We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thomasville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

This was our first time at The Lion and the Rose, and it's a keeper!

The innkeepers, Jim and Linda, were very friendly and made awesome breakfasts (the menu for our stay of three nights was Belgian waffles with banana rum syrup and bacon, ham crepes with Parmasan couscous baked tomato, and oatmeal cookie pancakes loaded with fruit and link sausage - each morning also included fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and tea). They also served tea or coffee at the door at 8 a.m., which was a helpful reminder that breakfast would be starting soon at 8:30. Seating for breakfast was "floating;" just come when you're ready between 8:30 and 9:30.

The inn was pleasant and well-kept. Although we didn't get to use the outdoor louning areas much, there was a nice porch with seating as well as a graden area with small tables and chairs for relaxing.

As is true for many locations in histoic Asheville, parking was a bit cramped but sufficient. The only other issue that might be a problem for some is that the room we were in (Margaret Grace) was a bit small but well laid out to maximize space. The bathroom was also a bit small with small fixtures but had lots of storage space for your take along toiletries. If you want or need a little more space, I'd suggest one of the larger rooms at the inn.

In spite of limited parking, the Montford location is great. The inn is within walking distance of downtown restaurants and shopping, with some great locations (Nine Mile Jamician restaurant and Montford Books - used) right on the same street. You could fill an entire visit and never have to drive!

Overall, our experiece was a good one with friendly service, a nice room, and good food, and we have stayed at many Asheville bed and breakfasts. We will definitely make a return visit to The Lion and the Rose!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
432
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

This B&B should be the example for all. The home was historic and lovely in a convenient location to downtown Asheville. The suite not only met expectations, but also exceeded them. It is HUGE! There was an entire sitting room we never even used. It is highly undersold on their website and would be more than comfortable for any extended stay business traveler as well. But the real jewels were the proprietors. They went above and beyond in making our stay effortless and comfortable. We've never felt more welcomed. And I've never stayed at another B&B that paid more attention to the small details that can make such a difference, from the coffee and/or tea left on a silver tray by your door in the morning, to the stocked pantry at your disposal, to the extra toothbrush, etc, if you packed in too much of a rush. If you're planning a trip to Asheville whatever the reason, make this your lodging.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AStreet704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, sc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

This vintage B&B is awesome! From the antiques to the design sense to the incredible breakfats we loved our stay here. The coouple who runs this establishment suited all of our needs and were extremely attentive. We loved going out into Ashville for dinner (specifcally The Lobster Trap - where we had the best Lobster Bisque ever) and returning to the warm Lion and The Rose. Coffee service is brought to your room at 8am and Breakfast was served between 830 and 930..we had a complex fruit cocktail with stuffed pancake balls (stuffed with fig and raspberry preserves with bacon. Awesoome for an excellent price!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Doglovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

Our second stay, the first stay was 16 years ago (different owners) and it was great. Breakfast was awesome and different each day. Room was extremely comfortable, we had the 3rd floor suite for the last 2 nights and that was great. Loved the fireplace and the big tub. Owners were great and made superb local recommendations for dinner. Loved the "Rasta" Pasta joint just down the street. Great value for lodging.

  • Liked — Location, room, breakfast
  • Disliked — 13" TV in room (watched bowl game on it)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScottJ3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah, ga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

My wife and I booked a weekend here during a visit to the Biltmore Estate for the Candlelight Christmas Evening tours...The location is excellent and is close to every possible excursion with Asheville as the hub. It is less than 3 min. to downtown (easily walkable w/ good weather) and around 10 min. to the estate, with several good restaurants and bars close by. We stayed in the "Marion Hall" Suite.

Jim and Linda do a great job as hosts in this beautiful home. Each mornings gourmet breakfasts are a delight, and it is furnished beautifully. I would certainly stay there again on return trips to Asheville. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — furnishings, breakfasts, and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rmzjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

What a beautiful house, well maintained and in a nice quiet neighborhood. It is also very convenient to anything that you may want to do in the Ashville area. The Owners/Innkeepers Jim and Linda are very relaxed and hospitable. We really felt at home right from the start. Cedric, the resident terrier, is also a cool character who you can't help but want to pet. Jim's breakfasts are second to none. The first morning was his "Welsh Madame", the next creme filled crepes with an incredible sauce of berries - both were serious "OMGs". We would highly recommend Jim & Linda and The Lion & the Rose to anyone who wants a fine B&B experience at a better than reasonable price.

  • Liked — Classic, historically well maintained, warm and cozy, clean.
  • Disliked — There is nothing we didn't like about it.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JandM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

Our family just recently returned from a visit at The Lion & The Rose in Asheville. What a wonderful stay we had! The inn was absolutely beautiful and spotless. Our innkeepers, Jim and Linda Palmer, were most gracious. Cedric, their spunky little five year old terrier, was an absolute character! Jim does the cooking and our breakfasts were definitely "five stars." We hated to leave, but were headed to Cashiers for the remainder of our Thanksgiving trip. I would recommend this delightful bed & breakfast to everyone and we will most certainly visit The Lion & The Rose again.

  • Liked — It was spotless and the food was delicious
  • Disliked — We loved everything about the inn
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainbound08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing