We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent two nights at the Lion and the Rose and found it utterly charming. The regular innkeepers were away but we were made very welcome by Keke, the assistant innkeeper. We had a thorough tour of the B & B and a good explanation of what was available. Our room (the Marion Hall room) was beautiful - very large, beautifully decorated, comfortable. The sound of the fountain outside added to the relaxing environment. We loved the guest pantry and complimentary sherry and port - and there were DVDs for use and books to read - it all felt very thoughtful and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and as vegetarians we were well catered for. Outside the garden was a nice spot to sit in and there were squirrels running up the trees. It was an easy walk into Asheville along a nice street so the location was good. All in all we were very happy here and would have loved to have stayed longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogogaijingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were just in town overnight for business, but completely enjoyed our stay at the Lion and the Rose. We will be back!

Room Tip: Try the 3rd floor suite, great view and personal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muddcatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This B&B was the perfect place for our mother-daughter getaway! Great value. Clean and comfortable, with a beautiful atmosphere, and wonderful hosts! The food was delectable and beautifully presented. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants in Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and Biltmore Estate. We enjoyed all of it! Thank you, Jim and Linda!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTbebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

had a great time at the Lion and the Rose. the hosts were wonderful, the breakfast was amazing, and the room was beautiful. the victorian house is beautiful. great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttt165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our children bought us a two nights stay at the Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast as a Christmas Gift. We were very pleased with their choice of The Lion and The Rose! Jim and Linda Palmer were very gracious hosts with attention to details from the room to the gourmet breakfast in the morning. Plus the location of the Inn is very close to downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone!
Terry A

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A perfect place to get away for a few days. Minutes from downtown Asheville, Jim and Linda keep an immaculate B&B. The food was amazing! The home is tastefully decorated and spacious, yet the room had a modern bathroom. Just a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our 1st Anniversary trip there and we were so thrilled with it. The innkeepers, Jim and Linda, are very gracious and inviting. We loved the details they put around the inn, from the chocolates in our room, a free beverage/snack area for anytime of the day or night, pork and/or sherry for a night cap and coffee delivered to the door in the morning. Each morning the breakfast was delicious! We were so full! The house is beautiful and it's less than a five minute drive to downtown. My husband and I walked there a couple of times. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
802 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,632 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £158 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing