We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Asheville!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #17 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

There are so many choices of places to stay in Asheville. It took a lot of time and research for me to find the perfect place. I am so glad I chose this bed and breakfast. Gary and Patti are so warm and accommodating. They helped me and my husband plan our weekend, from restaurant suggestions, to Biltmore tickets. Every evening we came back to warm, FRESH baked goodies. The breakfast in the morning is top notch! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I looked at most of the rooms and they are all just absolutely gorgeous. Very spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed with Patti and Gary over a rainy weekend in January, and spent more time in the [sunshine] room than we normally would because of the weather. It was a perfect stay: the room, the hospitality, the charm, the peace and quiet, and, of course, the breakfast were all excellent. The Inn lived up to all the positive reviews we had read here, and we will recommend it to friends without reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptique50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Let me start this review off by first thanking Gary and Patti. They are both marvelous people that bestowed upon us absolutely top-notch service with their warm, sincere, and overwhelmingly inviting personages. Gary is the kind of man you sit with and sip coffee while telling long stories, a true gentleman in every sense. Patti is exuberant, she has a presence that can light a whole room and make it feel just as warm and cozy as home. Sincerely, truly, wonderful people.

As for the accommodations themselves, the house is simply beautiful. The ground floor alone has so much character with little bits and details peppered throughout-with a marvelous book and music collection to boot! The dining room's integrated saltwater fish tank was also an eye-catcher, I probably could have watched Gary's Hawkfish stalk among the coral for hours had time permitted. But there was much to be done. Our suite, The Lion's Den was similarly well appointed with dark woods and a gorgeous panoramic window that peers out of the front of the house. The California King wasn't half bad either! The bathroom sported a decidedly righteous clawfoot tub, which was a marvelous addition to an already lavish room. The fireplace was also a nice touch that made the evenings all the cozier.

As for our experience in Asheville, it was perfect. Be sure to go to 9-Mile just down the street for dinner at least once. Plan to go around 6 or after 9 or else the wait for a table might be a bit longer. Nothing a beer from their fine on tap and bottled selection won't fix though! The Biltmore was fantastic as well. With two day passes we were able to see a ton on the first day, and then have a more intimate experience the following day seeing a bit more of the finer details we'd passed up in the course of the first day. Greenman brewery was a treat too-grab a flight, try em all!

I would return to At Cumberland Falls in a heartbeat, it is at the pinnacle of of service and you would do yourself a disservice to pass up this true gem of a place!

With warm regards,

James & Calie

Room Tip: the 'Natural Mystic' room has a jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Being in a long distance relationship, we try to make the most of the time we have together. After deciding on Asheville and perusing the listings for beds and breakfast we found Cumberland Falls to be the most highly recommended, and let me tell you, we were not disappointed. The rooms were beautiful, the atmosphere in the common areas very welcoming and the food top notch. Gary and Patti make an extraordinary effort not only to make you feel comfortable but to feel like you are at a second home. An example; we approached Gary about the possibility of getting tickets to the Biltmore Christmas tree lighting ceremony the afternoon before the event. He whipped out his phone and after a few minutes of schmoozing the Biltmore sales agent he was off to pick our tickets up for us. The highest praise we can offer is that we will definitely be going back.

Karl and Maggie

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cumberland Falls for the 2nd time in 10 yrs. When we decided to return to Asheville to see the Biltmore during the Christmas season, it was an easy decision to stay there again since we had such a wonderful experience the first time. Gary and Patti made our stay just perfect. Great dining suggestions at local restaurants, pre-purchased tix to the Candlelight tour of the Biltmore, not to mention the terrific 3 course breakfasts prepared each morning and the homemade sweet treats in the afternoons. Our room was very comfortable, clean and cozy - quite romantic! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My husband and I decided to take a 4 day get-away (without the kids) during the Christmas season. When booking our bed and breakfast stay we never realized how warm and kind, helpful and informative, humorous and caring Patti and Gary would be. They saw to our every comfort, made wonderful suggestions, and cooked incredible food. The house was beautiful. The bed so comfortable I wished I could take it back with me. The 3 course breakfast delicious! They prepared a picnic lunch that was enough to feed 4 people. This wonderful old home was well worth the money. The only difficult part of coming back would be to decide which themed bedroom I would want to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Tried for a number of years to get here for the magnificent Candlelight Tour at the Biltmore and this was it! Didn't want to stay in a "chain" and found the Cumberland perfect! We were joined by another couple, and the rooms were great! Breakfast was delicious and more than we are used to! The inn itself was welcoming and spotless!! ...even got window washing tips from Patti!
Kudos to Gary for his talent in the kitchen! ...recipes to share...mmmmm. Hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
762 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
236 reviews
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £161 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing