We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine B&B experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andersonville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fine B&B experience!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Jim and Linda proved to be excellent hosts, going every extra mile to insure comfort, delicious breakfast, and friendliness in their beautiful facility. The house was clean, attractively furnished, and led to peace of mind, comfort, and over all a great mini-vacation for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLancer7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    25
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
443
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Newton, MA
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed at the Lion and The Rose for a weekend trip to Asheville and loved it. Jim and Linda were very welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious. The B&B is located in a lovely area of town but still very close to downtown Asheville. I would definitely recommend it to anyone exploring Asheville.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesbeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast on our return trip from the East Coast to home in Louisville, KY. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to another visit at the Lion and the Rose!

After receiving a warm welcome and helpful tour of the beautiful home, we spent a couple hours walking through the beautiful, historic Montford District, including the Riverside Cemetery where the famous author Thomas Wolfe is buried. This was of particluar interest to my husband--an avid reader and writer.

Our room was furnished beautifully and felt spacious and cozy at the same time. We appreciated the cleanliness of the entire home as well as the artistic selections of paintings and books that adorned the home. The DVD collection was top notch too!

The breakfast was unique and delicious and we enjoyed this as much as our dinner the night before at Nine Mile (just a 1/2 block from the Inn).

We look forward to our next trip to Asheville and hope to stay longer at the Lion and the Rose! Innkeepers, Jim and Linda, were delightfully hospitable and made our visit extra special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay! Jim and Linda couldn't have been nicer hosts. We stayed in the Margaret Grace room and really enjoyed our accommodations. We elected to sleep in and ended up missing breakfast, so the only thing I would have changed about our trip was waking up early enough to catch breakfast. We can't wait to stay again here soon.

Room Tip: We saw all four of the rooms on the second story of the home when we first checked in and they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westernport, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I took a 4 day trip to Asheville from 2-14-13 through 2-17-13. The reason for our trip included our 6th wedding anniversary as well as a fact-finding mission as we would like to relocate to North Carolina in the future. We decided to stay at The Lion and The Rose based on Trip Advisor reviews. We arrived a few minutes early on 2-14-13 and were welcomed by Jim and Linda, the owners. They took no time at all making us feel very welcome in The Lion and The Rose. Jim quickly gave us a tour and showed us to our room, which was the Holger Nielsen. The room was comfortable, well appointed and extremely clean.

We engaged Jim in conversation who was more than happy to assist us with good restaurant recommendations. We took Jim up on one his recommendations and ate at Limones that evening. Excellent food, to-die-for Margaritas, and a great atmosphere! All of our dinner experiences were awesome. We also ate at Curate and Nine Mile. Nine Mile is about a block from The Lion and The Rose and easily walkable. Great food!!!

Each morning a fresh carafe of coffee was delivered to our door. The coffee was excellent, and we looked forward to it each morning. The breakfasts were spectacular. Jim is an excellent cook, and we enjoyed each and every breakfast he prepared. From ginger infused blueberry pancakes to cornmeal waffles and cups of fresh fruit, the food was excellent. Breakfast was a great time to socialize with other guests as well, and we met a lot of interesting and friendly people. Jim and Linda also provide a guest pantry that is stocked with water/sodas and snacks for the guests.

I would highly recommend The Lion and The Rose to anybody who is looking to visit the Asheville area. Not only is the Inn clean, well maintained, and cozy, Jim and Linda are wonderful people who truly seem to care about their guests and their needs. We left Asheville wanting to come back, but we also left feeling as if we made two new friends in Jim and Linda. We thank them for their kindness and hospitality and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Riot1Trooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is everything you want a B&B to be. We stayed in the Fannie Rice room, perhaps the most beautiful room. Everything is very high quality: linens, the recommendations, the beautiful home, the service, etc. Jim, the proprietor is quite a cook and we had sweet potato pancakes one morning and poached eggs florentine on polenta the next. He also did Gluten Free without prior warning and with a smile. Coffee was laid out on a tray at our door at 8am each morning. The district is beautiful and it's a three minute drive to the heart of downtown. We will be back!

Room Tip: Fannie Rice is a corner room, the most elegant and perfect for a couple. The upstairs suite is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The house was spacious and gorgeous, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Linda and Jim were friendly, gracious hosts. We stayed in the Craig Toms Suite and were completely spoiled from the moment we arrived. I highly recommend this for any couple wanting a romantic getaway - we can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The Craig Toms Suite is private and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
734 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
212 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing