakfast without the uncomfortable feeling of being in someones home. We ride the thin line between Hotel and Bed and Breakfast and we hope to attract guests that are on the fence much like us and enjoy some aspects of staying at a BnB and some aspects of a Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Cedar Crest Inn was beautiful and we had a great night. The house is beautifully restored and Drew was a great host. We stayed in the Serenity Suite and sat out on our private veranda and enjoyed wine. Eating breakfast on the upper veranda among the pines was perfect. The location was close to Biltmore & downtown-- very convenient. We only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will come back. I would rate 4.5 stars, and definitely round up. In the past we have stayed at b&b's in the montford section of Asheville, but found this to be a great change.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Huntersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#28 of 68 in Asheville
1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 674 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28803-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £117 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing