We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
“It was the best!”
Reviewed 13 October 2007

What a wonderful romantic get away from the real world.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crtrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    51
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
602
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2007

A bit of a schlep from downtown Asheville (okay, not much more than a fifteen-minute walk), but a great place to come back to at the end of each day. Well worth investigating if you're in the area, with a super-nice and helpful staff, wireless internet that always worked (not always the case at B&Bs, we've discovered), and big rooms. A much more relaxing and restful option than a traditional hotel/motel.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ffff08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stayed at Cumberland Falls Inn as a celebration of our 2nd anniversary and it was wonderful. Patti and Gary were such fantastic hosts and it felt like we had known them forever. They spent as much time as we needed answering questions about the area and giving us great recommendations on dining out. Our room was clean and quiet and had all of the amenities that we needed - couldn't ask for anything more! The Inn was in a safe area of town and very convenient to downtown Asheville. Let me say that the breakfast that Gary cooked was the best I've ever had - 3 courses - blueberry muffin, baked peach with raspberry sauce and cinnamon whipped cream, and pancakes with orange zest and seasoned bacon. I ate EVERY bite! Patti also had some homemade peach pie the night before as a snack that was to die for - they should open a restaurant too!
All in all it was a great place to stay and we are looking forward to returning on our next trip to Asheville - it will be like visiting family.

  • Liked — Location, excellent food, great hospitality
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2TN_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Lions Den for 3 nights in Oct. 2007. The room was plush, luxurious and spotless. Upon check-in, a tray of delicious homemade baked goodies were waiting for us by the front door. Each afternoon, the baked goods were changed out, and each one was better than the one before. Patti's chocolate cookies are fabulous! There are dishes of chocolates throughout the house, and a generous selection of hot and cold beverages were always available.

Our queen bed was very comfortable and the linens on the bed were incredible! I felt very pampered! I was not really able to unpack, as the only storage in the room was an armoire in the bathroom. I really needed a small dresser (although there was a small amount of shelving space in the night stand). The bathroom was nice, with a small vanity sink, and a beautiful, old-fashioned claw foot tub. The basic toiletries were provided, but storage was minimal. Robes were provided, which is a nice touch.

The grounds are serene and very well maintained. The koi pond out back is just beautiful. The inn is located on a quiet, residential street, that is a 5 minute drive to downtown Asheville.

Gary was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions, hiking suggestions, and mapping out directions for us. Even though he does not live on the property, we never had any problem getting in touch with him, and we always felt well cared for.

Breakfast was simple and elegant. Always a delicious homemade muffin, some fruit and a "main" dish. We never left hungry, and we never left uncomfortably full.

I am completely comfortable recommending Cumberland Falls to anyone visitng the Asheville area for a long weekend/short getaway.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness of owners, super comfy bed
  • Disliked — Lack of storage space
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We called Cumberland Falls Bed & Breakfast two days before we arrived there (being our 25th wedding anniversary), as the inn we had booked three months prior had double booked us, leaving us without a place for our anniversary. We went back onto the internet and found this inn. Gary and Patti were SO receptive to us, calling on our cell the day of our staying, giving us detailed directions to their lovely inn. Upon arrived, we loved the gardens and the home. It was great to have off-street parking also. Gary gave us a map of the town with his address and cell phone number on it, in case we got lost (VERY organized), had car trouble or any questions, and two books of restaurant menus, one alphabetical and one by cuisine. The breakfast was wonderful, and the guest we ate with were great to talk to. It was so relaxing to sit in the garden with the Celtic music playing softly. I had the neat experience of feeding the coi fish out of my hand -- really cool! I thank Gary and Patti for helping make our 25th anniversary a memorable one.

  • Liked — Innkeepers and gardens
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cintiwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

We just returned from a wonderful and relaxing stay At Cumberland Falls B&B. This was the first B&B stay for this couple-and we loved it. The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished-we took a peek at most of them. We stayed in the Sunshine room on the top floor. The Sunshine is the smallest room in the house, but perfect for a couple or a single person's get-a-way. The room was comfortable, however, the walls do slope and it may not be the best choice for a tall person, that said, we truly enjoyed our stay in this room ( the jacuzzi tub was great!).
The breakfasts were phenomenal 3 course wonders. You marvel that you can finish it all (of course, you can't help yourself!).
Heather, the concierge, is fabulous and so helpful. The owners Gary and Patti are wonderful and gracious hosts-providing just the right mix of hospitality and privacy. The extra touches such as bed turn down with chocolates, chocolate covered strawberries our second night (thanks for saving them in the frig Heather!), and chocolate truffles our last night (thanks Gary and Patti), were very pleasant surprises. The common areas, front porch, Koi pond/falls, and the gardens are also fantastic. Definitely a place to make an extended stay-so much to see and do. Thank you Gary, Patti and Heather for making our stay so enjoyable! We will be back.

  • Liked — Comfort, hospitality
  • Disliked — Walls that sloped in room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anniethesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2007

We stayed at Cumberland Falls Inn as a part of our honeymoon, and our experience was excellent!
Heather, our concierge, was extremely helpful tended to our needs. Every night they turned down our bed and left us chocolate truffles which was a nice touch. On our last night, they left rose petals in the jacuzzi and chocolate covered strawberries on a cold marble stone by our bed. Very nice!
Breakfast every morning was exquisite. You won't need much / if any lunch. Our first morning there was only one other couple in the building so we had breakfast in the sun room. Pick a good seat so the sun isn't in your eyes. The chef prepared eggs Benedict (real hollandaise!) with potatoes Provence and a poached pear. On the last day, the house was packed so we at in the main dining room. The owners made Belgian with whipped cream and sausage. Delicious!
The place has such a nice atmosphere making conversation with other guests easy. The owners were nice enough to let us feed the koi in their backyard pond.
The day we went to the Biltmore estate we had car trouble, but the owner had provided us with his cell phone number, and he was able to quickly direct us to the local mechanic who was helpful.
This was just a wonderful experience all-around, and I highly recommend Cumberland Falls Inn.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — the closet in the Victorian room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 302BPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
743 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
750 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing