We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum quality house and great personal service”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
missoula, mt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Museum quality house and great personal service”
Reviewed 3 May 2007

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Cedar Crest Inn. Service was excellent, the house is an amazing historic Victorian charmer. It really could be a mueseum.

The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. We wer e able to see many of the other rooms in the house because the guests had not checked in. They all looked great. We stayed in the Garden Room and the Serenity Suite. Our rooms did have a TV, but in the Garden room it was too small and poorly positioned to actually watch from bed. This was not a big deal to me, but could be to other guests. The house was a little loud, you could hear folks in the kitchen, in other rooms etc. But this did not cause any problems. Everyone was pretty quiet.

The location was extremely convenient: one mile from the Biltmore Estate and one mile from downtown Asheville.

The owners provided many nice touches: they serve dessert from 6:30 to 9:00 for folks who like to digest a little bit after dinner before eating dessert. They also turn down the beds and provide a yummy chocolate on your pillow. They provide a nice introduction to the house and the B and Bs services upon arrival and have cold drinks and snacks available. They serve coffee early for people who like to get caffinated before breakfast.

The owners did a very good job of being friendly and helpful without being too friendly--a problem I have experienced several times at B and B's where the staff hangs around to chat a little too much. They provided good recommendations on places to eat and things to see. They were interested in getting to know us. But they did not go overboard.

They were also very accomadating to a scheduling error I had made. We originally made reservations for one night but actually were going to be in town on a different night. We did have to upgrade to higher priced rooms because that was all that was available on the night we really needed to be there. But they were extremely helpful and flexible in dealing with my error.

The prices were pretty competitive for other B and Bs in the area. It was not cheap, but it was a quality experience.

My only complaint was that the breakfast was a major sugar-fest. This is common at B and Bs. They often serve only sweet options (carmelized french toast, sweet muffins, pastries...) and no options for folks who like a little real food (eggs, toast, etc.).

Overall, this was a bery nice place and I would recommend it highly to people who want to stay at a well located, very historic home with friendly, personal service.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank honestyfromMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    83
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
65
264
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2007

My husband and I found this gem by using our navigation system in our car, after we had been told there were no rooms available at any nice hotels in the area. When we arrived we were absolutely wowed by the beautiful woodwork. We had a beautiful room with a canopy bed and a fireplace. Who could ask for anything more... but we also got the most wonderful flourless chocolate cake! The Innkeepers were warm and friendly and they were very helpful about the area And the breakfast, I could go on about the breakfast for hours, and so could my husband! Lets just suffice it to say that Peaches and Cream French Toast is a new favorite at our house. We can hardly wait to go back when we have longer to stay.

  • Liked — It was beautiful!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

This was my 4th visit since 2000...and yes the Inn is all that has been written..however the location leaves a lot to be desired. The Street NOISE is horrible..almost unbearable to sit on the porch in the evening. Over the years Asheville traffic has grown and the street 30 yards away is the main thoroughfare in/out of town. It's a pity because the Inn is beautiful and loaded with Victorian antiques and charm. I travel over 100 nights a year. However I will choose other accomodations on my next visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

My mother and I stayed at this bed and breakfast while in Asheville to visit the Biltmore. This is absolutely the best bed and breakfast in which I have stayed. The woodwork is gorgeous. The fireplaces are great. The evening hostess, Carolyn, provided outstanding hospitality. The owners presented an excellent breakfast - the blueberry scones were terrific. They even prepared dessert for an evening treat. The rooms were clean and beautiful. I hope to return for another stay!

  • Liked — The hospitality, evening dessert & working fireplaces
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotraveloften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

This is a beautiful place and I would definitely recommend it. I will warn you about location though. It is located on a very busy street tucked away behind some trees. We drove right past it the first time and then had trouble with their awkward driveway. When you get to the inn, you forget all about the neighborhood outside except when you are sleeping. It can be noisy. BUT the rooms are beautiful. The only thing I did not like were the wallpapers, but I am more picky than others probably. I loved the architectural details and furnishings of all the rooms. (They allowed us to look in them because none of the other guests had checked in yet.) We stayed in the William Breese room. It was very nice. My only complaint was the TINY little shower. It was impossible to move inside there, and I am not a large person. The food was amazing, and we were so impressed that we were served snacks in the afternoon, dessert in the evening and gourmet breakfast in the morning. That was the best part of our whole stay there. It was our first year anniversary and although it was not our #1 favorite b&b (it's probably #2 or #3), I would recommend to other couples, just book a room with a tub or jacuzzi.

  • Liked — the food and the house
  • Disliked — the noisy location and small shower
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GurlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando,FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2007

I recently stayed at the Cedar Crest Victorian Inn. The old Victorian Mansion has been redone into a delightful bed and breakfast. Each room has its own name and character. Everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. It has a warm and inviting atmosphere. It is located very close to the Biltmore Estate so it is convenient to touring the Biltmore as well as downtown Asheville.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2007

Cedar Crest is a beautiful mansion - the woodwork and decor inside are amazing. We stayed in the Queen Anne room, which we found to be our favorite room and which has been featured in a couple of magazines. Bruce and Rita and the rest of the staff are great hosts, and the desserts and breakfasts are very, very good. After a day at the Biltmore Estate or walking around downtown Asheville, it's nice to come home to a place that is so close and convenient to everything and so full of history, character and charm. We'll definitely be returning!

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hmansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville Biltmore Village
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#32 of 65 in Asheville
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Property: Cedar Crest Inn
Address: 674 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28803-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#18 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing