We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was a delight from start to finish. Linda and Jim are warm and friendly and have really thought of everything to make their guests comfortable and welcome...from snacks to chocolates to coffee delivered outside your door every morning at 8 a.m. And the breakfasts were oh so yummy--if you are lucky Jim might be making sweet potato pancakes during your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwellingto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
433
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just back from 3 nights at The Lion and the Rose and what a great place to stay in Ashville, not too far from Downtown but within a few minutes of a great little restaurant, Nine Mile, where we ate twice. We had a beautiful room on the first floor with a four poster bed and the most tasteful decor. The owners Jim and Linda were so helpful with directions and advice and printed out anything we needed. One of the nicest touches, and there were many, was the early morning cup of tea or coffee delivered to your room each morning. I also liked the pantry which was well stocked with everything you could want for a snack or late night cup of tea. I do hope that we will be able to visit again, there is so much to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Lion and the Rose for two nights. We made this the starting point of traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway. We can not say enough about the L&R. The rooms have character, the grounds are beautiful, the location is walking distance to town. The owners, Jim and Linda, are wonderful people. They gave great suggestions for dinner. This B&B was different from one's we have stayed at in the past: access to water, soda, tea, coffee, ice, and snacks 24 hours a day. If we are ever back in Asheville, we will be staying at the L&R!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy021807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had close friends stay at the Lion and the Rose. They were happy so when we planned our trip we said "why not". When we arrived after a 7 hour drive the owners were no where to be found. A very pleasant young man showed us to our room but couldn't answer any of our questions about the surrounding area. In the three days we stayed at the B & B we only saw the owners briefly at breakfast. The breakfast was always a ridiculously complicated dish with no substitutions ( not even a bowl of cold cereal) and often inedible.The B & B is not a walk into town. There is one close very strange restaurant, otherwise it is a drive anywhere. Our room was charming and the bed was comfortable but you had to sit on a hard bench to watch the TV. We were not enjoying ourselves and wished to leave a day early. Finally we were allowed to leave without being charged for the extra night, but it was unpleasant. They do have a little snack kitchen available but if you are looking for company and tea or wine in the afternoon go elsewhere.

Room Tip: We picked a very large almost suite with a nice bathroom that had a stall shower. It was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelartist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionandRose, Owner at The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
After owning and operating this bed and breakfast for over ten years, we have learned that we need to take breaks. Therefore, we were not present when these guests arrived for check in. We employ a very professional and outgoing 40 year old "young man" to inn sit for us when we are away. He has lived in Asheville longer than we have, and his knowledge of the city and surrounding area is equal to or better than ours. It is difficult for us to believe that had he been asked questions about the area that he would not have the answers or would not have made the effort to obtain them. Not only has he lived in Asheville for the past 13 years by choice, but he has worked in the public service sector the entire time.

When these guests first walked in the door they asked to cut their stay short by one day. Then they asked when the rain was going to stop. Weather reports had predicted that it would last throughout their stay. The fact that they knew immediately that they would not be "enjoying themselves" apparently had more to do with the weather than our bed and breakfast. Our inn sitter reminded them that we would charge for their originally scheduled stay, whether they left early or not.

We always ask (at least once) if guests have any special dietary needs or requests. This couple stated that they had none. We pride ourselves on our inventive and unexpected breakfast entrees. There are sample menus and recipes as well as a description of the type of food we prepare on our web site. These guests said nothing on their first morning, even after tasting the "inedible food". The following morning they asked for cold cereal before they even knew what the entrée was. We do not keep cereal on hand. We did offer them granola or eggs with whole grain toast - but apparently only cereal would suffice. They eventually agreed to try and then did eat the waffles that had already been prepared. There are hundreds of other reviews of our inn on this site that are extremely complimentary of our breakfasts in particular, and which also point out our willingness to accommodate special diets.

We are located less than a mile from the center of downtown Asheville. It is an easy walk with sidewalks and tree lined streets all the way. We agree that there are people who can't walk that far - but we have never misrepresented our location. There are scores of reviews on this site which point out how great our location is and how easy it is to walk downtown.

We do not understand how a day bed with a mattress and many pillows translates to a "hard bench". Yet that is the seat in the Marion Hall Room that is opposite the TV - as you can see on our web site.

The "one close very strange" restaurant they referred to is Nine Mile. This restaurant is consistently rated among the top ten restaurants in Asheville - look it up on this site or anywhere else.

We do not conduct afternoon tea or a social hour and we do not advertise that we do. So, yes - if you want this you need to stay elsewhere and will probably pay more for it.

Finally, we decided to "allow" this couple to leave a day early without charging them because we did not want their unpleasant demeanor to ruin our other guests' vacation. Perhaps this was their goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Lion and Rose. It was a delightful experience. The owners are very accommodating hosts. It is in a great location, an easy walk to the downtown. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the surrounding grounds are exquisite. Sitting on the front porch enjoying a drink and relaxing after a day of sightseeing was a favorite time.
You will not be disappointed by the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrie533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast and we loved the quiet, the good food, and the hospitality! I wasn't sure being so close to downtown Ashville would be good, but Jim and Linda made the experience wonderful. Thanks Jim and Linda for delectable breakfasts and your ability to anticipate what we needed before we even had time to ask. I agree with j1alex "just the best"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from our trip and stay in Asheville, and can't wait to return at the Christmas season.
We loved the short walk into town (all downhill on the way back), the 24 hour pantry, the great hospitality of our hosts, the delicious breakfasts and especially the early morning tea and coffee service. Thank you Jim and Linda and we plan to see again before the end of the year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing