We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fallen for Cumberland Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #18 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank TMPTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2006

My husband and I searched all the bed and breakfasts in this area and finally, after much debate, decided on this one. It was a wonderful, fabulous experience! The three-course breakfasts were incredible, our room was beautiful, the place was secluded and it seems as if they thought of every detail. The innkeepers, Patty and Gary were very helpful, and the weekend concierge was very friendly and warm, and very very accessible when we needed directions and ideas of things to do.

I can't say enough about this inn - it wasn't what I expected, but it was exactly what I needed.

We were looking to get away from our "real" lives and take a vacation away from the ordinary. This was it. We will visit again.

Stayed: June 2006
Thank kctate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2006

What a wonderful getaway experience! Our first impressions were right on the mark. Although the garden area was relatively small, it was beautiful and well manicured. As we sat in the swing with soft music playing, we felt as if we were in a very secluded area. Patty and Gary were the perfect hosts, taking care of our every need and making us feel as if we were the only guests. When we ventured out, we were given detailed maps to locations that we wanted to visit, as well as any other pertinent information. The breakfasts were a gourmet's delight! We dined in the small but comfortable sunroom and enjoyed delightful conversations with other guests.
We would definitely recommend Cumberland Falls Inn to anyone visiting the Asheville area. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slvrhrbrbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2006

You could not ask for a more welcoming, gracious and relaxing place to lay your head in Asheville than the Cumberland Falls Inn. The gardens and grounds are gorgeous, the rooms well-appointed with everything you might need to feel comfortable. Patty and Gary cannot do enough to make you feel at ease and informed about what to do in town. If you need a restaurant idea, Gary has one and happily makes reservations for you. Staying at the inn felt more like staying with wonderful friends.

And now for the breakfasts! Every morning Patty bakes up a specialty muffin of the day, which is then followed by course after course of fruits, waffles, egg dishes and all kinds of delights. Conversation among the guests is relaxed and enjoyable and you start out your day feeling pampered and ready for all the hikes, galleries and adventures and tours you may have planned.

All in all a fantastic place.

1  Thank ImaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville
11
Reviewed 23 June 2006

My husband and I had always used hotels for vacations, this time I thought I would try a B&B. Well this was the best one to start with! We had a great weekend. It started with a personal tour of everything in the house, there were even chocolate coated strawberries for a welcome.
The rooms very very inviting never mind the spacious bathrooms just great.
Turn downs were performed with a pillow chocolate for the sweet tooth.There garden is a little piece of paradise, just the thing to sip wine in the evening.
The breakfast was the treat 3 course breakfast really tasty.
I sure hope that the next B&B can live up to the Cumberland falls.
Gary and Patti are wonderful hosts.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando
1
Reviewed 19 June 2006

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 day stay at the Cumberland Falls B&B. I work for a well known large hotel company but I have to say that given the choice I would much rather stay in a B&B if they are all anything like the Cumberland Falls. As soon as we walked through the door we knew we were in for a treat the Landlady was incredibly friendly and showed us around the inn, we chose the Sunshine Room for our first night and enjoyed that so much that we decided to stay another night and this time we were in the Victorian Parlor.
The conversations that we had over the 2 days were such fun and the fact that you all sit together for the candlelit gourmet breakfast is such a bonding experience! We look forward to returning and bringing our families they too need to be pampered like we were.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
210
Reviewed 15 June 2006

My wife and I stayed at Cumberland Falls for our second wedding anniversary this spring. We had an excellent time and really enjoyed staying at the Inn. Gary and Patti were so nice and welcoming the entire time we were there. They definitely think of everything to make the stay enjoyable.

We stayed in the Garden Vista room, and loved it. The room has two huge windows that open and overlook the garden in the back of the Inn. It was spacious and very comfortable.

The gourmet breakfasts were simply amazing! Each morning we had a muffin, followed by some kind of baked fruit dish (glazed apples, or pineapple for example), followed by the main breakfast entree. It was always plenty of food and absolutely delicious. We also really enjoyed the morning conversations with the other guests at the Inn. There seemed to be a really good mix of young and older couples staying at the Inn.

Each evening, Gary would put out some kind of dessert treat or something special. The evening we arrived they had a great wine and cheese spread out in the dining area for all the guests. They brought chocolate-covered strawberries to our room for our anniversary as well - really something to treasure!

We greatly enjoyed Asheville and the surrounding area. We had fun trips to Chimney Rock park, the Biltmore Estate, and downtown Asheville. The Inn was close enough to downtown for us to walk, which was really nice. The restaurants Salsa and the Laughing Seed Cafe - a vegetarian place, were excellent.

I wouldn't be surprised if we return to Asheville and Cumberland Falls sometime in the near future. We've been to a number of "top-notch" B&Bs and Inns, and Cumberland Falls is right at the top.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
811 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £129 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing