We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time around”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2009

After staying in February, we thought a July 4th trip was in order for our summer vacation. We decided to stay in the the Carriage house this time instead of the mansion. It was so nice being able to walk out on the deck with the flowers, but even more exciting was the sitting area in the main part of the house. We also enjoyed being able to use the kitchen to fix some hot tea. It's also only a few steps away to the mansion for some delicious sweet treats!

This was a great way for us to celebrate our 3 year anniversary

We were able to take the trolley ride around Asheville, which we found very enjoyable.

We enjoyed this visit even better than our first and recommend it highly to anyone wanting an enjoyable, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoguysNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

I totally enjoyed myself. Traveled solo to see Biltmore Estate and came across Cedar Crest Inn. The staff made me feel right at home.....even prepared a special French Toast Breakfast for me. Loved my room. Brought back memories of visiting my Grandmother. Beautiful grounds with lots of flowers and a great location. 1/2 mile to Biltmore and 1 mile to the town of Asheville. I have already booked to return in 10 weeks to see the changing of the leaves. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank condoqueenFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My companion and I (I'm 64 and she is 60) wanted to visit the Biltmore Estate at Christmas time so we booked 3 nights at the Cedar Crest. I picked it out from looking at reviews in Fodor's and Frommer's. I have stayed in numerous B&Bs , mostly on the high end. The Cedar Crest would fall in the upper end of my ratings. Let's get the negative out first. The room was cool/cold. I suspect that the thermostat was defective. We should have complained, but we didn't. Why? Because the room had a wonderful gas fireplace and so when we woke up and found the room cold we simply turned on the fireplace. It was both warming and romantic. Second negative. The bathroom had a claw tub with a sorta shower. Not exactly what we wanted in winter. But, exactly what we should have expected in a historic B&B.

My point. This is a historic B&B. It is beautiful. We actually spent an hour or so just looking at the various rooms and the woodwork. I shouldn't admit it, but we took a look in a number of rooms that seemed to be empty because the whole place was so fascinating. This is one beautiful house. The breakfast was more than acceptable. Parking was perfect, Location also, was perfect, just a mile or so from the Biltmore Village (I think that is the name).

If you want a historic setting that is close to the tourist areas and that is well maintained and well run then try the Cedar Crest.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The Inn not only has beautiful rooms in a historic setting, but also the owners and staff are friendly, helpful and create a delightfully welcoming atmosphere. We were lucky enough to be there when a special evening meal was served and the food was incredible. I understand they are contemplating a restaurant and anticipate rave reviews upon opening because the chef is superb.

If you want to take a trip back in time, experience the craftsmanship of Biltmore artisans and eat delicious food near a warm fireplace, this is the place to stay. And if you like antiques, be sure to ask where the locals go - they know!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsbusybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My daughter wanted a beautiful bed & breakfast location for her wedding and she couldn't have chosen a better place. This wonderful Victorian home was so beautiful from the parlor to the guests room. We had rented all but one of the rooms in the main house from Thursday to Sunday and Jeff greated each guest. He made sure everyone was comfortable and had everything we needed. Bruce, Jeff and the staff got to know each person and anything we needed was quickly accomodated.

The event planner, Randy, was great to work with and he made sure my daughter's day was special without any incidents. The food for our guests was excellent and the service was wonderful. Since we didn't live in the area, we wanted to find a place that could handle everything on site and this place was perfect.

I would highly recommend the Cedar Crest Inn if you want to have a small romantic wedding with about 35 guests. You would have wonderful memories to last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridesMomRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

The Inn is an exceptionally beautiful house filled with antique furniture and art. It’s located close to the Biltmore Estate and not too far from the downtown, but you’ll still need a car to go anywhere. Our room was quite comfortable, but the bathroom even though pretty, was not updated with the modern shower or bath and the old-fashioned bath could be unsafe and easy to slip. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the owners are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morozova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My wife and I spent a wonderful two days at this bed and breakfast inn. The house is a beautifully restored home that was built during the same time the Biltmore was. The guys operating this place are very nice and accommodating. My wife asked for them to bake a pumpkin pie for me for my birthday and it was delicious. We highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drs1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#28 of 68 in Asheville
1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 674 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28803-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £117 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing