We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumberland Falls is absolutely superb- has to be THE best in Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #18 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Patti and Gary somehow became friends over our short visit, what a wonderful house with many historic features, including velvet oak . The gardens are wonderful, ponds, bridge over, wonderful planting of so many different species. Gary could'nt have been more helpul on arrival, carrying luggage in and upstairs - and chocolate coverd strawberries. He is the breakfast cook and WOW! wonderful food, tea coffee, juice, muffins ..... and that's before you start! The lovely sun room for breakfast was an absolute delight too. Great cookies always available! He and Patti have such a wonderful attitude and sense of humour every meeting was such fun. He even went out a got white wine for me- red and beer were there already. Nothing was too much trouble, getting detailed routes for our next journey, making a booking at a restuarant he recommended when we said we fancied Italian. Loads of local information available at the Inn. We were on a 2,700 mile tour around the Southern States from the UK and hate motels so chose small B&Bs - what an excellent choice, you have personal attention and great fun making it a wonderful part of the holidy overall. Patti and Gary just love to have visitors from the Uk an dseem to get more and more unsurprisingly. Asheville is a great centre with lots to do locally and good places to eat within walking distance.We were very sad to leave - so very glad we had booked 3 nights. Thank you both so much for a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Gary's favourite was our choice - Lion's Den - wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValandRonHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I visited Asheville and the Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn for the first time last week. We were warmly greeted by the proprietor, Patti. She could not have been friendlier or more enthusiastic. The rooms are charming and immaculate. The breakfast's, prepared by Patti's husband, Gary, are abundant and delicious. As a couple, they could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The grounds are meticulously maintained. I highly recommend this lovely and charming B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfmenditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We returned for a mini-vacation after visiting a relative in Jacksonville, NC. We stayed in the Garden Room with its wonderful view of the waterfall, pond and garden. Once again the food was great and we enjoyed being spoiled. Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn is definately an asset to Asheville with its friendly and relaxing atmosphere and closeness to downtown and easy access to area attractions. Patti and Gary are two of the nicest people you could ever meet. When we return to Asheville we definately stay here again. Once again patti and Gary thank you for a wonderful time and great hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Victorian Parlor Room the weekend of June 22nd and couldn't have been more pleased about our decision. Gary made us feel right at home the moment we stepped in the door by offering freshly made cookies to suggesting a great restaurant within walking distance.

The house itself sits on the corner of a quaint historic street within walking distance to downtown. In fact, that was one of the highlights of our weekend getaway: walking through the neighborhood and looking at the houses.

The breakfast was wonderful as well and you can tell Gary enjoys cooking for his many guests. We had to leave early, so we didn't get to enjoy a second breakfast around the table, but Gary made sure to leave us some food in the refrigerator for our ride.

When we make it back to Asheville, we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHarwell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We just celebrated our 20th anniversary by staying @ At Cumberland Falls B&B in the Daydream Room. It's a top-floor mini-suite with quirky alcoves and dormered windows. I liked the separate reading area alcove, though I wish the futon were a little higher off the ground. It would not be possible to make it much higher, because of the low sloping ceilings, but a little bit would probably help. The room was spotlessly clean and the fixtures in very good shape. The Jacuzzi-style tub was a nice treat, though it can make hair washing a little tricky for women with long locks. We never ran short of hot water, even at peak times.

The bed is soft, which some will love, but I do prefer firm. Jacuzzi soak to the rescue. Birds woke us up around 6am, near summertime sunrise; not the inn's fault we felt overtired (esp. since we stayed up late too). The low ceilings require constant vigilance from tall people - but to me, it was worth it to experience such a clever and efficient use of space.

The AC worked plenty well despite warm temperatures in June. I had been concerned about this, since Daydream is on the top floor. Another reviewer here noted that at night, you could see the stars so well. This was not our experience ... there are 3 skylights but the view is hazy through at least 2 of them, either because of dust/pollen or the aging/wear of the plastic domed window cover on the outside. Light still gets in fine but there's no crystal clear view of the constellations, so don't expect that.

Breakfast was delicious and generous ... be aware, it's served with other guests at a single large table (perhaps more than one table when it's really full at the B&B). I liked this because we could meet fellow guests and get tips on places to see, things to do, restaurants, etc. My wife is a bit more shy but she was OK with it. By the second morning they were almost like friends to us.

Gary and Patti provided delicious baked snacks in the afternoon, with coffee/tea/hot chocolate available any time of day both with a hot water (carafe?) and a Keurig machine (those little single-serving coffee brewers). There's an honor bar (fridge) with beer and maybe wine too. Gary was helpful getting us checked in and explained everything really well, including helpful tips on downtown parking. He made it clear too that anything we needed to make our stay wonderful, he'd do whatever he could. Patti was so nice and down to earth, we really enjoyed chatting with her.

Out back there are lovely gardens and ample parking.

Room Tip: Daydream room has commode behind closed door, unlike Sunshine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cspan37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We found a superb place to stay while visiting Asheville... this is it! Gary and Patti made us feel welcome right from the start and were really helpful to us... recommending great restaurants and places to visit and providing tips and insights to everything in Asheville and the surrounding area. This is a wonderful home to stay in, and Gary is a really great cook!
When we come back to Asheville, this is the place we will stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Really enjoyed our "Garden Room" experience. The bed was so comfy and the room clean with a wonderful of the garden and waterfall. Breakfast was either in the breakfast nook or at the main dining table. Food was awesome and Patti baked us goodies everyday to enjoy. Asheville was a fantastic town to visit and Gary always offered ideas on how to spend the day. The Jamaican restaurant they suggested was excellent! So much fun!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaw2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
762 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
237 reviews
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £162 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing