We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway in Asheville!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #11 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway in Asheville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked a weekend stay with Gary and Patti last week to celebrate an anniversary. We usually stay close to Biltmore but were wanting a change of pace and are so glad we did. The first night we were there we walked downtown for dinner. It is less than a mile and was perfect weather for a nice stroll. The breakfasts are great, a true three course affair. Gary and Patti are lovely and will help you with any aspect of your stay and can help you with restaurant decisions or suggest places to go as well. The Jacuzzi tub was perfect as was the room. Almost wish it was colder so we could use the fireplace!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the Victorian Parlor. A great room, but if you want to sleep in or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzygecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Jess-Nathan you guys were a joy to host! We sincerely enjoyed meeting you both and delighted you decided to mix it up a bit not choosing your customary location because then I would never have gotten to meet you both. So courteous and kind -It would have been my loss.
Just so you know Jess, had more red heads here this weekend but none with that beautiful color of yours. I am going to forgive and forget about your not leaving me those glorious locks as I asked you to .....So looks like you'll have to come back soon and show them to me again! Be well you all and have a great summertime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    51
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
596
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We tried an upstairs room on our second stay for my birthday weekend and really enjoyed it. It was a very large light and spacious room with lovely mountain light. Innkeepers are impeccable. Ask about the history and beauty if this late Victorian home with its quilted
maple woodwork. Breakfast delicious and inspired. Always enjoy the garden hot tubs. See you next time!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lltowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Lydia and Kevin, it was so nice of you all to take the time out of what I know is a very busy schedule to write this kind review. We are delighted to have been able to help celebrate Lydia's birthday and hope the "chocolate fix" we cooked up will hold her in good stead till the next one. We are always glad to see you all and glad we are part of the birthday celebration....Kev, you next. Hope to see you all then or sooner. Your faces at our door will always be a happy occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is the best bed and breakfast I have visited. I stayed in the Day Dream suite for three days on the third floor, complete with a luxurious Jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace, sink, mini-fridge, and microwave, and no less than eight windows (three skylights). Patti and Gary's hospitality is unmatched, and they will bend over backward to make your stay perfect in every respect. Did I mention the three-course breakfast every day? You will not need lunch.

I indulged in a massage which was relaxing, comfortable, and conducted right in my room. Downtown Asheville is only a fifteen-minute walk away (about a five-minute drive), and full of fantastic restaurants. I hiked in the DuPont Forest and Pisgah National Forest during my stay and the views in the area are stunning, even in January. After a robust day's exertion, it was a treat to come back to homemade brownies, a fire, and a hot bath. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the Asheville area. Bonus: military discount.

Room Tip: If you like sunlight, I recommend the two top floor rooms - the Day Dream or the Sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_monchichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
It was our honor to host your visit Anne. Your job is challenging and to see how much you enjoyed our beautiful area of the country- full of natural beauty- just makes me smile! A great day in the forest can bring relaxation to the most stressed of souls. I know exactly what you mean about the jacuzzi being a welcoming friend at the end of the day. We want you to know how very much we appreciate your service and it was our joy to host your visit to Asheville. Hope you and your special fellow can make the trip next time. I will see to it that he is the recipient of some of those treats you spoke about & a grand cup of coffee while we catch up on each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The title not only describes the B & B, but Gary and Patti as well. From a welcoming email from Patti to a phone call before we set out for Asheville from Gary with a weather report, they looked after all our needs. They served us delicious full breakfasts that carried us through to dinner, then provided excellent suggestions for the local restaurants which would match our tastes. We stayed in the Garden Room with a wall of windows overlooking the gardens below, just lovely. We would return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Joanne for the kind review and are so glad to know you would return to our inn "in a heartbeat." We look forward to that time and your jovial and very fun self being in attendance again. Any time you feel its time for a break...hop in the car heading out of Ft. Mills and come over for coffee and a treat. The coffee is on and hot, I'll hunt up a cookie for you all. Think I want to know all about Ft. Mills. We have so many guests from that place and they are all so very lovely. Be well, have a great summertime and we are thrilled you all had fun at our inn. We very much enjoyed hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here back in September for the last two nights of our trip. Gary & Patti were friendly and really helpful with loads of suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to try, Gary even printed road maps and directions of a scenic route to Atlanta and our flight back to the UK. The two breakfasts we had were both delicious, the company at the breakfast table provided interesting conversation. Our room (the Victorian Parlor) was very comfortable and in the common areas we found treats like shortbread and chocolate oatmeal cookies. If we are ever back in the area we would certainly look to stay here again.
Thanks Alex & Carys

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajl15ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Alex and Carys- We are so happy to hear from you! Many of our guests from the U.K. were in touch over the holiday time and it's fun to have friends over the pond. I most sincerely hope that your visit to our country will find you in love with Asheville and that we will see you two again in the future. I know the "cookie maker" and I can see to it that you have more of those fine creations. Yes, that's an incentive. Be well and keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My girlfriend & I recently stayed here for our one year anniversary while visiting the Biltmore Estate for the Christmas Season.

Coming here was literally like coming home for the holidays. Gary (Innkeeper) had us check-in with him upon our arrival to the B&B since it was late and didn't have an issue with us contacting him at 11:00 pm when we arrived.

Breakfast the following mornings were amazing and presented promptly at 9:00 am. The food was presented beautifully and Gary was even open to taking requests.

The B&B was located only minutes from downtown Asheville & the Biltmore Estate which was exactly what we were hoping for.

If you are ever in the Asheville area, I would definitely recommend staying here. It just like coming to see family without having to see family!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
You all were a treat and we are so happy you had good time At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn. The 1st Anniversary is a very special occasion and now you all will always remember your one year anniversary in a happy way and that delights us to no end. We are happy to accept your breakfast request any time and look forward to hosting your next visit. Don't stay away too long. Be well and have a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Like staying with a relative, but better. Gary & Patti were friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were very good and presentation of food was excellent. Room (Victorian Parlor), was very nice & comfortable. House had an interesting history and was nicely furnished & decorated. Date of stay was Dec. 9-10, 2013.

Susan & Harry Farley
Spring,TX

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryFarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing